| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Ask the Gurus Post your ICE questions here |
![]() |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: faridabad/rourkela
| sealed enclosures are usually easily to design and construct,forgiving minor mistakes in design without major effects on sonic performance.they are usually smaller hence save space.the bass is clean,tight and accurate with good low extention.on the other hand ported enclosures are very efficient,plays louder.they usually need bigger boxes compared to sealed once and have a slight peak around tunning frequency and roll off very quickly. my vote goes to sealed.which one for you all?? |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| BHPian | hi, sealed for me as well. but only with adequate amplification. i have a hertz es380 15" in a sealed enclosure powered by pioneer 944 amp. the sub is quite sensitive so that takes care of the loudness. without adequate amplification i will definitely consider ported. i agree sealed enclosure are forgiving for small errors in volume etc but one has to make sure the enclosure has been sealed properly without any air leaks. you can check if there is any leakage by pressing the cone inwards. if there is no leak the cone will come out instantly and if there is a leak, it will come out slowly. without considering any parameters like amplification etc i would prefer sealed. cheers clip |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | It depends on application, Sub-woofer, Amp power, Space. I would not only stick to Sealed or ported. As I would like to try new design also...but at last I fall for ported when it comes to two choices (sealed or ported).
__________________ 156.6 db, naa....time is coming to cross it...... |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Bombay
| zucchero and LBM, you guys live in the same town. Figures. Kya sealed/ ported ka maamla hai yaar? There are some drivers that just can't produce a flat response with a sealed box. So no choice but ported. Yet some other drivers (more prominent in mobile audio), are comfortable with sealed enclosures. Then, if you have dB Drag aspirations, take a perfectly fine driver, figure out the frequency at which you'll have full summation at the sensor, and make your driver and your port just hammer away at it without any consideration for SQ. Then there are the LBMs, which are unexplainable. So what exactly was your question, Lucky paaji? ![]()
__________________ Operator! Give me the number for 911! |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Sir I'm not too sure how he would react. After all, to desire a moderator is a dangerous thing. But I'll sing it anyways. LBM and Ported on a tree K-I-S-S-I-N-G
__________________ Live the YetiLife® MA-DONNA! MA-DONNA! MA-DONNA! Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 20th August 2007 at 02:13. |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | lol this thread is turning out to be funny now. Anything works for me until and unless it can produce clean bass + shatter some neighborer's windows ![]()
__________________ For every idiot there is an equal and opposite gender idiot. Singles are people with incomparable intelligence! |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| BHPian | Ported for me mate! I am led to believe that at some extremely low Hz...most of the sound comes from the port...not the subs...(source-Kicker sub installation manual)...hence they advice to place the port atleast 10cm from an obstruction... ![]()
__________________ I'm not into exotica & badges, just horsepower & handling! |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Ernakulam, Cochin. It'll soon be at the Deserts!
| Nothing else than sealed for my satisfaction of SQ! Period.
__________________ The squeaking wheel doesn't always get the grease. Sometimes it gets replaced!! |
| | |
![]() |