Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th March 2006, 21:41   #16
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

karthiks boombox !
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2006, 22:33   #17
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default



His setup. Pio 944 powers teh sub. One pair of channel for one 4ohm coil.

Cant he feed teh subs each coil with 250W in bridged mode ?

Amp specs:
Bridgeable 4-channel capability 4 x 150 W or 2 x 500 W
or 2 x 150 W + 1 x 500 W (max. power)
• Continuous output power (14.4 V):
4 x 75 W (20-20 kHz/4 ohms)
4 x 125 W (20-20 kHz/2 ohms)
2 x 250 W (Bridged 4 ohms) ----------------> what i said
• 4 x 115 W or 2 x 360 W (DIN45324, +B=14.4 V)

I guess the old installer didnt tune or use any LP filters and hence he wasnt happy with teh amp/sub setup

Also, what do you think abt his boom box? Dump it and then do teh wiring as I said above? The pic shows his sub in a skoda boot! So imagine the box size.

Last edited by jkdas : 19th March 2006 at 22:34.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 10:04   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Geez, Sam those pics are huge. Can we make them so we dont have to scroll horizontally.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 10:08   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
Amp specs:
4 x 75 W (20-20 kHz/4 ohms)
4 x 125 W (20-20 kHz/2 ohms)
2 x 250 W (Bridged 4 ohms)
Also, what do you think abt his boom box? Dump it and then do teh wiring as I said above? The pic shows his sub in a skoda boot! So imagine the box size.
whit 2 coils in parallel he'd get a 2ohm sub and i am not sure if teh 944 can handle 2 ohms in bridge mode. if it could it would have a 1 ohm (4 ch.) 2 ohm (2 ch.) rating. If an amp can handle 1-2 ohms manufactures are pretty proud and would not hesitate to state that fact.

what he can do is put the 2 coils in series. that would give him 8 ohms but that would give him about the same SPL as he is getting now.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 20:19   #20
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
whit 2 coils in parallel he'd get a 2ohm sub and i am not sure if teh 944 can handle 2 ohms in bridge mode. if it could it would have a 1 ohm (4 ch.) 2 ohm (2 ch.) rating. If an amp can handle 1-2 ohms manufactures are pretty proud and would not hesitate to state that fact.

what he can do is put the 2 coils in series. that would give him 8 ohms but that would give him about the same SPL as he is getting now.
No Navin you got me wrong. The amp specs says it can deliver 250 X 2 at 4ohms in bridged mode. CAnt I use this to power each of teh coil pair individually?

note:944 dont support 2ohm bridged setup and hence I can connect the coils in parallel as you had guessed
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 20:22   #21
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
karthiks boombox !
And I have to dump this box? CAn someoen give me the best box specs for this sub?

I forgot to add. The box is empty. Nothing inside it except teh sub. and two holes in the front.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2006, 21:07   #22
BHPian
 
Autophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 930
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

JK tell Karthik to go for sealed box. If he wants ported then he should use port tubes with correct diameter and length. Ported sub only sounds good by using right spec ports. Not by making two holes in the box.
Autophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 10:17   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Guys..i've got a new enclosure made according to the size given in the Pioneer website. So now have one doubt..
I'm plannin to run the sub with the 944 for now. So JK told me that i can bridge the channels frm the amp and make it a 2ch and use it for the sub alone and the rear speakers will be connected to the HU until i get a small amp for the speakers.

Now the guy who doz the installation work said thats not possible cuz we can bridge only 2channels and the other two can be used for the rear speakers. So guys what do u say??
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 12:12   #24
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

I think you can bridge the 944 from a 4 ch amp to a 2 ch. amp. then use each of these 2 channels to drive 1 4 ohm coil. I dont think the 944 is stable at 2 ohms in bridge mode.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 13:10   #25
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
I think you can bridge the 944 from a 4 ch amp to a 2 ch. amp. then use each of these 2 channels to drive 1 4 ohm coil. I dont think the 944 is stable at 2 ohms in bridge mode.
My idea; Bridge two channel to one ----> you get 250W X 1 @ 4 ohm

So you have 2 X 250W to power both coils. Thsi way it almost like you have 500W powering teh sub.



comments awaited. Connection to be done by eve today or tomorrow.

condition: Want max boom. Cant change amp or sub now to a better one.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 13:28   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Seal The Open Holes In The Box And See The Diff U Might Not Need To Change Any Thing. Also While U Wire U Sub To Each Channel To The Sub Check The Output Of The Amp Of Both Channel Should Be Identical. For This Play A Sine Wave Of 70 Hz And Check The Voltage With A Multimeter At Both The Channel They Should Be Equal Or Else The Sub With Not Achive Full Power. To Adjust The Output Adjust The Gain Of The Amp

Ur Box Size Is Very Large Can U Give Me The Outside Dimm Of The Box I Am Curious About The Size.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 13:34   #27
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
Seal The Open Holes In The Box And See The Diff U Might Not Need To Change Any Thing. Also While U Wire U Sub To Each Channel To The Sub Check The Output Of The Amp Of Both Channel Should Be Identical. For This Play A Sine Wave Of 70 Hz And Check The Voltage With A Multimeter At Both The Channel They Should Be Equal Or Else The Sub With Not Achive Full Power. To Adjust The Output Adjust The Gain Of The Amp

Ur Box Size Is Very Large Can U Give Me The Outside Dimm Of The Box I Am Curious About The Size.
I will see taht the above checking is done. But, I cant get a sine wave; can you suggest anoterh way? Would playing a nice song do?

The box was dumped yesterday! He gave an order for a new box which would be made according to Pioneer website specs.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 15:07   #28
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

This Pio woofer likes a big box. Also given it's low sensitivity and the user's requirement for BOOM a bit of underdamping will help.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 18:36   #29
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,453 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
My idea; Bridge two channel to one ----> you get 250W X 1 @ 4 ohm

So you have 2 X 250W to power both coils. Thsi way it almost like you have 500W powering teh sub.



comments awaited. Connection to be done by eve today or tomorrow.
Connection wise this seems to be ok. Loads of power going to the sub though... I'd be a bit careful with that.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 18:57   #30
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Sam the Pio sub has a 45mm Xmax 22mm is linear!
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICE upgrade in my Skoda Fabia smally In-Car Entertainment 9 21st November 2015 21:07
ICE ICE baby. Punto"ICE"fied Soccerfan In-Car Entertainment 45 10th March 2012 21:40
ICE ICE Baby!!!!!!!!(Swift ICE) scarlet.fever In-Car Entertainment 21 23rd September 2009 20:25
To upgrade or not to upgrade? Steeroid Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 22 20th June 2007 19:13
Help with a Skoda ICE upgrade nanu28 In-Car Entertainment 19 7th March 2007 13:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:29.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks