Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 31st October 2010, 22:12   #1
BHPian

Default Knocking engine problem (need clarification)

Hello Everyone,

I've been running my baby (mm550xd ex-army) since march 2009 and completed 23000 Kms in it. Its my almost daily drive to office which is about 24-28 Kms away. recently had starting problems.. got starter checked and carbon brushes n plate replaced (I'm no technical expert and this was all done by a close family friend whos a mechanic). Starter now works perfectly fine but another problem crops up. Its was diagnosed by my friend as a hand pump problem because the oil keeps flowing back after having pumped oil manually, and somehow (by bad luck) while trying to fix the hand pump we managed to spoil the thread and the entire hand pump head in the process (leading to airlock) , So changed the handpump head and replaced old filters with new ones and tried starting again. Jeep started with difficulty and once it started it gave this crazy knocking sound which got a bit scary. I was then told that I need to get the Nozzles serviced/overhauled coz the knocking was most probably because of a nozzle problem. So, went to a serciving centre, got the nozzles checked and found out they were jammed (after opening them up found some kinda impurity in the valve which i suspect might have been aluminium pieces from the cross threaded pump head and somehow got into the nozzle). So got them cleaned and tried firing the engine again. It ran smooth for sometime but the knocking started again. Got the nozzles checked again as per my mech friend's advice and this time had to overhaul the nozzles so did whatever was advised. and now it starts fine, no knocking anymore.