Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th February 2006, 18:27   #46
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
the only advnatage is that a voltage amp can dump more current and deliver higher watts.
Wonder why Navin does not quote power in BHPs
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 21:49   #47
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
the only advnatage is that a voltage amp can dump more current and deliver higher watts.

yeah......but i liked the idea when i read spk's spec as lowering resistance will give more power.
In my case,amp gives 110 @ 2ohms @14.4voltage which is just too much.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 09:52   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr
yeah......but i liked the idea when i read spk's spec as lowering resistance will give more power.
In my case,amp gives 110 @ 2ohms @14.4voltage which is just too much.
With Image Dynamics we have an option of ordering 2 or 4 ohm speakers, subs etc. But on most mid-fi amps, using 2 ohm speakers reduces headroom and increases distortion levels.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2006, 11:15   #49
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

totally agreed gunbir. vrey few amps can operate as well at 2 ohms as they do at 4 ohms.

I am still FPS so I treat 746W as 1 HP. Now would you understand 0.13HP or 100W?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2006, 19:23   #50
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 41
Thanked: 0 Times
Question hey heard of cepasitor's...!! help me out!!!

hey guyz!!

u all r helpin me out in all my problem's.

1 new prob.. i havn't heard of capasitors...

some one told me to install it in my car..??

please tell me what is it's advantage nd how much it cost's
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2006, 19:26   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
autopsyche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 1,516
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Oh boy, i just read in the other threading you were comparing your install to the skoda's and you are saying that you dont have a capacitor? Anyways, a cap is to maintain battery current. The experts will give you an indepth detail about the functioning of one, but yeah if you are planning to run a lot of heavy equipment which drinks a lot of juice from the battery you would definitely need one.
autopsyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2006, 23:59   #52
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: new delhi
Posts: 41
Thanked: 0 Times
Question

hey thanx!!

bt how much would it cost ..??

nd how many should i install...?
as i got 3-sub's...
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 00:23   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

busted get seroius with the amp u r using u r not gonna need one. Upgrade ur amps if u wanna put a capacitor. Any ways thumb rule is 1000 watts put one 1 farad cap. ( correct me if i am wrong).
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 00:23   #54
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

A capacitor will store energy. Your audio equipment has a lot of current readily available in the capacitor to blast away. In other words, you will get better transient attacks from your system, particularly the lower frequencies. But a capacitor is not always a necessity.
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 03:16   #55
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by busted
i havn't heard of capasitors...

some one told me to install it in my car..??

please tell me what is it's advantage nd how much it cost's
Nah man... I'm sure you dont need one... After all your system already plays better than some of the most high end systems around. A better use of that money would be a much needed visit to the otologist...
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 04:49   #56
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Threads Merged

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 16:20   #57
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
totally agreed gunbir. vrey few amps can operate as well at 2 ohms as they do at 4 ohms.
Duuuuuuuuude! You gotta agree with Gunbir. After all you take damping and headroom to the next level by driving 4-ohm speakers off the bridged outputs of amps!
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2006, 18:20   #58
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble
Duuuuuuuuude! You gotta agree with Gunbir. After all you take damping and headroom to the next level by driving 4-ohm speakers off the bridged outputs of amps!
B&T
You crack me up...
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 10:26   #59
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble
Duuuuuuuuude! You gotta agree with Gunbir. After all you take damping and headroom to the next level by driving 4-ohm speakers off the bridged outputs of amps!
but the amp is a decent amp and can handle 2 ohms loads quite easily. I quick-tested the amp's 2 ohm current dumping ability before doing this. the velocity was something I had lying around.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capacitor? Need to stabilize voltage Ford Rocam Technical Stuff 38 7th May 2014 14:28
Power capacitor, anyone? clevermax In-Car Entertainment 5 29th March 2008 00:04
Is it better to add a Capacitor or a Secondary battery? j_j In-Car Entertainment 7 3rd August 2007 17:22
Need Help With Car Audio Capacitor passion4cars In-Car Entertainment 10 4th July 2006 10:40
how to decide capacitor?? amit_sound In-Car Entertainment 2 28th June 2006 12:24


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:03.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks