Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th May 2006, 17:42   #91
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
As u can see the max current draw of the amp is 149 amps. And the internal fuse is 150 amps. So the max current draw by the amp is lower than the fuse supplied in the amp by the company.

So gunbir what I said earlier was right according to me and ur audison company. So please without any fight please clear me up about the differences between ur and mine calculation about the current rating. So Please Help me
LBM I am glad you're doing your research in the right places. Yes, you are right in theory. But the fact is the products being manufactured by mainstream companies are not always made with the high standards that Audison has. Audison is a very respected manufacturer due the this very fact.

Over the years, we have seen things like undersized external fuses. And thats exactly whats happening in your scenario. Your funda is correct, but you are not accounting for mfr error. Yes it happens everywhere, mfrs screw up!! Even big companies make mistakes. Cars are recalled, tyres have malfunctions, this is our world.

Thats why we dont rely on the amp fuse funda too much. Sometimes the amp has additional internal fuses that you cant see. So while we take it into consideration, it is not the only parameter we use to make a system design decision. Rather, we prefer to rely on our calculations (wherein we try and keep ample headroom), experience and in case of specs only from mfrs we trust. When Audison states the fuse / amperage consumtion funda, they mean you apply it to their amps alone. They are not responsible for the rest of the industry, members of which may make mistakes.

To give you an example, based on your post for the Pioneer 3000SPL amp... while the amp consumes 42A at cont power at 4ohms which is clearly specified at 500w cont output @ 4ohms, it has a 100A fuse. So while it only consumes 42A at 500w, it consumes more than double that at 2Ohms. So has alpine created a unique Class D amp that can put out even more than 1000w with 20% less consumption. The answer is NO.

LBM, I am telling you again that while most people will be able to run a 700w amp comfortably on this 600w kit, you like to turn up your system, and I am 120% sure your Alpines consume more than 80A at cont rated power into 2ohms. The kit parts (apart from the cable) like fuseholder are designed for a maximum of 600w. Thats why a respected mfr like Audison calls it a 600w kit. Moreover like you have pointed out, Audison recommends you design the cabling etc with 10% added to the fuse totals. That brings your load in 90A territory. Plus the additional Pioneer Amp on one of the two cables was putting an additional 40A load. And LBM, you know one of the cables melted much more than the other. I am guessing this was the one which had the 2 amps on it.

See... no fighting. LBM, as I have told others on this forum, I feel you have great talent. I was like you... Just keep a more open mind...

So now can we PLEEEAAAASE end this. Really, everybody on the forum is fed up of this constant debate.

Last edited by gunbir : 7th May 2006 at 17:52.
gunbir is offline  
Old 7th May 2006, 17:44   #92
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

So please prove to me that the alpine amp consumes more than 80 amps .

Also I forgot to mention one thing the audison vrx 1.500 and alpine mrd-m1005 at 2 ohms wiring the wattages of the both amp are compareble . So the power requirement would be nearly same taking tolerances in between also... So according to me taking in the efficeny part also the alpine is also below the 80 amps mark. but not the 120 amps mark.

So disagree with company which u support.

Man one more thing the forums are for debating and clearing doubt ........

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 7th May 2006 at 17:51.
low_bass_makker is offline  
Old 7th May 2006, 18:16   #93
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
Man one more thing the forums are for debating and clearing doubt ........
Yes! But this is it man. And Im saying this as politely as possible. It is clear to everyone here that you have a serious problem. PLEASE DONT EXPECT ME TO ANSWER ANY FURTHER QUERIES AND DONT EXPECT ME TO WASTE ANY MORE TIME ON YOU.
gunbir is offline  
Old 7th May 2006, 18:27   #94
BHPian
 
Autophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 930
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
So please prove to me that the alpine amp consumes more than 80 amps .

Also I forgot to mention one thing the audison vrx 1.500 and alpine mrd-m1005 at 2 ohms wiring the wattages of the both amp are compareble . So the power requirement would be nearly same taking tolerances in between also... So according to me taking in the efficeny part also the alpine is also below the 80 amps mark. but not the 120 amps mark.

So disagree with company which u support.

Man one more thing the forums are for debating and clearing doubt ........
LBM the Alpine amplifier and VRx is not compareable at all. VRx is a specialised product manufactured using exotic components and is not a main stream mass market product. The VRx's accessories cost more than Alpine 1005.

Alpine is a Class D amplifier where as Audison VRx is a pure class AB product and other than mono VRx's are capable of operating in Class A.

The comparison you are making is like a Toyota Corolla (Alpine) vs MB SL55 AMG (VRx).

You are saying both does 200 Kmph (1000Watts @ 2ohms) so the Fuel Consumption (current), Engine Specs (PowerSupply), Transmission (Output Stages) are comparable, which is not.

What happen when I put my foot down on the accelerator paddle (lower the impedance) of SL55 at par with struggling corolla at 200 kmph. The corolla gets smoked and left for dead behind.

Compare the products with same quality and price range. No point in discussing two products and their specs which have a difference of night and day among them.

Last edited by Autophile : 7th May 2006 at 18:28.
Autophile is offline  
Old 7th May 2006, 19:14   #95
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

LBM...

PLEASE end this....

what is it that you want every one to say... ?

LBM YOU are RIGHT... EVERYone else is hopelessly wrong... You have in fact "PROVEN" it so... So you can go right ahead and wire it all up again with anything from spider-silk to power transmission cables... disregard respective manufacturer recommendations... blow stuff... sue the manufacturer ... Make Millions... Buy more quixotic equipment .. wire it all up again.. this time change the spider species... and repeat the process... All because why??... Your AMP Fuse Said Something Else!!

It is clear this thread has outlived its utility... dont think any more light can be shed on the subject.

BTW... Why dont you take this up with them Directly ... or via PM.. With 1035 views and no content this is clearly turned into a thread with entertainment value only!

Any more "Doubts" to be cleared - May I recommend a vaccum cleaner!!

Last edited by kb100 : 7th May 2006 at 19:17.
kb100 is offline  
Old 7th May 2006, 22:49   #96
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Sorry Kb100 from now I understand not to take panga with the experts of this fourm. As I a newbie in this field.

Sorry pepole I have wasted ur time.I was wrong every time I replied.
low_bass_makker is offline  
Old 8th May 2006, 11:34   #97
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,508
Thanked: 3,883 Times
Default

LBM,

1. You had a technical problem.
2. Gunbir and co offered you a solution
3. You have discounted the solution (which is not really expesnvei considering the total cost of your ICE) wihtout really trying to implement it

I dont think this debate is going anywhere. LBM you know what to do.

I am closing this thread before it goes to the dogs. :-)

I would have done sp eaerlier but I had a family emergency. Excuse me for my tardiness.

PM me if you have a RATIONAL reason to reopen this thread.

Last edited by navin : 8th May 2006 at 11:35.
navin is online now  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to determine number of owners in smart card RC sydras The Indian Car Scene 8 25th April 2016 17:10
How to Determine the Fuse/Wire Size for YOUR Project. Shakensoul Technical Stuff 0 27th January 2009 23:41
Please help determine the cost of the ICE Stig In-Car Entertainment 1 13th December 2008 21:43
How Do You Determine The Right Size of Performance Filter For Your Car abhik Technical Stuff 39 8th July 2008 23:38
Amplifiers which don't require seperate power cables akg7091 In-Car Entertainment 16 7th November 2007 00:35


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks