Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th April 2006, 02:03   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default HU ---> Sound

hi, was wondering if u have good amp, good speakers and good sub....in short a good set-up, what role has HU to play? i mean its basically the amp that amplifies, so a HU with 20W X 4 or 40W X 4 should normally produce the same O/put when connected to same amp. any inputs?
panky12345 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 11:36   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

The HU offrers a stable platform for the CD and laser mechanisims and manages teh singal till it converted into a analog signal. Not all HUs sound alike. if you are using an external amplifier the internal amp in your Hu can be disabled or ignored.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 11:43   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Lets just say, that you could have the best amps, components and subwoofers, but if you had a head unit that sounded bad, all the various speakers and amplifiers would only further amplify all the bad sound. GIGO - garbage in, garbage out.
A good HU can change the way you listen to music. And the difference is not small, it's bloody HUGE. Lets say you have a cheap HU from say, Pioneer or JVC or sony or whatever.
You keep the exact same rear end setup and replace with say, a top end Alpine, or an Eclipse.
The sound tonality and quality changes completely. Full zameen-aasman. And this has little to do with the voltage of the preout. No i am talking of the quality of the sound.
Thats as good a non-techie explanation I can give. Baaki toh Navin zindabad.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 11:59   #4
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Hey come on ... "A good setup" includes the HU too. Crossovers, EQs and DSPs are found in most of the HUs now and do contribute to ur good setup.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 12:15   #5
BHPian
 
souravbasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 74
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345
hi, was wondering if u have good amp, good speakers and good sub....in short a good set-up, what role has HU to play? i mean its basically the amp that amplifies, so a HU with 20W X 4 or 40W X 4 should normally produce the same O/put when connected to same amp. any inputs?
In many of the postings related to budget ICE systems I have found that cost of the HU alone is (approx) half of the total cost of the entire system. This is true in my case also.

This would indicate the importance of HU in your ICE Setup.
souravbasu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 12:22   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

GO for a good HU it will also offer good features also but they are made of better componets than the lower models. Rest the amp built in the HU are rarely used in a good ICE setup. So dont go for HU amp output.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 19:29   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Sourav, in the case of budget ICE systems the HU is also the amp. so in that case 50% of the money goes for the speakers and 50% for the Hu AND amp.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2006, 20:19   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,367
Thanked: 22,586 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
The sound tonality and quality changes completely. Full zameen-aasman. And this has little to do with the voltage of the preout. No i am talking of the quality of the sound.
Hey Sam,
Does this make such a big difference even if you are bypassing the HU amp and using an extrernal amp?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 00:07   #9
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

Having a good digital to analog converter is important. For example, the higher priced Pioneer have Burr Brown op amps, which are obviously more high end than the ordinary DACs.
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 10:11   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,367
Thanked: 22,586 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivekphadnis
Having a good digital to analog converter is important. For example, the higher priced Pioneer have Burr Brown op amps, which are obviously more high end than the ordinary DACs.
Ahh... thanks Vivek.
I didnt think of the quality of the DAC! Makes sense.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 10:55   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Vivek, there are a few grades of Burr Brown. Atleast 2 I know of. I have manged to lay my hands on a pair of MIL spec ones but have not had the time to use them. someday I hope to upgrade my 63Ki with them. he he.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 13:33   #12
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

But I suppose the higher-end ones will not be available freely in the market. Will they?
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2006, 13:37   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Sadly you are correct. I got these some time back from the US.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 00:43   #14
BHPian
 
nrajeshkumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 63
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Some one please tell me what are the Alpine & Eclipse models available in india
nrajeshkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2006, 00:47   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrajeshkumar
Some one please tell me what are the Alpine & Eclipse models available in india
There are no models of Eclipse available in India as Eclipse isnt available officially OR in the grey market.

As for Alpine, search around... I remember posting this a while back with prices...
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audi's Sound Concept cabin defines auditory excess: 62 speaker surround-sound ! dar3dev|l In-Car Entertainment 10 22nd June 2010 15:23
Sound from Engine Bay of Swift VDI (DDIS) - what would be the cause of this sound? DieselFan Technical Stuff 4 25th January 2008 18:31
Cant afford a Turbo? Buy JUST the sound GTO Modifications & Accessories 15 7th January 2006 17:03
My Vtec's Sound system! GTO In-Car Entertainment 55 12th February 2005 22:36
wanna know how the ENZO, F50, F40, 280 sound _Crazi4Speed_ The International Automotive Scene 0 6th July 2004 12:56


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks