Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th November 2006, 18:09   #331
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677
I did check with Gunbir - Audison wiring will cost me some 27000!!!
Are u sure or it was a typo?
2gauge audison power kit wont me >5k and most of spk [inclu subw wire] wires r abt 120-140 rs per mt.Chexpest RCA cable,6mt is around 700 per pair of channel.

I just get the feeling that u probably had asked for their most expensive stuff[sonus].I would advise u to go for mid level stuff[best or may be first].

And can u break up this 27000 plz.....
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 20:10   #332
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Here is the Audison breakup, suggested for my setup, I do not know which category does this belong to...

Quote:
Re the wiring, this is the stuff you will need:

MP2BL = Rs 1322 x 6 mtrs = Rs 7932
MP2S = Rs 1322 x 1 mtr = Rs 1322
SFH11WP = Rs 2700 x 1 no = Rs 2700
SFD41C = Rs 5010 x 1 no = Rs 5010
SFA = Rs 175 x 3 nos = Rs 525
MP4BL = Rs 766 x 2 mtrs = Rs 1532
MP4S = Rs 766 x 2 mtrs = Rs 1532
BT4500 = Rs 2890 x 1 = Rs 2890
BT2600 = Rs 1520 x 1 = Rs 1520
FL214BL = Rs 139 x 14 mtrs = Rs 1946
S212 = Rs 395 x 2 mtrs = Rs 790
>>> Total: Rs 27699.00
Now the point is that is it worth going for a branded kit at all over going for a DIY rolled up kit, which will sound equally good... ?
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 20:24   #333
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

ok I tried and mapped this from the Connection Audison website...

2g cable : MP2BL = Rs 1322 x 6 mtrs = Rs 7932
2G Grounding cable : MP2S = Rs 1322 x 1 mtr = Rs 1322
outputs to amps use 4g cable : MP4BL = Rs 766 x 2 mtrs = Rs 1532
outputs to amps use 4g cable : MP4S = Rs 766 x 2 mtrs = Rs 1532
Distribution Block : SFD41C = Rs 5010 x 1 no = Rs 5010
Grounding Terminal : SGT11 / BGT 21 = Rs
waterproof fuse holder near battery: SFH11WP = Rs 2700 x 1 no = Rs 2700
Fuses : SFA = Rs 175 x 3 nos = Rs 525
4ch Interconnects : BT4500 = Rs 2890 x 1 = Rs 2890
2 ch Interconnects : BT2600 = Rs 1520 x 1 = Rs 1520
Speaker wire : FL214BL = Rs 139 x 14 mtrs = Rs 1946
Sub Wire : S212 = Rs 395 x 2 mtrs = Rs 790

Last edited by ST7677 : 8th November 2006 at 20:26.
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 22:23   #334
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

ST,why buy individual length cables.Go for a complete 2g amp kit and then buy separate 4g cable for two amps,finolex will work as sam has said before.
Buy some cheaper but branded D-block with fuses in it.You probably wont need to buy any more fuse.

For interconnects i think i paid around 3300-3500k for first series for 6ch amp,6mt length.So for u it should be same.I bought the first series one.Infcat u can buy even their lower range but i wont recommend that.

As i said before sub and spk wire wont cost more than 1201-40 per mt.If my guess is right,u r buying 14g spk wire and 12g sub wire.I would suggest u to buy 16g spk wire and for sub buy cheaper 12g wire.If ur sub is closer to its amp,then 1mt sub wire is just ok.
See if u can buy belden wire but that also cost around 100-120 per mt though i am not sure.

Beleive me,with audison amplifiers,that too two of these monsters,u have to spend more than some for wiring/D-block/interconnects as well.I would have spent 12-13k for wiring on ur kind of system.Nuts and bolts wont work here my friend.

Last edited by rsjaurr : 8th November 2006 at 22:25.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2006, 22:29   #335
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

I forgot to mention I used a fused D Block becuase one of my amps is home made and a purist design and so has no internal fuses. I told you I was nutty. I've been told that emulating me has it's risks.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 00:17   #336
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin
I forgot to mention I used a fused D Block becuase one of my amps is home made and a purist design and so has no internal fuses. I told you I was nutty. I've been told that emulating me has it's risks.
So how's the home-made nuclear reactor coming along? Too bad the guys at Pyongyang tried it too.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 00:38   #337
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

2g cable 6 mtrs
2G Grounding cable 1 mtr
outputs to amps use 4g cable 2 mtrs
outputs to amps use 4g cable 2 mtrs
Distribution Block 1 no
Grounding Terminal
waterproof fuse holder near battery:
Fuses : 3 nos
4ch Interconnects
2 ch Interconnects
Speaker wire 14 mtrs
Sub Wire 2 mtrs

first us see what is your requirment and what you require....



from the above specs sheet we can see that the 1.400 requires 55 amps when wired at 1 ohms and the 4.300 requires 16.5 amps only....these are the max musical power demands if sine waves are played the amperes will increase more so a little more thick wire will be fine....

http://www.the12volt.com/wiring/recwirsz.asp


from the above chart we can see that these are the normal current carring capacity of a wire or we can say max a wire can take so always take a upsize...so we can take a upsize ...

for the 1.400 we can take gauge 8 cable or 4 will be more than sufficent and will be more than extra for the purpose...but I will recommend 4 gauge....

for the 4.300 we can take a 8 gauge for the job even if you use a 2 ohms speaker or a 4 ohms one.....

I would suggest drop the distribution block idea as it will require a good expert to do it and more joints will be there in the path....

for your job take two wire put the fuses in the engine bay and run the two wires where the amps are going to be mounted.....connect the main positive directly to the amp and ground the amp with a soild earth point like the seat belt bolt which is directly goes into the car chassis....

for the speaker wires and rca leads you can get them easily as they dont make a major amount.....



for the power wire you can use finolex as they come in mmsq size you can consider 16 mmsq or 25 mmsq for the 1.400 and 10 mmsq for the 4.300...

for more good option you can go for LAPP cable they are German product used in merc car wireing....the LAPP cable is about 40 % cosltier than the regular finolex cable....

the finolex 10mmsq one meter is for approx 60-70 rupess and the lapp would be approx 90 -100 rupes...the 16mmsq and the 25 mmsq prices I dont remember but would be in the range of 125 and 175 respectively....

for the termination you can get good thimbles made out of Oxgen free copper terminals made by Jainson avalable at any good electrical shop....they would avalable in ring-type, u-type, pin type....use the appropiate at the place required...like the ring type for connection at the battery terminal and the pin type for the ampilfier connection..here is a pic for the reference....

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 9th November 2006 at 00:47.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 10:13   #338
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

LBM, thanks for one really eye-opening post. Gave me a real good idea about how wiring should be planned out. Never thought in these terms before.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 11:39   #339
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble
So how's the home-made nuclear reactor coming along? Too bad the guys at Pyongyang tried it too.
Actually I hve been very sick lately. So sick that I could not even digest the medicines at one point and the docs had to use IV. I am still to work on my sub and test those 3" you left at my place.

LBM I think you should cut paste that post into this (sticky) thread.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...k-wires-3.html (So.... why do we need those thick wires??)

it is very good reference material.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 14:05   #340
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
from the above specs sheet we can see that the 1.400 requires 55 amps when wired at 1 ohms and the 4.300 requires 16.5 amps only....these are the max musical power demands if sine waves are played the amperes will increase more so a little more thick wire will be fine....
good job LBM...

But 4.300 requires 16.5 amp only if his speakers r rated at 4ohms but if rated at 2ohms,then it wil 32.5 amps.Anyhow both 4 & 8 will still be able to take care of both of these values.

BTW if ST has to use filolex, i would recommend atleast 35 sqmm and then 25sq mm power & ground cable to be on safer side.

I beleive RCA cable is THE MOST IMPORTANT part of car audio wiring,soi would advice him to spend atleast 3k for RCA cables of 6mt length for both of his amplifiers i.e. total 6-channels.

And i would still recommedn use of D-block with audison amplifiers...

Last edited by rsjaurr : 9th November 2006 at 14:06.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2006, 15:07   #341
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr
BTW if ST has to use filolex, i would recommend atleast 35 sqmm and then 25sq mm power & ground cable to be on safer side.

And i would still recommedn use of D-block with audison amplifiers...
I dont think 35 mmsq will be ever be need in ST place as the current requirement are not such........


If two amps are installed then two seperate wire so no need for distribution block......
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 04:16   #342
Senior - BHPian
 
ST7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,045
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

I emailed to Scosche Industries and got this product verified.

1. Scosche E2 E3200 is a genuine prodcut of Scosche Industries
2. The wiring refers to 0 Gauge (Power) and 4 Gauge (to individual amps from the distribution block). The mentioned thickness is the diameter of the cables.
3. It is more than enough to power 2 amps of 900W and 400 W RMS together.

Considering that Scosche is a good brand and this kit has got most of the stuff I would need for my install and I can get it for around 10k... For sake of simplicity, I am planning to go for it. What say...?

If for some reason this does not work out, I am all set for the DIY kit...
Really appreciate Navin, LBM, SAM, Dr RSJ and other's inputs regarding the same
ST7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 10:44   #343
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ST7677
Considering that Scosche is a good brand and this kit has got most of the stuff I would need for my install and I can get it for around 10k...
Sure if it is original why not. It save you a lot of trouble. Is 10K a local price or will it be imprted. If it is local let me know I know a few friends looking for such a kit.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 11:31   #344
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

I agree with navin.At 10k,its very good buy but u still have to buy spk wire separately.
BTW at wooferstec its available for $149 so why r u paying 10k for it unless u r getting it locally.

BUT even if u go for high quality amp kit for abt 4-5k,u still can built it under 10k including D-block,extra power wire.

tough decison na...
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2006, 11:59   #345
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

I would suggest if you have a little knowledge of the electrical wiring then go for a DIY if not go for a scosche kit as the nitty-gritty stuff will all be there in the kit and no extra stuff will be required but in DIY kit a lots of experiance and paitence is required........
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda City Vs Honda Civic E Vs Honda Civic V (pre-owned) drkunaldas Sedans 4 31st October 2010 18:07
Active Subwoofer vs Free Air/Enclosed Subwoofer Epic In-Car Entertainment 2 2nd December 2009 10:59
Advice for Engine enhancements/ mods - 5 Speed MPFI M800 gopz Modifications & Accessories 10 11th September 2007 12:55
Audio enhancements needed for Safari Dicor. Dragonov In-Car Entertainment 14 7th October 2006 14:41


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks