Firstly i would like to thank all in this thread especially gbpscars and tsk for all the information and clearing my doubts and confusion.
As mentioned in a thread earlier, i am planning to fit the Osram Silverstar OR the Osram Cool Blue for the headlamps and fog lamps in my Swift & had contacted the Osram officehere at Andheri (E) with my requirements.
Today i got a call from one of their sales representatives and he has suggested the Osram Silverstar (white light) over the Osram Cool Blue and claims that the Silverstar are the best headlamps available. The headlamp bulbs in the Swift are H4 and that in the fog lamps are H8. Apparently, the H8 type bulbs are new to India are not easily available as per the sales rep. He told me that they do not have H8 bulbs yet but are expected in May 07.
He however has refered me to one of the Osram authorised dealers situated in Mahim. I called this chap up and he too suggested the Osram Silverstar over the Cool Blue. He however told me that the H8 (white light) will be available in a week's time and that he will call me up when they arrive. That was music to my ears. So if any of you guys require Osram bulbs officially available in Mumbai, you can contact Mr. Godwin on 66662591.
The sales rep from Osram and Godwin also mentioned a couple of interesting points as mentioned below: -
1. HID kits are available from Osram. However, they must be fitted in a projector setup only or else illegal.'
2. As most/all cars come with headlamp bulbs of 60/55 W as OEM, fitting bulbs of higher wattage other than that supplied by the company is not only illegal but will void warranty incase of a short circut or any other problems occur. So those whose cars are still under warranty, kindly keep this in mind. Any upgradation with regard to higher wattage bulbs and relay fitments must be done only after the warranty period or preferably - never.
3. With reference to point 2, the Osram guys have advised to go in for the Silverstar 60/55 W bulbs and have assured 50% more light and longer beam as compared to the OEM bulb.
4. Cost for the Silverstar was quoted at INR 130/- per bulb and Cool Blue at INR 230/- per bulb.
Guys, kindly let me know if the prices are in order.
Epic
__________________ ___________________________ If everything is coming your way, you're in the wrong lane!!!!! |