| |||||||
| Register | BHP Garage | Classifieds | Team-BHP FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Ask the Gurus Post your ICE questions here |
![]() |
| | #6572 (permalink) | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Quote:
I started saying it on TBHP as a joke, now it's caught on. In the ICE section, it now signifies a "There you go mate, problem sorted" sort of meaning now. I told you we were eccentric.
__________________ Live the YetiLife® | |
| | |
| | #6573 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
dunno whether the above makes any sense, just sounds intuitive to me ![]() | |
| | |
| | #6574 (permalink) | |
OK... let me analyse your post. If the fader shifts towards the rear, the rear speakers get louder. So the "centre of the soundstage" has shifted to the rear. Simple. Not to the front. Similarly, if you shift the balance to the left, the centrestage has also shifted left. Not right. I understand your point. But the rear and front do not have to be equal. The front is important for you, not the rear. As far as the balance is concerned, what you're probably looking for is time alignment. But like I said earlier, keeping the balance in the centre is the norm. Not the law. If YOU like it towards the left, go for it.
| | |
| | #6575 (permalink) | |||||||||
| BHPian | Quote:
![]() I am (of course) not saying that it is any good or something to be inspired from or encouraged, but just stating my views, the way I know it. Quote:
![]() Most of the people using cheapo cell phones or any other gadgets can't even imagine how sophisticated the technology they are using is. They only bother about how much is its cost, and how much will there monthly bill be. They don't pay for the inventors of electricity, ICs or radio waves. Quote:
I seriously think that the "China" part is downplayed by companies due to obvious reason of bad reputation. I wouldn't be surprised if many have sold/still selling the stuff without even passing on the cost benefit to customers. Now that it is becoming more like an open secret, they are promoting this -designed or engineered in "where you would like it to be", but made in China with greatest supervision- philosophy. Quote:
)Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]() | |||||||||
| | |
| | #6576 (permalink) | |
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
I somehow knew that installer guy didn't really know his stuff! I wonder why some people think that: "Max power gains" + "Max bass boost" + Max everything else = ideal setup Anyway, good that you've got things working like you want them. Update from my end: Went for the Illusion Audio EL 6.1 component speakers. Cost roughly the same as the 607c. Let's see how it sounds in my setup. | |
| | |
| | #6577 (permalink) | |
| BHPian | Quote:
Intellectual property - Just look at the Motor bikes and cars, trucks, puckups which come out of China. An exact rip of Japanese models in many cases. | |
| | |
| | #6578 (permalink) | |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Bangalore
| Quote:
That's exactly what China is all about. Of course, there must a few of the first kind who are innovative, quality conscious AND good product oriented - that is a fall-out to be expected in any economy. But, having a government with the right policies does help the people who are disciplined and hard-working. If discipline and hard word are missing (like most public sectors) no govt policy can do anything. I don't think all is lost for India - the manufacturing industry does not even need Govt. support explicitly as in China (I don't think anyone in India would like regulated life in general, salaries in particular - that's one factor that keeps the costs down). We just need a rational "industry >> taxes >> economy >> better infrastructure >> better industry performance >> better economy >> better ..." upward spiral, not taxes for the sake of more taxes.
__________________ Never believe it cannot be done - it's only that you haven't found out how!!! | |
| | |
| | #6579 (permalink) | |
| Quote:
No one expected innovative 'original' products to come out of Indian industry overnight. 'Contract manufacturing' serves as a base for economic growth, which catalyzes original design and innovation. That's exactly what the software industry is about in India - "contract manufacturing", with few, if at all, world standard 'products'. Have we reached the launching pad? You bet we have. But where are the products? Those in the manufacturing sector who have understood this funda are doing well: Sam gave examples, and there are plenty others in the automotive sector. "Contract manufacturing", though it sounds like "service", is actually about making products which are components for others. Do you think we have what it takes to make products? So, anyone wants to set up shop to make edge-wound coils? Cones? Rubber surrounds?
__________________ Never believe it cannot be done - it's only that you haven't found out how!!! | |
| | |
| | #6580 (permalink) | |
Example of usage: Talking to a child, who's bought a cheap plastic doll off the street (made locally) "Yeh kya japani item laaya hai, vaapas kar de" This held true for many years, till the photo industy (Leica, Hasselblad, Rolleiflex and the ilk) were seriously set back by Canon and Nikon and the ilk. After jeering and poking fun at Japanese cars (The word RICE CAR, was not designed to be a compliment) European and American car manufacturers had to shamefacedly accept that Toyota and Honda were here to stay. Japan replaced it's cheap image, with an image of desirable quality. Today, even though it's few and far between, products made in Japan are synonymous with quality.
| | |
| | #6581 (permalink) | |
| Newbie Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: Mumbai
| Quote:
Thanks alot for the response - after a few more days of reading this forum, researching the market and talking to a few more people i stand to be a little more confused than I was when I signed up here!!! I think I am down to 4 choices and would really appreciate the Gurus to step in here and help me with this decision - needless to say one (I) dont buy a car all the time and definitely dont spend 25K on a system so the feedback is highly appreciated.... Choices 1) Blau Hamburg HU (15K) - Reason I like this is it has the inbuilt bluetooth feature as well has AUX out and USB (USB is not so important for me) - This HU with Blau Velocity components in the front and Blau GT in the back Also the Blau HU has a 2yr theft warranty which is good in Mumbai 2) Alpine HU - not sure about model number - but around 10k for the HU with Rockford Fosgate components (5.5K) in the front and Vibe 6x9's (8K) in the back? Alpine sound is supposed to be fab but no bluetooth which i think is a great feature coz i drive about 50k a day! 3) Blau Hamburg HU - with the rockford components in front (5.5K) and Vibe 6x9's in the back - I was suggested by one audio freak that Vibe and other similar Eu brands are fantastic compared to the likes of JBL, Blau etc 4) Blau Hamburg HU with the JBL combo that u suggested Rishabh for the front and the back? Lastly is it truly worthless getting components in the front when you are not powering with an Amp - i dont plan on putting an AMP in my swift but thought the components would still do me a lot of good.... All my research is based on reading this forum and going to as many audio shops i have managed to visit during my time outside of work being completely new to this mad city of Mumbai! Making my decision by middle of next week so would appreciate any GYAN before that... Cheers and once again apologies for the tech handicap! | |
| | |
| | #6583 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Chennai
| I have a feeling that it is always worthwhile bringing the tweeters closer to ear-level, as the higher the frequency the more we are aware of directionality (the reason, of course, why a sub-woofer can go almost anywhere in a room). Getting those high frequencies closer to my ears is something important to me as my hearing chart takes a nasty dip at higher frequencies. By the way... In my early childhood, made in Hong Kong used to be the real killer lable! So much so that, in an early example of spin, many manufacturers changed the lable to Empire Made --- but we still knew what it meant and avoided it if we could! Japanese cars put the British car industry to shame! People came to realise that it was not inevitable that the car wouldn't start on cold/wet/etc days, or that it would rust away in three years. If you'd told a Brit car-company boss, in the 1950s, that you wanted a five year guarantee on the bodywork, he'd have died laughing. Pity that --- his business might have survived if he'd listened! |
| | |
| | #6584 (permalink) |
| Senior - BHPian | A simple question to the GURU's. If someone is is getting a simple ICE setup like HU + 2 compos + 2 6x9 is it necessary to go for AMP wiring KIT or will the default wiring kit will do a good job ?
__________________ tinypic.com/player.php?v=35mo01l&s=4 |
| | |
| | #6585 (permalink) | |
| Quote:
1. A DEAL that you may get would perhaps be more tangible than the fame and standing of the brand, but to many A.S.S. matters 2. After Sales Service (A.S.S.) counts a lot - but is offset by the 'need' factor: if your apparent needs may only be satisfied by a set that cannot come with A.S.S., then you have to go that way 3. Most of the time a combo that gave you goosebumps when you heard it and didn't cause your BP to rise when you heard it's price, overrides any other logic 4. Feature needs are not absolute and can be satisfied by other solutions. Maybe you could do with a good Bluetooth headset for your phone needs, instead of looking for BT in the HU? Then you may have a larger choice of HU models, or maybe get a DVD HU for a comparable price Hence the golden words: LISTEN BEFORE YOU BUY. Saying "A are fantastic compared to the likes of B" would not be right. * If the features and price of Blau Hamburg satisfy your needs, any other HU would be comparable ONLY if it has the same features (and then some), price AND comes with A.S.S. * Same goes for comparing Blau Velocity speakers (or for that matter any other established brand whose sound YOU have heard and liked) versus any other brand that may have apparent 'mystique' (created quite likely by the dealer who is normally not able to sell it but wants to dump it on you) For you, if BT is an absolute must and a BT headset wont do, perhaps the Blau combo is the best (maybe you can get THx ovals at the back instead of GT series), unless you get a comparable deal with B&W and A.S.S. And yes, components would sound better even without an Amp (which you can put in later if you want).
__________________ Never believe it cannot be done - it's only that you haven't found out how!!! Last edited by DerAlte : 15th July 2007 at 18:35. | |
| | |
![]() |