View Single Post
Old 17th November 2008, 20:29   #1988 (permalink)
reignofchaos

Originally Posted by VSG12777 View Post
Hey guys

Looks like the 9th gen plasmas from Pioneer have been released. Found this 1st take on CNet Asia:

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500A (50-inch plasma) Preview - TVs - CNET Asia

Even in Singapore, it is sold at a 30% premium over comparable full HD plasmas like the Panasonic 50PY850. Listed price for this 50 inch 9th gen Pioneer plasma is SGD 8,999 !!! That comes to around INR 2.7 lakh. Plus import duties, VAT etc - would come to easily 3 to 3.5 lakh. Too much in my opinion. Would rather pick up the Panasonic PY850 for INR 2 lakh or less here in India.

Warm regards,
Venkat
If you see a pioneer in action, I'm sure you'd not maintain the same view. Frankly other than the fact that both are plasmas, the pioneer and panasonic TVs are worlds apart. Its like comparing a Porsche 911 to a Bugatti Veyron.

My advice would be to just forget about Full HD and get the 8G 50" 5080HD Pioneer that retails for 1.5lacs. In simple words, it murders the 50PY850.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote