View Single Post
Old 27th June 2007, 10:13   #4 (permalink)
Rtech
Team-BHP Moderator

Riding a superbike on a daily basis:

Not many ride these bikes on a daily basis for commuting. For those who plan to, here are some real world tips and insights into commuting on a superbike.

• Plan each trip well. You need to know where you will be parking your bike at the destination. You cannot squeeze your superbike in the middle of a couple 100cc bikes by the roadside.

• Be ready to answer questions. Some sensible, other expected (kya mileage?) and yet some more that are downright hilarious (diesel gadi hai kya?). Answer politely. Given the opportunity, that person too would have loved to ride a big bike.

• People will fiddle with your bike when it’s parked in the open. Ask them in a firm but polite tone to back off as the bike may tip over and something might break.

• Traffic and summer are your worst enemies. The bikes heat up quickly if they don’t have a flow of air over the radiator. In most cases, the small fans cannot cope with the prevalent conditions of an Indian summer. It helps to plan your commute just before or after peak hours. Plus, it will be a more enjoyable ride as well.

• Pedestrians! You have to keep both eyes open for jaywalkers. They have no idea of the approach speed of your bike, and will suddenly panic when they see you heading towards them.

• Keep an eye on the rear view mirrors. Modern superbikes have awesome triple discs, with radial calipers on the front. Unfortunately the taxi behind you has 30 year old drum brakes which are probably not even adjusted! When you stop at a signal, always keep the bike in gear and a look out behind you for a wayward motorist (this applies to all bikers).