Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th August 2006, 09:31   #226
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
Got a lift from Cochin to my house, a distance of soem 190kms, on Speedzak's alto. Superb setup. Loved the DVD demo and later on I saw Ice Age 2 on the screen fixed on the headrest, which can he kept on your legs/thighs.

Impressed.
you mean you took the head rest out and kept it on your thighs?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 09:34   #227
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
you mean you took the head rest out and kept it on your thighs?
yah Navin, you are right.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 09:39   #228
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Oh, there's a new way of watching a movie....
*Sam imagines JKD, sitting on the passenger side, with a large headrest between his thighs*
hmmm, wonder how that looks from outside the car.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 09:46   #229
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

I wonder why. I would thing that would be stresfful for your neck. and what abotu the video wire. where does it go when the headrest is in place. in my car the video wire is so short you dont even see it and it run thought the seat back. my first intention was to change the head rest to one that had hollow rods so the wire could run inside this rod but getting a spare RS headrest from Skoda was impossible.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 10:07   #230
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

Sam! people like Navin will haev doubts like that, I mean how abt wirign etc. And for some, it reminds of some birthday parties

NAvin, teh wires are long enough and run along teh side of the seat. he had it wired like that so that the LCD's can be takenoff and hence be hidden when his dad comes to check his car. His dad donno taht he has a LCD/DVD player in his car and that he has 2 HU coz one plays just MP3 and one normal CD

Last edited by jkdas : 14th August 2006 at 10:09.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 11:24   #231
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

So does nto his dad ask what happened to the headrests?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2006, 13:46   #232
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
So does nto his dad ask what happened to the headrests?
NavinJi,
If you check my garage, maybe you'll get an idea how the wiring is done.

And I've got an extra set of headrests which I replace with the LCD headrests when needed.

Watching movie while driving can make you end up in big crashes.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2006, 07:14   #233
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak
NavinJi,
If you check my garage, maybe you'll get an idea how the wiring is done.

And I've got an extra set of headrests which I replace with the LCD headrests when needed.

Watching movie while driving can make you end up in big crashes.
Wont telling your dad be a lot less trouble?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 12:43   #234
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
Wont telling your dad be a lot less trouble?
Telling my dad about the screens?
I think getting kicked out now from the family seems a lot trouble to me for the time being.


BTW, anybody got a PS2 (yes playstation2) setup in their cars. Could anybody guide me for the same.
My LCD monitors has video1 and video2. So I guess I can utilise the video2 for connecting the PS2. Is'nt it??

Please help guys!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 13:05   #235
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Why PS in a car? You got kids? If not Zak, I get the feeling you are spending too much time in your car.

See Zak, almost anything that you can have at home and be fit into a car (inclusing a kitchen sink and a hot tub) the question we have to ask do I need that as against do I want that.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 13:09   #236
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
Why PS in a car? You got kids? If not Zak, I get the feeling you are spending too much time in your car.

See Zak, almost anything that you can have at home and be fit into a car (inclusing a kitchen sink and a hot tub) the question we have to ask do I need that as against do I want that.
Exactly NavinJi. Not 1, but 2 kids!! (Am I too young for that??)

My wife is a mad fan of the harry potter crap and likes playing games made by them. So it seems the PS2 will be a welcome addition to an already fully packed car!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 13:45   #237
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 223
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedzak
Exactly NavinJi. Not 1, but 2 kids!! (Am I too young for that??)

My wife is a mad fan of the harry potter crap and likes playing games made by them. So it seems the PS2 will be a welcome addition to an already fully packed car!
Hey zak, wait till nov and go for a PS3 man!!... from the reviews.. the console rocks....Sony uses all new processor from IBM, it seems its a day and night diff. in graphics... plus.... comes with a Bluray disc.....
BTB, its gonna cost nearly $500 in US... (So its gonna be much more costly out here!!...)

Also, just my thought..... how are you going to have power supply for PS2?... it works on a/c right?
anToNIcHeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 13:49   #238
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

the ps2 I have has 8.5 volt supply dont remember the load right (approx 3-5 amperes may be) now one can make a step down power supply to run it from it

12vdc to 8.5 vdc .....no need for the ac adapter.....

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 18th August 2006 at 13:52.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 14:17   #239
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anToNIcHeN
Hey zak, wait till nov and go for a PS3 man!!... from the reviews.. the console rocks....Sony uses all new processor from IBM, it seems its a day and night diff. in graphics... plus.... comes with a Bluray disc.....
BTB, its gonna cost nearly $500 in US... (So its gonna be much more costly out here!!...)

Also, just my thought..... how are you going to have power supply for PS2?... it works on a/c right?
No man! the PS2 will do the job. I've read all those rave reviews about PS3 but I'll rather stick to my PC for gaming.

As I cant stick in a PC into my car now, so I'll go for a PS2. The slim model will fit fine behind the front seats in the pocket and the controllers are cute too.

And the power supply issue is not a big thing. It can be done by a step down adapter as explained by LBM. Yes, the PS2 uses 8.5volts.

BTW, I need help in connecting the LCDs to the PS2. Could anybody help me please!
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 14:28   #240
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

you can easily connect the vdo out of the ps2 to the vdo in of the monitor it is a very easy to connect.....I think it would be no problem with that.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleaning and Maintaining Head Units souravbasu In-Car Entertainment 43 13th November 2009 23:21
Alpine head units AV DVD mxx In-Car Entertainment 13 20th October 2008 15:59
The Quick and Dirty on Car Head units & Amps navin In-Car Entertainment 51 21st March 2007 09:15
MP3 flash card compatible head units? Why not? navin In-Car Entertainment 32 19th October 2005 00:36
Let's tweak PIONEER Head Units zzzehar In-Car Entertainment 54 26th September 2005 09:48


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks