Go Back   Team-BHP > Team-BHP > Announcements


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th May 2014, 23:55   #31
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 21,227
Thanked: 17,817 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by D4D View Post
Not sure whether it's a bug but I could not view some threads in the long-term ownership review section. Also, pictures were not loading in some threads.
Was this consistent? (ie even refreshing the same thread didn't fix it)
Is this still happening?
Could you link to the thread/s please, as well as include a screenshot if possible.

Windows 8 app would depend on if / when Tapatalk decide to release one...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ad3952n View Post
* Picture uploading is not proper on some existing long term ownership threads and initial ownership threads too.
Do also reply to the questions above, as this seems to be a similar point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ad3952n View Post
* The tab options of "Quick Links" and "New Posts" become non-responsive at times.
Interesting. Will keep an eye out for this, thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ad3952n View Post
* Picture uploading with Tbhp attachment manager is becoming slow at times.
This is surprising to hear. Its been magnitudes faster for me whenever i try it. Will wait to see if anyone else reports the same.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 07:25   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
ad3952n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Noida (U.P)
Posts: 1,589
Thanked: 1,829 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Was this consistent? (ie even refreshing the same thread didn't fix it)
Is this still happening?
Hi Rehaan, As of now the pictures are uploading much faster as compared to yesterday night though I had to refresh it once. I checked my thread of initial ownership, that too is working fine right now. But this problem is coming up on tastefully modified thread now. Here is a pic.

Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!-photo0975.jpg

Quote:
This is surprising to hear. Its been magnitudes faster for me whenever i try it. Will wait to see if anyone else reports the same.
The issue has been rectified. It was taking place because of the weak I.S.P signal.

However, The quick link tab is responding a bit late. Rest all options are working fine.

Thanks

AD

Last edited by ad3952n : 11th May 2014 at 07:39. Reason: pic attached
ad3952n is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 10:02   #33
BHPian
 
rmonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 197
Thanked: 31 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Congratulations & thanks to all for the successful move & brilliant upgrade.
rmonie is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 11:54   #34
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 21,227
Thanked: 17,817 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ad3952n View Post
But this problem is coming up on tastefully modified thread now. Here is a pic.
Hi ad3952n,

That post is loading fine for me. link (PICS : Tastefully Modified Cars in India)

I think your problems will be solved if you clear your browser cache and try flushing your DNS. See instructions in Codelust's post here (Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!)

Thanks,
R
Rehaan is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 13:31   #35
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 43,466
Thanked: 61,675 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by codelust View Post
Great show today, guys. After much planning and plotting we have pulled it off today. Would not have been possible without how meticulous you guys are about running things here.

It is always a pleasure working with the core team.
Shyam,

It's a fact that we wouldn't have been able to pull this off without your guidance. Heartfelt gratitude for all the help & support

Quote:
Originally Posted by shankar.balan View Post
One more small fix that I would like to see - if one types any two letter word in the "Search" Field, the Forum returns the response that the number of letters specified is less than three and hence it always returns a negative result. This has been my experience ever since I started using this forum and I find it irritating.
Hi Shankar,

Few forums running our software have 2 character search enabled because it's too resource heavy. In fact, many even skip 3 character searches, which we have enabled. Further, our full search functionality is open to non-logged in users as well.

Would suggest you adopt our search guidelines (link), including using the integrated google search.

There's not a thread or post I've looked for that I haven't been able to find.

Quote:
For example I typed Nissan Terrano vs Renault Duster in order to find any thread which compares these two cars, but because of the use of the word 'vs", I cannot get any result.
Also because there isn't any Terrano vs Duster thread

This one (Duster vs other SUVs & MUVs) has some references to the Terrano though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abirnale View Post
I am using mobile app on android and pages are loading fast here too.
You can say that again! Even the App flies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Previously, our packets were going to USA and back?
Yep.
GTO is offline   (4) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 13:45   #36
D4D
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Garden City
Posts: 482
Thanked: 326 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Was this consistent? (ie even refreshing the same thread didn't fix it)
Is this still happening?
Could you link to the thread/s please, as well as include a screenshot if possible.

Windows 8 app would depend on if / when Tapatalk decide to release one...
Everything seems fluid today. Not a single glitch encountered today. It's all extremely smooth.

I just hope WP app gets realeased.

