Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th February 2016, 21:43   #796
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 972
Thanked: 955 Times
Default

I'm getting an error message "frgmt error need format" on my mini 0805 dashcam. Any idea what is causing this issue? And will formatting my sd card solve this issue?
fusionbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2016, 22:18   #797
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belur/Bangalore
Posts: 3,472
Thanked: 7,819 Times
Default Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by fusionbang View Post
I'm getting an error message "frgmt error need format" on my mini 0805 dashcam. Any idea what is causing this issue? And will formatting my sd card solve this issue?
1. Try another SD Card.
2. If that works, format the other card and try
3. If it doesn't work even after formatting, its the SD card.
paragsachania is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 12:37   #798
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,903
Thanked: 2,925 Times
Default Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

I have hard wired the dashcam to one of the cabin lights in the fiesta, using a phone charger I got for peanuts. Turn the light on, the camera is getting charged/switches on. The charging circuit can be removed from the enclosure to pop the whole thing inside teh headliner .
What I want know is what happens if I accidentally leave the light switch on the whole night? There is bulb now, so is the camera sufficient by itself to kill the battery?
Attached Thumbnails
The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread-overshot.jpg  

mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 15:15   #799
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 216
Thanked: 74 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
What I want know is what happens if I accidentally leave the light switch on the whole night? There is bulb now, so is the camera sufficient by itself to kill the battery?
i would imagine in cold winters it is a possibility. I always have issues with cold starts on my Qualis in the winters in chennai. Maybe it is due to diesel and need for higher ccu, not sure. Have had to charge the battery once when the cabin light was left on by accident. And chennai is not a place one with attribute with cold any time of the year...
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 16:20   #800
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 972
Thanked: 955 Times
Default Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
1. Try another SD Card.
2. If that works, format the other card and try
3. If it doesn't work even after formatting, its the SD card.
Thanks Parag For now I have formatted the SD Card, let me check for sometime, if the issue occurs then it might have to do something with the SD Card.
fusionbang is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 16:53   #801
Distinguished - BHPian
 
a4anurag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 8,385
Thanked: 9,862 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
What I want know is what happens if I accidentally leave the light switch on the whole night? There is bulb now, so is the camera sufficient by itself to kill the battery?
Why not change the cabin light to a LED?

That should conserve power and decrease load on the battery even if left ON the whole night along with the dashcam.
a4anurag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 17:10   #802
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,903
Thanked: 2,925 Times
Default Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Why not change the cabin light to a LED?

That should conserve power and decrease load on the battery even if left ON the whole night along with the dashcam.

I have removed the bulb from that socket. The fiesta has three lights in teh front. So that socket is powering nothing else apart from the dashcam. Is the dashcam enough to drain the battery overnight?
mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 17:25   #803
Distinguished - BHPian
 
a4anurag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 8,385
Thanked: 9,862 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
Is the dashcam enough to drain the battery overnight?
With a 240mAh battery that powers your dashcam (Just checked the specs on AliExpress) which isn't large enough to drain the battery.

So IMO it shouldn't be an issue.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 17:51   #804
Senior - BHPian
 
audioholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BengaLuru
Posts: 2,590
Thanked: 2,941 Times
Default Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankk View Post

I have removed the bulb from that socket. The fiesta has three lights in teh front. So that socket is powering nothing else apart from the dashcam. Is the dashcam enough to drain the battery overnight?
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
With a 240mAh battery that powers your dashcam (Just checked the specs on AliExpress) which isn't large enough to drain the battery.

So IMO it shouldn't be an issue.
Sorry to say this, but I think you are fundamentally wrong. Not sure how you got this conclusion.

The battery of the dashcam is 240mAh. But that is not how much power it consumes. The battery will be useless if the camera is left powered on by the car battery. So here, all that matters is how much the camera consumes and how much is the state of charge of the battery of the car. Hence, it is difficult to zero down on whether it will drain out the battery or not.
audioholic is offline   (4) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 18:42   #805
Senior - BHPian
 
mayankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,903
Thanked: 2,925 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post

Sorry to say this, but I think you are fundamentally wrong. Not sure how you got this conclusion.

.
So, off it is.
I have a 2kmah power bank. I'll charge that and leave it connected overnight sometime to see if it can drain that.
mayankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2016, 19:22   #806
Distinguished - BHPian
 
a4anurag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 8,385
Thanked: 9,862 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
Sorry to say this, but I think you are fundamentally wrong. Not sure how you got this conclusion.
Oh sorry. Just realized my mistake.

Thanks for highlighting the concept.
a4anurag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2016, 09:03   #807
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: @ Driver's Seat @
Posts: 669
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

Why re-direction ?

Hi,

Can anyone educate me why India Post behaves irrationally ?

I had placed an order for Novatek GT300. Order was shipped from Sweden.

It reached Delhi on 26 Feb, Cleared Customs reached Bangalore RMS and then to Magadi.

Now from Magadi, Its been sent back to Delhi

Damn, I don't know where is the shipment going now.

The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread-blr_post.jpg

Anyone has any of these wierd experiences with India Post ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
I have a 2kmah power bank.
2kMAH, Which one is it, Me Looking for same too !

Any help will be really appreciated

Last edited by ampere : 1st March 2016 at 09:27. Reason: Back to back posts merged.
lambuhere1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2016, 10:31   #808
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 446
Thanked: 86 Times
Question Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

Would there be any firmware updates to G1WH to accept >32GB card?

Even with lower resolution, need to empty the card for every 8 hours or so. Hope, there will be a fix to accept a larger memory card.
JMaruru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2016, 10:50   #809
BHPian
 
ajitkommini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 483
Thanked: 108 Times
Default Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

I was always curious about what happens when the valet guy's in the drivers seat. Then I found out:

ajitkommini is offline   (5) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2016, 16:33   #810
BHPian
 
rav11stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: RJY->BLR->PUN
Posts: 262
Thanked: 494 Times
Default Re: The Dashcam / Car Video Recorder (DVR) Thread

Here's a dashcam video of a drive to Varandha ghat. For now I've got to bear with the reflections off the dashboard. I've fast forwarded the video for a more dramatic effect.
Imagine driving at that pace on a ghat road

rav11stars is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use your Camcorder/Digicam as a Dashcam for Rs.100 mukeshgoel Modifications & Accessories 20 15th September 2015 14:24
The DVR thread (Digital Video Recorder) rrangan Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 4th March 2015 12:03
Spy video camera with recorder for car gaddiwale Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 19th July 2014 04:22
Portable Audio Recorder Reqd condor Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 2nd January 2008 09:08


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:33.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks