View Single Post
Old 27th December 2007, 09:12   #47 (permalink)
BUSA

ROC - The reason for choosing a Diesel even when cost of fuel is same.

1. Diesel will still give better average. Swift Petrol gives 11, wheras petrol gives 16

2. Diesel Swift is much much more FTD then the Petrol counterpart & so are almost are diesel cars compared to their petrol counter parts(exception being the vRS)

In daily day to day driving, you are using peak torque of the car, wheras how many times do you revv to 4000RPM in regular driving. Petrol cars are said to produce peak torque over 4000RPM Dont get me wrong, i was a total petrol head, till i drove the Verna/Swift If you read my older posts i was highly against diesel vehicles.

I will go for diesel if they keep on producing engines as Hyundai guys have set the trend.
Hyundai makes some fabulous diesel engines. Case in point is the Verna engine, it is a nuke

Well the basic flaw in your reasoning is that you are comparing petrols with lame engines to the verna and swift-D. Try driving something that actually has some power.
There is no point in comaparing a high powered petrol to a diesel which looks underpowered in the comaparission. If the car petrol car is high powered, then it will cost more. Yes, you cant compare the 325i to the 320D but the 325i costs a whopping 4Lacs more. A real comparission will be between a 320i and 320D

The stock Swift petrol engine is fantastic, only thing the diesel overshawdows it.

@ ROC - I would suggest you need to drive a diesel car for long and drive it like a diesel and then you will get the point. Dont revv her, drive in the torque curve.

In that case i would always opt for a super smooth petrol engine.
BUSA Please think beyond TORQUE also...
I agree i am just becoming too muc Torque minded but with the new gen diesels its like having your cake and eating it too, it gives the best of both worlds, and who said diesels dont have good high end, it cant compare to petrol i agree, but its not that bad either.

The turbolag in my terms is not lag but silence before the strom And all Turbo cars will have it whether petrol diesel.

NOTE FROM MODERATOR: Kindly avoid using more than 2 smilies.

Last edited by adya33 : 27th December 2007 at 09:37.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote