Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd January 2015, 20:09   #121
Senior - BHPian
 
parsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,517
Thanked: 956 Times
Default re: About the Pioneer IP BUS Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
Can this cable be used to get the AUX function?
Absolutely you can if your HU supports AUX. I have similar setup with 2DIN Cassette HU still working perfectly.

Quote:
I have few queries,
1) "AUX" is not displayed in HU when the SRC (Source) button is pressed repeatedly
2) Will inserting this cable trigger the AUX function and display "AUX" in HU?
3) Thinking of DIY. Found this pin configuration. Connecting an AUX cable to these 4 pins will work or the actual IP BUS cable to be used?
1) As already said, needs to be enabled in setup.
2) No.
Turn off HU play pressing Source for sometime until demo mode display appears.
Go into Function and click until you see AUX.
Enable it by the dial press up/down as the case maybe for your HU.
3) You have a nice ready-made cable as is required. Don't bother to unnecessarily go into DIY mode.

If in doubt just search for the function usage in user manual of your HU.

There are old thread on the same,
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...ll-splice.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...-y-thread.html

Last edited by parsh : 22nd January 2015 at 20:15.
parsh is offline   (3) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2015, 20:57   #122
Distinguished - BHPian
 
paragsachania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belur/Bangalore
Posts: 4,241
Thanked: 10,492 Times
Default re: About the Pioneer IP BUS Cable

I had successfully done a DIY Aux Input Adapter for my WagonR few years before on the Pioneer Head Unit that had Aux functionality but only if you buy and connected the Adapter.

You can refer to the detailed pics here.

With most of the systems coming with AUX and USB as basic functionality, the Aux Adapter itself may have become costlier today (was costing 650/- way back in 2010).

Get hold of old motherboard front panel pins, cut them and use them to connect to the tiny pins at the rear of the Head-Unit. It fits perfectly.

Here is the sample -

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-aux-diy.jpg

Note: As Jaggu mentions, the Head Unit needs to support Aux. You may not be able to find "AUX" as a source when you toggle that Source button. For enabling this (Or even to find if this functionality is available without really pulling out the head unit) you can turn off the HU and with the car key in ACC position, long press on FUNCTION button will lead you to the main set-up screen. Navigating here will then take you to AUX that you can Turn ON/OFF.

Once this is turned ON, you can simply turn the Head Unit on and quickly verify if the Source now displays AUX as an option.

Last edited by paragsachania : 22nd January 2015 at 21:20.
paragsachania is online now   (4) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2015, 21:20   #123
Senior - BHPian
 
Mr.Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,942
Thanked: 2,396 Times
Default re: About the Pioneer IP BUS Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by parsh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
I had successfully done a DIY Aux Input Adapter for my WagonR few years before
this post.

Get hold of old motherboard front panel pins, cut them and use them to connect to the tiny pins at the rear of the Head-Unit. It fits perfectly.
Thank you both for the links and explanation. It is really useful for me to proceed ahead. I will check if the HU has AUX function by tomorrow and update you guys. Thanks again.
Mr.Boss is online now   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2015, 09:58   #124
Senior - BHPian
 
Mr.Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,942
Thanked: 2,396 Times
Default re: About the Pioneer IP BUS Cable

Thank you guys, with your support and guidance I managed to enable the "AUX" function . Now I will look for a suitable connector / pin and make the AUX cable (DIY)
Attached Thumbnails
On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-img_8354.jpg  

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-img_8355.jpg  

Mr.Boss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2015, 10:45   #125
Senior - BHPian
 
parsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,517
Thanked: 956 Times
Default re: About the Pioneer IP BUS Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
Thank you guys, with your support and guidance I managed to enable the "AUX" function . Now I will look for a suitable connector / pin and make the AUX cable (DIY)
Great.

I thought, you already got hold of that IP-BUS AUX cable.

Unless you are keen and WANT to do DIY, suggest you find the ready connector cable. It is clean work and hardly Rs 300/- as I had bought. If not, the car audio/repair shops make one for you for similar price with the IP-BUS adapter.

Image of cable from our forum only.


All you need is this cable and the AUX extender cable to lead to wherever. Just a neat and clean solution. But if you are hung on DIY, you will enjoy too
parsh is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2015, 11:14   #126
Senior - BHPian
 
Mr.Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,942
Thanked: 2,396 Times
Default re: About the Pioneer IP BUS Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by parsh View Post
Unless you are keen and WANT to do DIY, suggest you find the ready connector cable. It is clean work and hardly Rs 300/- as I had bought.
300 INR Was that bought on-line? If so, please do share the source.

I couldn't find anything less than 1.6k INR in eBay.in. Also my luck decided to go against me with the local accessories shop (at least the few I visited) as none of them had this cable. DIY is always a fun and every simple ones always teach me something new, that's why ended up with the thought of DIY (If I could find a cheaper source readily available, I will stick to that)
Mr.Boss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2015, 11:21   #127
Distinguished - BHPian
 
paragsachania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belur/Bangalore
Posts: 4,241
Thanked: 10,492 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
300 INR Was that bought on-line? If so, please do share the source.

I couldn't find anything less than 1.6k INR in eBay.in. Also my luck decided to go against me with the local accessories shop (at least the few I visited) as none of them had this cable. DIY is always a fun and every simple ones always teach me something new, that's why ended up with the thought of DIY (If I could find a cheaper source readily available, I will stick to that)
If you manage to get hold of Motherboard front panel connector pins (4 No's), the DIY will cost less than 50 bucks!!

Oh, not that am helping you save money here . The DIY itself is very easy.
paragsachania is online now   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2015, 11:26   #128
Senior - BHPian
 
parsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,517
Thanked: 956 Times
Default re: About the Pioneer IP BUS Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
300 INR Was that bought on-line? If so, please do share the source.

I couldn't find anything less than 1.6k INR in eBay.in. Also my luck decided to go against me with the local accessories shop (at least the few I visited) as none of them had this cable. DIY is always a fun and every simple ones always teach me something new, that's why ended up with the thought of DIY (If I could find a cheaper source readily available, I will stick to that)
No. I got that exact same cable for Rs. 300/- at an Auto Accessories shop here in Sion, Mumbai. Got an extender cable and it was just plug and play. Also, the Auto HU repairs shops were ready to make one for similar price. But since I got it readily, didn't bother. Otherwise, I had all the computer connectors ready to start DIY.
parsh is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2015, 09:03   #129
Senior - BHPian
 
Mr.Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,942
Thanked: 2,396 Times
Default Re: On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable

Thank you guys, I managed to make the IP BUS Cable DIY and installed successfully in the car last night. I will post the snaps ASAP.
Mr.Boss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2015, 21:23   #130
Senior - BHPian
 
Mr.Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,942
Thanked: 2,396 Times
Default Re: On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
I will post the snaps ASAP.
Snaps as promised

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-1.jpg

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-2.jpg

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-4.jpg

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-5.jpg

Name:  11.jpg
Views: 1573
Size:  31.6 KB

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-12.jpg

On the Pioneer IP Bus Cable-13.jpg
Mr.Boss is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A bus query: Where to board bus for Calicut at Bangalore Bigzero Route / Travel Queries 14 25th July 2010 23:03
Need a Pioneer AUX cable for iPod.... normally_crazy In-Car Entertainment 18 19th March 2010 13:10
How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP? abhipuru16 In-Car Entertainment 36 14th February 2010 02:38
Sony Unilink cable (bus audio cable) issue philipreji In-Car Entertainment 1 3rd January 2009 16:32
Bus Stand in K.R. Puram for Bang-Chennai bus through Cittoor mjothi Route / Travel Queries 2 20th March 2008 10:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks