| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| | #1412 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Back from Exile
| |
| |
| | #1413 |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: MUMBAI
| Dear Parm /all - I am in the same dilemma as you are. Just to fill you in, we are in the midst of the "slog overs" phase of the homologation process. Believe me when I tell you that this thing is more boring than cutting onions all day. Yuck! There are surprises every day. You feel so frustrated but you just have to take it in your stride. However, once homologation is through, and it will take its own time, there is nothing anyone can do about it, then we can .Till that time, I'm enjoying every drive. 99.9% of my use is commuting, so its zip zap zoom with other road users wondering what just whizzed past. I like my Thar this way. I don't go offroad every day and have no intention of doing so. I don't have to prove anything to anybody any more. So finally IT GIVES ME EXACTLY WHAT I WANT. . In the end, it should give you what you want.I have already started working on other equally exciting projects. Best regards, Behram Dhabhar |
| |
| | #1414 | ||
| BHPian Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Thane-Mumbai
| Quote:
pls Quote:
I think the chassis (Hybrid) is somehow same as Thar. Is that only for the sake of IFS for CRDe or CRDe for IFS only? Last edited by offroad_maniac : 25th April 2010 at 18:41. | ||
| |
| | #1415 | |
| Quote:
i always belive in "you can go fast, i can go everywhere"! i would like bat cautiously even in slog overs so i can reach the target i entend to reach. we all would like to wait for the 'other equally exciting projects'. Do i see some changes in the MM Customization dept? | |
| |
| | #1416 |
| BHPian Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Thane-Mumbai
| Here are more pics... Enjoy till its Homeland Launch (What a pain )Look at the rear articulation in first pic. (Though front wheel is rubbing) ![]() The sway bar is removed.. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() (Pic courtesy: 4X4community.co.za) |
| |
| | #1417 | |
| Quote:
anyway here are more from the same website (www.4x4community.co.za) to be honest, i NOT worried about the mechanicals of the Thar (engine, chassis, suspension, transmission), it the body works that worries me the most! is it re-enforced and long lasting? cause the MM bodies are very much prone to RUSTING! | |
| |
| | #1418 | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Quote:
Good to see that you are enjoying, the Thar, you better be since its your creation. But please don't force it down on us. What makes you think it will give us what we what? What are the speeds you zip-zap and zoom around in the Thar? What is the weight of the front propeller shaft? What makes you think that removing the ALH, and reducing the cost by Rs15K will benefit the customers? What about the Long term Effects? 1) Additional Wear and Tear? 2) Fuel Efficiency? And Sir, you definitely don't need to prove anything, but please don't duck the technical questions and then say you don't need to prove anything, we get confused. Regards, Arka PS - If you want I will post a comprehensive questionnaire and you can answer it in........... ![]() | |
| |
| | #1419 |
| Senior - BHPian | Honestly guys, Thar in that pics with those tyres looks impressive! I guess in India looks do matter even if it surpases functionality! For 99% guys Thar would do. Those articutation pics are phenomenal for an IFS vehicle. All would agree Thar is a lifestyle vehicle. It Will address that segment very strongly for sure. Hard core traditional off road segment of about 0.1% of the market, will have to wait. I firmly believe M&M doesnt leave any segment of market for charity however small it is! Last edited by vinod_nookala : 26th April 2010 at 11:23. |
| |
| | #1420 | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Quote:
I think if the Rear Suspension is optimized (Scorpio Multi-link Coil or the Force Gurkha Style SPOA with Anti-Roll Bars or maybe the existing suspension with anti-roll bars) the vehicle will be a Much Better performer off-road. The Thar has 2 Advantages over most SWB (90-95") off-road vehicles. (IFS types) i) Weight and Soft-Top ii) Power; to Weight Today its relying on Power to overcome the obstacles, once the mechanical and suspension components are perfected.......... ![]() The M&M does not leave any segment for Charity, they use that opportunity to the hilt to fleece customers. i) M&M CLASSIC ii) Souvenir iii) Thar (Why do they want to market it as a Lifestyle Vehicle? now they even want to remove the ALH Regards, Arka Last edited by ex670c : 26th April 2010 at 11:57. | |
| |
| | #1421 | |
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
Weight and soft top are Thars strong points compared to vehicles that are in production (Gypsy not included). We saw the other day, Gurkhas rear articuation severely limited by anti roll bars. As Thar doesnot have diff locks as standard, good suspension travel is welcome!Yeh ALH kya hai Bhai? p.s Iam going to lay my hands on Thar soon for a TD. Lets see:-) Last edited by vinod_nookala : 26th April 2010 at 12:06. | |
| |
| | #1422 |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | |
| |
| | #1423 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: May 2006 Location: Greater Chennai
| |
| |
| | #1424 |
| BHPian Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Bangalore
| Thanks for the clarification offroad maniac. Also based on the response from Behram sir, guess my hopes are torn apart of the Thar being launched with the FFRA and Leafsprings. It now remains as a solid soft offroader and will continue the legend in this new avataar. Parm as far as this thread loosing steam goes, yes! it has lost the excitement and steam as the Thar is built for a purpose that wouldn't satisfies most offroaders wanting to participate in offroad events such as the Bangalore OTR and the Palar Challenge. We will continue to look at army disposals or Gypsy's. Besides the delay in its launch and the little known on the exact specs of the Indian variant except that it would be offered both in 2WD and 4WD, guess the papers, auto mags and the TV shows would start spilling in more info and details on the Thar. Referring to some of the posts, I was sure the Thar would be launched sometime mid March, however we are now stepping into May and there still seems a cloud around the launch dates and other details. Also, with Behram sir leading the CoE for M&M 4X4 and cult vehicles, hopes were high that we could expect the beast in Thar to take precedence, however it hasn't. We had quotes in that thread flying around on the reintroduction of the SWB CL340 with the specs of the perfect offroader, however some wishes will remain wishes! Long live the MM550 - army disposals |
| |
| | #1425 |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: MUMBAI
| Dear Yikes6633 - please correct me if I am wrong but I know you as a die hard CL340 fan. Presuming I am correct, my frank reply to you on CL340 is as follows: If we have to sell a vehicle in India, we must meet BS4 norms. There is no escaping this fact. Even if CL340 were to be remade (it is not difficult for me, 90% of the body exists anyways), where do I get an engine which will meet BS4? Considering I use the Thar engine, where does that leave me on suspension configuration? And then, why should a customer not buy the Thar and be done with it? However, as far as human endeavor is concerned, nothing is impossible. Please draw your own conclusions. Best regards, Behram Dhabhar |
| |
![]() |