View Single Post
Old 2nd May 2008, 08:53   #22 (permalink)
Gangsta

Originally Posted by arunmur View Post
ABS + EBD is some what effective in direction control of the car but only useful when you apply brakes. More over ABS cannot detect lateral movement of the car, you have to turn the steering to make it possible. At panic situations, remembering all that is very difficult.

ESP, a dream in Indian cars, like all the safety features, this will be available only in 20lakh plus cars. But work much better with earlier intruption and avoiding panic. But gives a false sense of security to the driver.

ESP will save over 20,000 lives in India every year if our trucks are equiped with one, that will be cheaper considering that most of our trucks use air brakes. This number will appear bigger if we consider the losses in money and commodities in many trucks just tipping over every day.
It should be applicable for the newbies and unexperienced drivers too in thier cars. Especially for the teenage drivers. I had read about an accident by a teen for verna. He was not able to control the power and rammed the car. One of them, car slipped off the road. another one of the swift, which rammed inside a truck all died. If such featured would had been there in swift like ABS, ESP, TCS etc. etc. they could had steered the car in control and would had been saved. Recently an accident occured in gurgaon, M800 rammed into a bus. Bus applied brakes and M800 brakes on expressway gurgaon are Wow! it couldnt stopped and rammed into the bus.
These were few examples in which lives could had been saved because of such features. But our Indian Janta don't wanna spend money on quality security features.
In this case dealers have a major role too missguiding indian janta, when i had been to DD Motors, Maruti Suzuki Dealer for the test ride of Dzire. He asked me which car you wanna buy, i said SX4, DZire or Verna D. He told me Drive a DZire and you will forget Verna. Verna is too slow and bla bla Safety features is not there in Verna. DZire have safety features like that of a D Segment Car. I asked what kinda features he said first of all Build Quality then ABS, Immobilizer. I asked him what immobilizer will do on the time of emergency brakes. He got no ans. then i asked him what type of D segment security features? he said immobilizer. They are simply missguiding the Indian Janta.

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Does the octavia vRs have this feature?
Na, I don't think so. But Sonata Embera have.
Maruti 800
What's Next?... Yamaha R15 :-)

Last edited by Gangsta : 2nd May 2008 at 09:03.
Gangsta is offline   Reply With Quote