Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th July 2006, 14:27   #1
BHPian
 
929RON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: KS CITY
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Another Sub and amp combination , wiring doubt ?

One of my friends is fitting a pair of dual 4 Ohms Kicker L5s with a 2 Channel Audiobahn A8002T , the bridged power @ 4 Ohms is 800 RMS, now how should we wire this to get the final Impedance as 4 Ohms, as If we wire S1(C1=C2)||S2(C1=C2) the impedance is 4||4 = 2 Ohms, how do we achieve 4 Ohms, any Ideas ? Can the two subs be wired in series to other ?
Experts, If my calculations were wrong tell me what is right ?
929RON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 15:10   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

If it were a mono amp - What I would suggest is that you wire each coil in series with each other, thereby giving you 2 woofers of 8 ohms each. Together in parallel they will give you 4 ohms.

Otherwise, you can wire them in parallel so giving you 2 subs of 2 ohms each and you connect them to the amp, non-bridged. One sub on the left and one on the right. That is easier to do and should sound the same.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 18:01   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Wrong sub-amp combination. Get another sub, or get another amp. Right now, the only option you have is to drive just one coil of the sub with the amp.

The Audiobahn amp in concern is a Class AB mono amp and is not stable below 4 ohms. For the budget and the configuration, I think you would be better off using the Audiobahn A12005DN which is a Class D monoblock with 600W rms output at 2 ohms. See if you can get the amp changed.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 18:34   #4
BHPian
 
929RON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: KS CITY
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Can we do something like this ? each sub here is a single coil sub , so we can consider each coil to represent a sub in the below diagrams.



What will be the final Impedance for this setup ?
929RON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 18:45   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

The diagram says 4 ohm at the amp, so each of those single coice coil subs is a 4ohm sub. Each of 2 pairs is paralleled to achieve 2 ohms and then serialled at the amp to get 4 ohms again. This is similar to 2 x 4ohm DVC subs in all impedance matters. And so, if you buy another one of those dual 4ohm subs,you can also achieve exactly this.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 18:49   #6
BHPian
 
929RON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: KS CITY
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Yeah we have it, it is not 1 L5, its a pair of L5s
929RON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2006, 18:56   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 929RON
Yeah we have it, it is not 1 L5, its a pair of L5s


I didn't notice the word 'pair' in your first post. I thought you were referring to the voice coils. Sorry!

No troubles, just hook it up the way it's shown in that diagram.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2006, 14:12   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble
I didn't notice the word 'pair' in your first post.
Man ur forgetting ur pair what will happen if i go away for too long........
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2006, 15:22   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker
Man ur forgetting ur pair what will happen if i go away for too long........
I shudder to think, thank you for the support, and please perish the thought of going away again.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2006, 01:04   #10
BHPian
 
929RON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: KS CITY
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Subwoofer wiring again

This is one of the setups we are trying for a Skoda RS , it was running on a RF T10001bd which is 1 Ohm Stable
Now plan is to fit a T20001bd which we just got down in the same car which is 1 Ohm stable again with 3 Audiobahn ALUM12N subs, they are 1000 RMS Dual 6 Ohm subs,

Now, how do we wire this ?

S1(C1||C2)||S2(C1||C2)||S3(C1||C2)

=> 3Ohms||3Ohms||3Ohms

=> ????

Is it 1 Ohm or something else, Experts ???
929RON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2006, 02:36   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

it will be 1 ohms and u can connect them like this...



but one thing u have to see that the output of both the amps are equal.....


And yaar why always make a new thread when u can continue in the older thread mods plz do the necssary changes....
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2006, 10:23   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

the only other option wold require strapping amplifiers this was discussed on this forum some time back. a seach might help.

If strapping can be done i'd suggest using these subs wired to 9 ohms.

http://www.cartel.fr/IMG/pdf/JackHam...ers-manual.pdf

or page 10 of this manual
http://www.kicker.com/06/tech-suppor...DAmpMANUAL.PDF

Last edited by navin : 2nd August 2006 at 10:41.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2006, 11:21   #13
BHPian
 
Autophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 930
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 929RON
Is it 1 Ohm or something else, Experts ???
It is 1 Ohms Exact !!!
Autophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2006, 11:25   #14
BHPian
 
929RON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: KS CITY
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Thanks for all the replies, but , the installation will not have 2 amps, its just one RF T20001bd, so according to Autophile its exact 1 Ohm,
cool, then We will get it setup , this is going to be ONE LOUD Setup,
929RON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2006, 11:40   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

ron the T20001bd is 2000 watts rms in 1 ohms so the amp will be under powered in ur case if u go for a single amp. In this way u will be getting the full juice out of the amp but the woofers can take more.....so think again when going for this setup.

OT which type of enclousre ur going to use......sealed , ported , band pass, or a single box with all the subs in it with no partitions

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 2nd August 2006 at 11:56.
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speaker combination for existing HU & amp CLYDE In-Car Entertainment 11 29th May 2012 11:13
Zen MPFI wiring manual/wiring diagram IndrojitSircar Technical Stuff 1 27th February 2012 00:21
Speed & Gear combination for Chevrolet UVA arunnn Technical Stuff 6 10th December 2007 23:01
OH NO!! Another Ferrari Enzo crashed.. and another... and another (w/ video) GTO The International Automotive Scene 72 26th May 2007 14:09
Another crash, another fire, another death in Delhi suman Street Experiences 7 15th December 2006 15:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks