Originally Posted by navin Supra and Sommer are cables made in Sweden and Germany respectively.
CAT 5 can be used for very short runs. 1-2 meters. It's resistance and skin effect is too high for use beyond that.
On a budget (cheaper than Sommer) you can use 100/40 or 100/38 intrumention wire. The cable has 100 strand of 40 or 38 gauge and ofnte has a good insulation (not Teflon but good grade PTFE). |
hi,
it was just that i had like 50 meters of cat5 lying unused so i thought if i could use it then why not. one problem with a cat5 is that the conductor breaks easily. even a slight twist sometimes break the wire.
im ready to spend on good quality wires and im not on a really tight budget
im gonna go to delhi next month so i will buy some wires from there if lbm can help. :-) there is no place in jalandhar to buy good wires and stuff.
im looking for separate good quality wires and connector plugs.
is there any place in delhi from where i can buy belden cables?
navinji can you give a rough idea of the price you paid for belden?
and my amplifier conked off last evening and im really sad :-( . right now i dont have enough $$$ to buy a new amp. i think the power transistor blew. even the heat sink above the transistor melted. there was a problem of alt whine and amp tripping earlier so i removed the sub rca cables. i connected it back and there was tonnes of smoke from the amp. i hope its repairable. the rest of the amp board was fine. how can one check what the problem is?
if my amp is irrepairable, what be the best lternative? i was thinking of the 75.4 as it has oodles of power and would be perfect for the comps. whats the bridged power output of this amp? also is it 2 ohm stable(bridged) the 944 is.
Gunbir bhai, ek achha sa amp gift kar do please( please gift me a good amp)
any amp lying spare with you you wanna sell? otherwise please finance me an amp :-)
no cheers
clip