Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st March 2006, 13:15   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default Connecting 2 amps to a HU. Impossible??

Hi ICEmen,

After deciding to combine two cars' ICE setup and plonk it in a single car(ikon).
I'm facing this difficulty:

My plan:
HU: Pio 6750
Front spk: Stock(from ford)
Rear spk : Pio 6990 (on MDF parcel tray)
Sub 1: Pio 305F (on MDF parcel tray)-powered by Sony xplod 502 amp
Sub 2: Pio 305C (in MDF Enclosure)- powered by pio 6000F amp

The 6990s are also powered by the 6000F amp

My installer said its impossible to jointly use 2 amps without an equalizer.So, this is the current config.

Everything as said above, except:

Sub 1, Sub2 and 6990s are all powered by a single 6000F amp. :(

Is it possible to connect 2 amps to an HU so that i can configure the setup as per my plan mentioned above. If so, how??

Thx in advance
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 13:22   #2
BHPian
 
rareone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 256
Thanked: 11 Times
Post Facing The Same Problem

Hi,

This is my request to allthe audio guru's here.

Please help us and guide how 2 connect 2 Amps to a Single HU.

Right now the audio guy in my area has doubled the RC Cable to give audio input 2 the amps.

Wud like 2 knw is the setup right for proper sound output, or is there any other method.

Please Guide

Thanx
rareone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 13:35   #3
BHPian
 
prince85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 967
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

nitrous as far as my knowledge tells me is that to connect 2 amplifiers (4ch and 2ch or monoblock) u need to have 3 pairs of rca pre-outs. The pioneer 6750 has 2 pairs of pre-outs which will at best work with a 4 ch amp or two 2ch amps.

I would suggest you to exchange your head-unit for one which has 3 pairs of rca pre-outs ie pioneer 5750, 7750, P1Y etc.

I am sure the audio gurus like sam, gunbir, audiophile, navin, jkdas and others will chip in their views .

Hope it helps. Cheers.
prince85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 13:49   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous
Hi ICEmen,
My plan:
HU: Pio 6750
Front spk: Stock(from ford)
Rear spk : Pio 6990 (on MDF parcel tray)
Sub 1: Pio 305F (on MDF parcel tray)-powered by Sony xplod 502 amp
Sub 2: Pio 305C (in MDF Enclosure)- powered by pio 6000F amp
The 6990s are also powered by the 6000F amp
Sub 1, Sub2 and 6990s are all powered by a single 6000F amp. :(
you can connect 2 amps all you need is a Y connector. However make sure this connector is laid out where there are no power cables as you can introduce alternaor noise very easily.

HU Front------> front speakers
Rear ------> 6000F --------> 6990
Sub -------> Y connector ------> 6000F --------> 305C
_______________________------> 502F --------> 305F

OR

HU Front------> front speakers
Rear ------> Y connector ------> 6000F --------> 6990 and 305C
_______________________------> 502F --------> 305F

In the second option the 6000F must have LPF engaged for channels used for the 305C.

If the 6000F has a fullrange out that can be used to feed the 502 and then you dont need the connector.

Last edited by navin : 1st March 2006 at 13:53.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 13:59   #5
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,821
Thanked: 28 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Like navin said a Y connector is all u need .. Should be available at prices ranging from 350 - 600 depending on the make ..
mclaren1885 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 14:31   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,966
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Thanks, guys.
My installer says there is provision for just a single front/rear RCA output and a Sub output only.

I have a feeling there are 3 pairs.One for the front, rear and Sub.
Can anyone confirm??
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 16:36   #7
BHPian
 
prince85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 967
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

pioneer 6750 has 2 pairs of pre-outs
prince85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 17:00   #8
BHPian
 
rareone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 256
Thanked: 11 Times
Thumbs up

Thanx for the details of previous query.

Can anyone suggest which one is the best pioneer HU when i have

2 Sony 504 Amps + Sony Rear Speakers (4way i think) + 2 SOny 12" Subs,
with Pioneer Tweeter & Sony Front Speakers.

Wud b glad for suggestion & idea's.

Thanx a lot
rareone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2006, 17:23   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

rareone, the HU can be any that fits your budget, aesthetics, and sound.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uber needs a Hotline number! Driver has a heart attack and it's impossible to reach them afunnynut Street Experiences 58 10th June 2016 12:36
My Racing Journey - Chasing the impossible dream goingout Motor-Sports 17 8th February 2015 08:03
Ex Army MM 550 - "It's tough, but not impossible" 4x4army 4x4 Vehicles 180 24th April 2014 17:00
Namma Bengaluru Recreated in Vancouver - Mission Impossible PAVAN KADAM Shifting gears 12 15th June 2011 22:46
Pandit claims Registration impossible w/o permanent address proof EssYouWe Indian Car Dealerships 20 23rd September 2009 10:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks