| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Ask the Gurus Post your ICE questions here |
![]() |
| | #17 (permalink) | |||||||||||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Sep 2005 Location: In the Hood Near You
| Quote:
How well do they last in In-Car conditions? Quote:
And no way I'm going for Finolex as the signal (RCA) cable even if good connectors are there in market. (Saw some MX terminals yesterday. Appeared good.) Please be noted that I'm NOT in mood to unnecessarily save money. Even the expense is worth it, I'll do it. Finolex, Havell etc. Power cables are equally good copper, so there I will save money. But not in signal (RCA) wires/patch cords or speaker wires. Quote:
Components are installed in front. Yet sound is rear heavy. I'm failing to get the connection. Quote:
So 2 x 1way 4" speakers + 2 x 1way 6" speakers? Please let me also know from where you sourced these drivers and what brand? All I can find here is co-axial or 2way speakers, in those sizes. Quote:
Yes, I'll be running a sealed box for sure. Need tight punchy sound. Spec sheets are hardly anything for real world performance. Compare spec sheets of any three 150cc bikes in market. All will have similar specs as regards power, engine, chassis etc. Yet there will be a world of difference when you actually get down to riding them. Quote:
Anyways, when you come to think of it. We are manufacturers ourselves. I know the competence or skill or commitment of an average factory employee. Whether a Punjabi/Haryanvi or Bhaiya labour. Same logic. Whereas Our trips to China have shown even the basic working class to be very motivated and dedicated to work. I've read here about illusions having good reviews, so seriously considering them. But going by same logic I should also be considering JBL, Bull audio. hmmmmm...... Quote:
Manikjeet was continuosly complaining on the way back of a headache. Too much upfront. Too much treble! Quote:
Very tempting for sure! Yes yes. Absolutely! ;-) Quote:
Been using all office time(and getting scolding in process!!) on visiting international forums. Every single person just praises ID subs for their SQ and sometimes SPL. I think I will take SpeedZak's suggestion here, unless I happen to hear something even better. (unlikely though, sitting here in Chandigarh!!)
__________________ For every idiot there is an equal and opposite gender idiot. Singles are people with incomparable intelligence! | |||||||||||
| | |
| | #18 (permalink) |
| BHPian | if you want cheap but good RCA cables, try MX. They're good enough for use at home. no idea how they behave in a car EDIT: oh you've seen them already. I've seen MX selling "monster" cables which looked liked the real deal but was cheaper ![]()
__________________ 2007 Indica DLG My next Truck will be a Safari! Last edited by greenhorn : 11th May 2008 at 15:23. |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) | |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Bombay
| Quote:
![]()
__________________ Operator! Give me the number for 911! | |
| | |
| | #21 (permalink) | |
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Bangalore
| Quote:
![]()
__________________ Never believe it cannot be done - it's only that you haven't found out how!!! | |
| | |
| | #22 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
I don't really relate to anyone passing judgment about any product without seeing/using/experiencing it firsthand and thus the shock at someone saying Milles are not good. Anyways, I don't think we'll be seeing too much mention of Hertz/Audison anymore since nobody knows who will be distributing them and both Gunnu and JB are banned ![]() @abhibh - Go ahead with the Illusions, they're both good and VFM ![]()
__________________ Do not let your morals stop you from doing what is right! | |
| | |
| | #23 (permalink) | |||||
| Team-BHP Moderator ![]() | Quote:
Anyways if you go with wire proof PVC it should do well in in car. Quote:
I bought then 6 years ago with the car. Some Pioneer speakers. I was not into ICE VICE then and just listened to these speakers and found them good. B&T has had an audition of these and his words are "The best 10,000rs system I have ever heard". 10,000 includes HU BTW Quote:
__________________ .--- ..- ... - - .-- --- -- --- .-. . -.. .- -.-- ... - --- --. --- !! | |||||
| | |
| | #24 (permalink) | ||
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
A small topic on the same about subwoofer speed and myths. WOOFER SPEED There's a common misconception out there that heavy woofers must be "slow", and light woofers must be "fast". If a woofer A's moving mass is higher than woofer B's, then woofer A is probably going to be sloppy, or slow and inaccurate. Can't keep up with the bass line. Woofer A simply can't respond as fast as woofer B. There's also this concept that the "acceleration factor" (BL/Mms) is an indicator of woofer speed/transient response. High BL, combined with a low Mms, should give great transient response, right? Well, on surface these might sound like logical assumptions. However, they are in fact incorrect! More to the point, moving mass has precious little to do with woofer speed or signal response! And we'll prove it... For further info checkout the pdf file. WooferSpeed.pdf Quote:
You bring on 160-170 anything the sub will preform anything perfectly. I also had IDMAX but I find GZ better.
__________________ Looks Can Be Deceiving Last edited by tsk1979 : 12th May 2008 at 00:54. | ||
| | |
| | #25 (permalink) | ||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Bombay
| Quote:
You just said that they are mindblowing i.e. very good. Have you heard them? Quote:
__________________ Operator! Give me the number for 911! | ||
| | |
| | #26 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | Abhi dont know how I missed this but after our many chats Iv realized you have been doing some serious research here instead of studying for your exams ![]() Initially I was under the impression you wanted drivers that are a tad bright, which is why I said illusion might not suit your taste. One occasion I had someone comment there was no treble (all settings FLAT) when they auditioned my setup. The finolex/MX combo is good, we hooked up a friends 1.9 Palio and its still going strong after 2 years. Only thing is I overlooked the fuse so its direct from the battery to the amp. For speaker cable we used the wire the installers use for Subwoofers ![]() For my install the reason I went with the Scosche amp kit was because I didnt have the time for DIY so it was convenient and price was competitive also. Wow ID !!!!!!!!! Damping tho lagana hi padega.
__________________ "I’m in no condition to drive…wait! I shouldn’t listen to myself, I’m drunk!" - Homer J. Simpson |
| | |
| | #27 (permalink) | |
| BHPian Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: Bangalore
| Quote:
I have used Teflon coated power wires which can carry 60A current (80Rs/mtr) and its so thin when compared to Finolex or any other with the same current rating i could insert in one of the existing rubber grommet. I have made RCA cable with good quality (i think) wire+MX connector (450Rs for 5mtr+RCA connector) and later brought EFX/Monster RCA cable (500Rs for 5mtr cable) but could not find any difference in quality. | |
| | |
| | #28 (permalink) | |||||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Sep 2005 Location: In the Hood Near You
| Quote:
Anyways, reading your above line, I really must play the same track on idmax also when I audition it, just for kicks. Hehe….. Quote:
While you were busy doing Ur "Crank Dat", I was busy reading whatever forums I could find on car audio. Quote:
Hehe. I hope they live up their reputation as on probably every international forum out there. And even here at our forum ;-) aaho yaar, damping will be there too. Anwyays, Update guys. Exams finished yesterday. So I went to our construction site in Baddi, HP to supervise work there. Met a dude(asst. architect) there. Delhi/Gurgaon number zen. He showed me his system. It had an exad series JVC HU with time alignment. And tell ya what guys, I was TOTALLY blown away buy the sheer midbass. Mazzaa aa gaya. You audio guys keep spoiling my budget LOL. Now dreaming of somehow shoehorning in a Time Alignment wala HU…..
__________________ For every idiot there is an equal and opposite gender idiot. Singles are people with incomparable intelligence! | |||||
| | |
| | #30 (permalink) |
| BHPian Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Buffalo,NY (Hyderabad)
| Hi just a quick question hope you dont mind abhibh... Can u guys recommend a good sub under 10-15k that can play house very well (128-132bpm) well. Actually the cheaper the better ![]() My premier dvc sucks for house. Can only play hip hop and desi :(
__________________ He who has the last laugh ... is the slowest to understand !!! |
| | |
![]() |