View Single Post
Old 3rd January 2006, 11:36   #34 (permalink)
Sam Kapasi

Originally Posted by navin
I know the Sail is outdated etc but this car is being built to show case SPL (and maybe even SQ).

The Sail is probably the best built hatch. It wont rattle at 100db (with damping and other treatment it might not rattle at all) so it is a good platform.
One can get a used Sail cheap. So that leaves more budget for the audio.
The sail's nice and solid. But doesnt look like it has the oomph for this job navin. I dunno... Navin yaar, what budget for Audio? See who you're talking to. FULL Ghar ki kheti.
Originally Posted by lamborghini
What is happening to the Palio?
I've knocked it off. Sorry guys, the decision had to be made and we made it in a hurry. It was by far - the fastest palio on TBHP and I have witnesses to prove it
To all of those that were promised a drive in the "eyeballer" i promise you a drive in the ummm... I dont have a name, uska bhi poll karenge.
But it's going to be a proper Team-BHP car I promise you. I'm verrrry excited about it. The first car to be properly designed on Team-BHP. Each one of you will have a small part in it.
Originally Posted by Steeroid
Ford Endeavour.
Originally Posted by v1p3r
Dicor
Originally Posted by lamborghini
astra, a used celica/supra/san storm(extreme).
The idea of an SUV sounds nice too.
Originally Posted by aadix
a used mondeo or an sonata sam?
I want a hatch. See guys you are all thinking of sitting and driving and enjoying the car. I also have to think of the fact this this is a JBL car. When it's parked, there will be 50 people at a time trying to see the system. I cant make them all sit inside. I need a hatch i can open, then everyone sees inside and makes ooohh...aaahhh.. hell etc etc.
PLUS I need SPL so I need a small car, I'm aiming at 149 to 150dB. A big car will make that difficult. Boys - I'm putting CROWN. The electricals wont let me put too many amps. It's going to be one crown for the subs and one baby crown for the comps. Thats it. 2 Amps. I need a small car.
San storm... I'm honestly afraid the bodywork will fall apart. Plus isnt that a convertible? Equipment chori ho jayega.
Nahi guys, it's gotta be a hot hatchback. Cant buy used or imported. Tax writeoffs, deductions, A&P expenses, depreciation etc.
Originally Posted by Rtech
C'mon Sam, you KNOW you want the Skoda RS.
I have a good idea who's RS we're referring to here amigo
Originally Posted by GTO
You want to make a statement - Get a multi-coloured Swift. And with the rear seats out, it sure will have room for your jet engines...oops....sub woofers.
I'm honestly veering stongly towards a swift. So far my feeling is to buy a new hatch and strip the paint off on the first day (I can see all of you cringing), get 17" wheels, low profile tyres, touring kit, mean exhaust, major custom decals. The car will be completely designed using tum logon ka input. Since you guys are the gurus in all this stuff.
Internally I will need to rip the whole car apart. Electrically we will probably enlist engineers from Bosch or Lucas. We're looking at 3 batteries so far and a charging system to match.
So let's keep this going for a few days. When the decision is made for the car, the next poll will be for a new base colour. Red may be nice, but this cars gotta be a colour you dont get anywhere.but THAT we will discuss in a bit.
NO jet engines.... we threw all that out. New design new feel new look, however same model subwoofers, new enclosure. No "jet engines" or "eye*****" this time.
Uska bhi poll karenge!