View Single Post
Old 20th February 2007, 01:24   #145 (permalink)
mclaren1885

Just returned from bombay .. Yes but in a flight and not driving the car as planned .. More on that later ..

The event was good with a good turnout for bikes and cars in almost every class , though crowd control was a huge prob atleast in the VIP section .. Thanks to The YETI we could all watch in peace ..

Firstly congratulations to psycho for setting a new natioanal esteem class timing and winning 1st place and also to vasu anna for winning the 2nd place ..

As far as the scooby is concerened , mihir tough luck with the waste gate and the exhaust manifold .. That car is real potential winner .. Better luck for the bangy round .. Your run on the VTEC to a 15.1 in the pro stock class was amazing .. And your launches are something we all need to learn from ..

Viper it was nice seeing you and your VTEC , wishing you best of luck to achieve the 15sec run you were hoping for at the next drag ..

EVO6 - Bhushan get to bangalore and we will see what this blue beauty can do in a not so stock form ..

Before you guys start flaming each other this is what it takes to get to a drag .. Read further of the issues we had and it may give u an idea ...

As far as my cars run is concerned on day 1 it clocked a 16.287 ET was the 2nd fastest of the day a good 0.6 sec ahead of the next fastest car .. The car clocked the 4th fastest ET on day 2 but with loads of problems .. All in all the event seemed jinxed for my car and memo ..

Countdown to speedrun 2007 bombay :
15 days prior - All parts bought and lying at home .
12 days prior - Car sent to the garage for the works ..
8 days prior - Complete block is setup ..
5 days prior - Complete engine is assembled back , but the car wont crank .. Faulty CPS (crank position sensor ) replaced with a new one still no crank .. Crank pulley replaced , cars back and running fine .. Takes us 3 days to find the pulley ..
3 days prior to the run - Car is flying during a testing session , though engine is tight and needs a lot of running in ..
2 days prior to the run - Memo and myself set on a run in to do to bombay .. Had fun all the way , eating , chatting , giving the car a break to let it cool down etc besides being on constant touch with psycho every 2hrs giving him updates on the car.. No issues till we reached hubli .. Realised we dont get 97 Octane , filled in 91 Oct Xtra Premium and our troubles began .. On reaching bombay car started knocking , filled 97 Oct full tank in bombay and realised even that fuel was bad ..

On a drive to meet a few of the bhpians vasu's car had a blown head gasket and a hole in the head owing to excessive NOS dosage in a trial session in bangalore .. Soon after my car too had heating issues , which we assumed to be just lack of water in the radiator .. Car ran on day 1 but was not as quick as it was on the expressway 2 days earlier .. Radiator fan switch blown , so directed the fan to cool the engine .. Fuel Filter conks so direct that also .. Up the fuel pressure and the cars runs even slower , change the spark plugs to brand new NGKs and cars runs better .. Finished the practise session with a 16.287 .. Next day clocked a 16.450 with memo running out of fuel at 6500 rpms (fueling prob) in 1st gear and again the car died 20mtrs before the finish line and all the dashboard lights came on .. Memo shifted the car to neutral and costed to the line .. Disappointed with the run returned to the garage and parked the cars and went out with a few bhpians .. On coming back Jitu wanted to test the car with the Gtech so took the car out for a spin and came back within no time saying the car had no torque and was not moving .. Checked the engine to find the 4th cylinder gone .. So all the while from the time we had heating issues a day prior to speedrun, we were running on 3 cyl , clocked some really good times and never realised what went wrong with the car .. What always seemed to be a overheating problem due to excessive evaporation of coolant in the radiator turned out to be blown headgaskets (yes two of them) that took its toll once jitu went out for a spin .. 15 mins later went jitu left home and we were on our way to put the cars in a truck my car engine seized .. Towed the car to the truck and its lying in the truckers office till tomorrow before getting shipped .. And here is the reason why im at home posting this rather than driving my car back to bangy .. This is what i had to go through in the last 10 days to get to a drag .. Its not easy .. The heat was tremendous , most cars were having reliability issues ..

Psycho blew is fuel pump 10 mins before his run , had to go down on the boost by 50% and also had to disconnect his NOS for the Indian Open with the fear of blowing his engine ..

Vasu anna had a blown head gasket just a day before his run ..

My car too had a non functioning 4th cylinder that finally took its toll when ford rocam took it out for a spin ..

EVO6s car too had heating issues ..

Two other cars blew their engines on the run because of the heat ..

Indias fastest zen which was to set yet another national record also blew its engine the night before the run ..

All in all it was the heat and also the non-availability of good quality fuel .. I know of atleast 3 cars that didnt do well because of bad fuel ..

The cars were being punished , and at times they give up .. Same with the scooby .. Kindly refrain from bad mouthing the car or the driver .. For the records that car on its 1st run didnt have traction till about 150mtrs , kept spinning its wheels .. Whatever said that car has some really high BHP figures ... Give it time and maybe it will live upto our expectations at the next event ..

More than 10 days spent at the garage working on the car , over a lakh spent on parts and labour alone (most of this being for my Turbo setup im planning very soon) , another few thousands for driving the car to bombay and taking part .. After all this car gives up because of bad fuel even when one is ready to pay 60 bucks to a freaking litre .. Its just bad luck , its just a sport where you at times win or dont .. I am extremely satisfied at what my car did with all the problems it had , and will be prepared better for the next event .. Thats how its meant to be and must be enjoyed while at it.. But not flaming each other like this or one particular person ..

Finally i would also love to thank Farted_Head (or so he was called) for being an excellent host and taking care of us for all these days .. We are really sorry for having caused you so much trouble .. Also would love to thank all the guys who came to golden moments and sea lords and made the meets a huge success .. Specially to sam for a fabulous arrangement.. Can someone pls put up the pics of the sea lord meet too ??

And most importantly this event has also gotten me to know a few really humble and nice men who love cars equally as well .. Made a lot more friends than we could have imagined off .. Would surely want to meet all of you again .. So farted head , veyron , iraghava , elf , jiggy , evo6 , v16 , rt , moralfibre , zavo , dippy , f50 , ma(n)son and all the others that i may have missed out do keep in touch ... Hoping to see you guys at another destination really soon ..

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 20th February 2007 at 01:30.
mclaren1885 is online now   Reply With Quote