Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th April 2012, 19:24   #1
BHPian
 
HimuraKenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai/London
Posts: 246
Thanked: 183 Times
Default DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier

Hello again guys,
My exams are in 2 weeks and i am doing some DIY stuff :P
Sooo, i was ogling at some install on team bhp, I saw Frank mehtas old esteem setup with the rockford foosgate amp with a nifty little remote to increase or decrease the bass depending on the song playing or probably to switch between SQL to SPL :P
But i haz no money for expensive class D amps that come with their own bass remote with RJ45 connectors.
But companies are always out there for cheap people like me. I eneded up purchasing a scosche remote level controler from ebay usa. it got delivered with 2 weeks.
So today afternoon while i was studying about direct marketing strategies, this comes in, and this is what i do.
Do comment, give feedback, make fun of me and enjoy :P
Attached Thumbnails
DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400320.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400321.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400322.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400323.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400325.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400328.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400329.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400331.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400332.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400333.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400335.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400336.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400337.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400339.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400340.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400344.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400347.jpg  

DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier-img2012040400349.jpg  

Attached Images
 
HimuraKenshin is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 08:38   #2
BHPian
 
HimuraKenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai/London
Posts: 246
Thanked: 183 Times
Default Re: DIY: adding a remote level control/ bass remote to your amplifier

UPDATE guys: got a better quality RCA patch cable, though i dont here any audible difference
HimuraKenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 12:35   #3
BHPian
 
racer_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 247
Thanked: 142 Times
Default Re: DIY: adding a remote level control/ bass remote to your amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
UPDATE guys: got a better quality RCA patch cable, though i dont here any audible difference
Any pointers for those who do not have a Sub Pre out.
My HU regular output wires are tapped and fed into the Amps input.
racer_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 13:14   #4
BHPian
 
HimuraKenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai/London
Posts: 246
Thanked: 183 Times
Default Re: DIY: adding a remote level control/ bass remote to your amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer_m View Post
Any pointers for those who do not have a Sub Pre out.
My HU regular output wires are tapped and fed into the Amps input.
If you are using the regular pre out and thne the LPF on the amp, you can add the remote level control to the regular pre out itself..
HimuraKenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 13:58   #5
BHPian
 
racer_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 247
Thanked: 142 Times
Default Re: DIY: adding a remote level control/ bass remote to your amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
If you are using the regular pre out and thne the LPF on the amp, you can add the remote level control to the regular pre out itself..
Ok thats cool. But it means I have to cut out the RCA cables and join the bare wires to it.
Where did you order it from? Amazon?
racer_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 14:09   #6
BHPian
 
HimuraKenshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai/London
Posts: 246
Thanked: 183 Times
Default Re: DIY: adding a remote level control/ bass remote to your amplifier

oh wait, did you mean high level outputs?
i dont know what is to be done then...
i ordered it from Ebay..
HimuraKenshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2012, 14:16   #7
BHPian
 
racer_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 247
Thanked: 142 Times
Default Re: DIY: adding a remote level control/ bass remote to your amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
oh wait, did you mean high level outputs?
i dont know what is to be done then...
i ordered it from Ebay..
Yes for us folks with no Pre puts, the installer splices a pair of High Level Outputs from the HU back panel.
My Poineer amp has built in support for HU HighLevelOut with LPF. the amp is the only place where I fiddle with the gain and output settings which is very inconvenient to reach
racer_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 00:19   #8
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default Re: DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier

This is a nice Hack to control the Bass Level using a separate Jog dial kind button, However I use shortcut for JVC 526, If you long press the "EQ" button, you get to the sub-woofer level control directly instead of going thru long menu navigation.

I am sure similar Subwoofer control must be present in other HU's too, this can be a good D.I.Y. project but a newbie can easily blow his HU, amp if the cut wires are not properly secured.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2012, 16:59   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default Re: DIY: Adding a Remote level control/ Bass remote to your Amplifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghpk View Post
... using a separate Jog dial kind button ... this can be a good D.I.Y. project but a newbie can easily blow his HU ...
Not a Jog Dial, not a button either. This uses a plain old potentiometer to reduce/increase the signal fed to the sub amp. Input from HU Pre-out, Output to Sub amp. Plain and simple.

Nothing will blow, neither the HU nor the amp, if one of the wires connects to 12V or ground. If the system is on, one will hear a very uncomfortable THUMP at the most when that happens.
DerAlte is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EcoSport DIY: Open the trunk via remote control (For non-keyless entry models) bageherath DIY - Do it yourself 4 31st December 2014 18:23
DIY - Now Add USB Support to your Old Head Unit/Amplifier ghpk In-Car Entertainment 76 6th June 2012 23:50
Cool trick : How to check if your remote control is working! svsantosh Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 27th January 2012 00:05
A Device that can control all my gadgets / Universal Remote Control a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 24th August 2011 11:10
DIY: Testing/Measuring the true power output of your Amplifier. cvc2145 In-Car Entertainment 6 21st December 2009 05:37


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks