View Single Post
Old 16th March 2008, 06:10   #9 (permalink)
phamilyman

Infractions: 0/1 (3)
Lightbulb O ji, MJD disappointing? Helluz!

My TD experience is completely different. A new FiatFanboy speaking

Magnesium Grey, SD model that is !Or maybe the unsuspecting customer is already lovingly running it in for 5k more km, not knowing that its been redlined several times over. I TD'd it with speedo disconnected.

Now, a modular report as tbhp orders! Please understand my perspective as a indica xeta/alto owner. So those with SUVs may have a diff thought.

Interiors:
Decent. Beige inside, with the dashboard in a different (most wouldnt like!) dark brown/beige/metal AC fascia scheme. But yes, it has the look of a car a gen old. No two ways about it.

Much is said about the old gen tacho/dash but its still decent. And a look at the current Aveo convinces me it isnt that bad either. And how the tacho needle zooms.... !

Ride/Handling:
Not much to comment here. Comfortable, couldnt find any *really bad* spots to test things. Handles well, including a narrow U turn at (I think) 60 where I almost sideswiped a rickshaw! Zilch body roll though the Fiat rep without his seat belt had good body roll.

Steering/Engine/Gear
Quite responsive steering once it gets going. The reverse may be a problem for average guys, but since I'm used to reversing an Indica, this baby tank falls right up the same alley. I refused to reverse it out of the dealer's parking lot. But its not that tough once you get used to it.
And like those who've TD'd the swift diesel, its JUST as sweetly revving. Insane fun albeit with a noticeable turbolag.
Cruises in 3rd at 20ish nicely, though at 10ish it knocks.
Fifth at about 40ish (second gear just as turbo kicked in, I shifted to 5th) was decent as well.
Redlined easily in third, so I must've touched like 80-100 or thereabouts min. Didn't have much road tho.
Another interesting thing. You can't engage reverse till you pull up a sleeve on the gear lever. Very thoughtful.

NVH
Decent but irrelevant. At idle you CAN hear the diesel almost like the SwiftD - its a diesel yaar. But very less, not in an irritating way. And the wheeze of the engine when you redline is naish. That being said, no rattles. No issues with AC on. With ICE, you can safely ignore - as SwiftD owners say. that being said, outside clatter is less unlike the likes of Fabia!

ICE
NA

AC
Chilled decently and little impact on pickup. Reckon it should surive delhi ki garmi (3pm, 45+ degrees) waali roads in style too.

Visibility and ease of use
Front is Decent and rear is only okay. Wouldn't say its great, because I'm after all an Alto guy Definitely above a SwiftD though.
Ease of use is high. Liked some thoughtful things like well placed 12v, rear power windows+child lock in center (for navigator) to operate.
Also, the much read funda about pedals being close together is nonsense - atleast for me. Comfortable enough.

Misc:
Leg and head room was sufficient. Even in rear. In NHCZX, my head touches the roof (i'm 5'11) in the rear seat. Its decent again for a hatchback. That being said, its still a gen old, step in (as in esteem vs SX4) types vehicle.

Overall, would I buy it if I were in the market - hell yeah. SDX is well loaded for its price (5.0x OTR Delhi).

even bigger reason: Half the parts are videshi, from the rear windscreen to the stuff in engine compartments thats from either poland or brazil.

Interesting funda: Salesman was trying to push it to new customers given the tank like build. In the 20min I was in the showroom, the bonnet must've been opened/closed five-six times for the sound fx!!

PPS: I'm waiting for your Indigo XL report. Kahan dicor with heavier XL body aur kahan MJD. Jao try kar lo, hum phir poochenge!