Thanks,
D4D
D4D is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 14:13   #37
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Delhi
Posts: 38
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Congrats and thanks. Just curious - how do you guys meet expenses related to such migrations/upgrades in addition to routine running expenditure? Now that the forum has an enviable reputation, some revenue (enough to cover costs?) would be generated from commercials/advertising - but how are these aspects handled in the initial days of a forum's existence? Sure glad and fortunate to be a part of BHP!
Rakkum13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2014, 19:42   #38
BHPian
 
codelust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 193
Thanked: 281 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Previously, our packets were going to USA and back? This is much better.
In the bizarre world of how traffic is routed across networks on the internet, the simple answer is 'yes', but the complicated answer is that it need not be faster just because of that.

A lot of it depends on how the ISP the end consumer is on peers with the connectivity provider for the host. As a result, it is very much possible that both the server's IP and the consumer's IP are geographically located in India, but it may make a round trip across the globe to communicate to each other.

To choose the right host, we have to take into account how they peer with the bigger backhaul connectivity providers at the consumer end. If the traffic is exchanged between both parties at the local peering exchange (NIXI, in our case), the odds are we will wind up having a very snappy experience as both consumer and server are usually then about 5-6 hops away from each other with double digit MS latency.
codelust is offline   (9) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2014, 13:41   #39
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 129
Thanked: 76 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Guys
Am not able to register as a private seller in the classifieds section. I get a http 500 error with a blank page. Is it due to the server transition ? Can you please check this out. Attached is the screen shot of the error.
Attached Thumbnails
Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!-error.jpg  

subraiyr is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2014, 15:27   #40
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 43,466
Thanked: 61,675 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

We're on it, thanks for the heads up Subraiyr.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2014, 20:00   #41
BHPian
 
Car_Freak_911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mangalore
Posts: 76
Thanked: 90 Times
Thumbs up Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Congratulations team!

With the new servers in place, the page load time has reduced significantly and it loads like a dream
Earlier, with the old servers, the site used to not load sometimes on my laptop or ipad. Hopefully that problem will be resolved with the new servers in place.
Congrats again and thanks!

Cheers!
Carfreak911

Last edited by Car_Freak_911 : 12th May 2014 at 20:27.
Car_Freak_911 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2014, 21:05   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
Warwithwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,279
Thanked: 1,010 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Was trying to locate Mod Navin's ownership report of the camry. Googled his name using the in-forum search box located on the top RHS of the page.

Clicking on the very first search result took me to a database error page. Replaced the search with "GTO" and still the first result took me to an error page.

Attaching the screen shots for your perusal. Am not sure if this is a recent issue post the migration.

Name:  Capture.PNG
Views: 430
Size:  55.8 KB

Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!-12.png
Warwithwheels is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2014, 15:31   #43
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 21,227
Thanked: 17,817 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by subraiyr View Post
I get a http 500 error with a blank page.
FYI: We're still working on resolving this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Car_Freak_911 View Post
Earlier, with the old servers, the site used to not load sometimes on my laptop or ipad.
Hi Car_Freak, this should not have happened at all. Do let us know if you face this issue again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warwithwheels View Post
Attaching the screen shots for your perusal. Am not sure if this is a recent issue post the migration.
Thanks! This is a link to our old (no longer functional) site. I've made some changes so Google should stop referring to it soon.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2014, 19:32   #44
BHPian
 
mashmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 335
Thanked: 92 Times
Default Re: Team-BHP moving to E2E Networks. EDIT: Done!

This is Fantastic News. Congratulations to the entire Team-Bhp team for successfully carrying out this herculean task.

I had no ideas this was on the cards and today when i casually opened the site, it felt so much quicker. While rejoicing that maybe my Internet connection has gotten faster, I signed in and thats when saw the bulk PM regarding the move.

You keep amazing us

MaSh
mashmash is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2014, 08:40   #45
BHPian
 
Amarendranath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 500
Thanked: 402 Times
Default

Last night when I was posting a new reply, on an attempt to upload few images I got an error -404 you do not have permission to view this. I forgot to take a snapshot. For about two or 3 attempts I got the same error and waiting for a while and refreshing the page I could upload the images.

Also I had noticed that the mobile app performance had come down. I say this as the images are taking quite a while to load, the links when trying to view, get an error- oops refresh page. I'm not sure if I'm the only one facing this issue.
Amarendranath is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving to Gurgaon - Advise on moving my car nurni76 Shifting gears 21 9th March 2012 17:48
Team-BHP PicBadge for your Social Networks! Scorcher Shifting gears 29 15th March 2011 18:11


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:42.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks