|
Originally Posted by GTO Buttttttttttt the side profile is VERY bland with no design cues at all to liven things up. The doors have the new style handles which are now common on most new-gen cars including the Honda Accord.
One attribute that stands out in a negative way is the way the wheel archs protrude out of the body. This makes the 14 incher wheels look extremely puny, with the body coming out wider than the wheels (a la new Indicas). A serious 15 inch upgrade will be a must for most Team-BHPians. Interiors
The final sore thumb is the cheap rubber beading used along the door pillar. I wouldnt be surprised if the supplier is the same as the Indicas.
GTO |
The above points are significant to note, I've not had a test drive yet, but have been to the showroom around 3 times for about 30 minutes each.
I really find the side on profile to be really sad. Baleno, A generation old in terms of exterior design (imho) has a better Side on profile.
The Wheel arches a la Mondeo also are not suitable due to car's shorter length vis a vis the Mondeo.
The rubber beading, the semi beige/grey, are all neither class leading or awe inspiring.
I have not driven the car and would perhaps love the car after the drive akin to GTO but on
paper I find it hard to believe that it will be an
enthusiasts choice for the reasons below:
1. why would Petrolheads (one with a budget) would go in for the fiesta 1.4 instead of a Baleno lxi.the cars are in thesame price band. The fiesta though is about 30-40 grand more and less powerfull too
2. Why would The dieselheads not prefer Accent Crdi in terms of powerband as the 68 bhp Tdci motor will definitely not compare with 82 bhp crdi one.
3. Ford India brand has been infamously associated with class leading maintenance costs. which would also be a put off factor.
I am sure of one thing though, This car would be a big hit with the 6- 8 lakh budget walli janta as it offers show sha giri beyond a baleno and the diesel would definitely offer
more mileage
some thing that most of the janta would love.
P.S: Hope the team doesn't tear me apart for the critical views on the Baleno's exterior's