|
Originally Posted by luvjascha Hi guys,
I am new to this forum. I think all you folks are doing a great job and would appreciate it greatly if you address some car buying queries/concerns that I have.
First of, my budget is under 4 lakhs (on-road price); I might even be willing to spend a little more than 4, but typically, would like to find a vehicle that's under 4 lakhs.
I think I would be pretty comfortable going in for either a Maruti or a Tata product. Having said that, I did some research on the standard equipment like power windows, power steering, just to mention a few, technical specs, etc. and came up with 2 cars: Maruti's Zen LXi and Tata's Indica V2 Xeta GLG.
I am 27 and absolutely love taking long road-trips across the state. Hence, I am looking for something that's most importantly:
-RELIABLE,
-Very low maintenance
-Comfortable
-Sturdy
-Decent on the gas mileage
-Appearance
a) Which of the two would you suggest? Also, feel free to name a few other good products in the market that meet my requirements.
b) I have read owner feedback comments on the Indica and I must say that some of them were pretty discouraging. How is the after sale support of Tata? What is their warranty like?
c) I am also a little befuddled about whether I should go in for a diesel or a petrol vehicle. I understand that a diesel engine is more powerful and offers a better fuel mileage as compared to the petrol engine. Also, the price of diesel is cheaper compared to petrol. However, will I have to compromise on comfort and vehicle maintenance with a diesel vehicle?
Kindly advise.
I would certainly appreciate any suggestions and comments and look forward to your replies.
- |
For the price of 4 lacs while
maybe a few sedans are available in their basic versions I would prefer a fully loaded hatch.
For long trips Zen is certainly not the right car with lack of space and dated design. Infact maruti WagonR would be a better (not best choice) with loads of space and flexible seating options.
But Indica Xeta takes the cake when you take long distances into account.
Go for the indica diesel. Its too oudated, the engine is unrefined, gearshift notchy. but comfort is still the best in class and so is FE. Most of the tourist cabs use indica diesel and hence reliebility wont be an issue.
I would recommend the indica diesel.