Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd March 2006, 21:28   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

So finally got the connection done like JK said today. Hope its like this...



The blue wires go to one coil and the other one goes to the 2nd coil.



THe rear speakers are connected to the HU. Now one thing is..there is a small selector on the amp which is used to select 2ch or 4ch. Right now its put in 2ch, so shold i be like that or should i change it to 4ch??

Last edited by karthik247 : 22nd March 2006 at 21:29.
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 22:19   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karthik247
So finally got the connection done like JK said today. Hope its like this...

The blue wires go to one coil and the other one goes to the 2nd coil.

THe rear speakers are connected to the HU. Now one thing is..there is a small selector on the amp which is used to select 2ch or 4ch. Right now its put in 2ch, so shold i be like that or should i change it to 4ch??
JKD / Karthik

Yup... you CAN run your sub like this... However, just ensure the following:

1. Both coils of the sub are getting the same mono signal.
2. Both coils of the sub are getting the same power. Measure with DMM to ensure and set gains accordingly

If you dont ensure the above, you may permanently damage your sub.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 22:34   #33
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

I dont think he is feeding a mono signal to the sub. i think he is running the sub in stereo. however as long as the gains are properly set i think he will be ok. i have see many DVC subs being used this way. Left channel on one coil nad right channel on the other.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 23:17   #34
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir
JKD / Karthik

Yup... you CAN run your sub like this... However, just ensure the following:

1. Both coils of the sub are getting the same mono signal.
2. Both coils of the sub are getting the same power. Measure with DMM to ensure and set gains accordingly

If you dont ensure the above, you may permanently damage your sub.
1. How to check?
2. DMM? what?, can I use ammeter for this?

and Navin, he has used the mono out from the HU and its connected to mono in of the amp. And its in 2 channel mode.

I hope the polarity etc was connected in teh right matter.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2006, 23:31   #35
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

His HU has a mono out? ok. Good. for the signal level you can use any old DMM in RMS mode. My Fluke has something jsut for this. Remember we have to be close not exact.

Well I could not see polarity on the photo. but you can double check the polairty of the subs using a 1.5V battery so that the +ve wire coming for the speaker is really so.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICE upgrade in my Skoda Fabia smally In-Car Entertainment 9 21st November 2015 21:07
ICE ICE baby. Punto"ICE"fied Soccerfan In-Car Entertainment 45 10th March 2012 21:40
ICE ICE Baby!!!!!!!!(Swift ICE) scarlet.fever In-Car Entertainment 21 23rd September 2009 20:25
To upgrade or not to upgrade? Steeroid Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 22 20th June 2007 19:13
Help with a Skoda ICE upgrade nanu28 In-Car Entertainment 19 7th March 2007 13:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks