After confirming that the set was indeed fresh, I approved it and came back to Elegant. After that, an installer by the name of Javed was assigned to my car and the installation began. It took nearly an hour to take out the middle console, take out the old system, take out the wires, put in the new system, put in new wires, connectors and put the system back on. On playing the system, i came to notice that the left front compnents were not playing and the installation had again been a shoddy one. Everything was done all over again and thank god they got it right the second time. After that, i got my car cleaned up of all the messy wires and sort, locked it and went in the basement to see the amps. After verifying that their seal was still on and they were from Supreme Electronics, Gurgaon, the official suppliers of the Alpine amps, I accepted and paid for them. The amps were as suggested by Gunbeer and Jasdeep. I'll be going in for a complete system overhaul on Sunday ans will post complete pics and details of the same.
Afer paying for the complete set, I asked Ravi to make out the complete bill for the Infinity components and the JBL wires and he was a bit taken aback as if he was surprised that I remembered it. He started dilly-dallying then and told me that as he had given me some kinda discount on the entire setup and to save some duties and taxes, he would put down the price of the JBL wires as Rs.3000 . I knew what he was trying to do, and I wanted the complete fraud to be on paper, i said nothing doing and the price at which he had sold it to me was to be written down. To give him a chance, I again asked him the price for a JBL Kit and he again said Rs.3500. I asked him if he was sure and he said " poore lajpat nagar mein hum hi aise dukaan hai, jinpe aap aankh bandkar bharosa kar sakte hain." Deep down, I had such a sharp feeling of resentment, but I just wanted to get the entire episode over with and then sit down, chalk out a plan and nail them.
While coming up, i saw an aged person sitting and arguing with the dealer upstairs. His story was..... About eight months back, he had bought a pair Fiem horns for his cielo. While taking the horn, the seller had been all mushy-mushy and had given him the ICICI bank's slogan.... "Any problems... hum hai na". Now, one of the horns was not working and he had come to get a replacement all the way from Ghaziabad. And the seller was flatly refusing to have ever entertained him at all and was asking for the warranty card. The person ultimately banged the horn on the desk, walked out to his car, and drove away.
While I was moving out after completing the purchase and getting the bill and warranty card stamped, wonders of wonders, the same room on the left which displayed the Pionner Systems had gotten back the Pioneer 8650 face. If you recall my earlier post, the same was missing and i'm dead sure it had made it's way to my car. I was shell shocked. Alteast they should have let me drive away before putting the face where it always was. They should have that much of shame atleast.
Anyways, that was the last time I was dealing with Elegant Kar, Lajpat Nagar. The entire 10 days since when I had gotten my car done up through them was full of unsatisfaction, agony and a miserable feeling down under. The entire episode had left a very bad taste in my mouth and I am very sure i won't be able to trust such sweet talkers and back stabbers ever.
Guys, please beware of such sellers. They are very sweet talking and disarming when you are interacting with them. But when you least suspect, they will do everything in their power to make a quick buck. They give an absolute damn about your feelings and concern, all they live for is their moolah and profit figues. I am seriously contemplating legal action against them and will approach the consumer forum very soon. Can someone guide me on this. The trouble and harrassment they caused me was beyond comprehension, not to mention their blatant cheating and unethical practices.
Once again guys, please beware of such Frauds and Cheats. Can we start a blacklisting post where we can mention such sellers so that nobody has to suffer what I went through and the entire process of ICEing their cherished ride can be a wonderfully satisfying one.