Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st February 2015, 20:43   #31
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 567
Thanked: 118 Times
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajaypjayaraj View Post
Just went through your other thread with details. Below are my observations and thoughts:

1) 56-Radio module not detected:
You have a Bosch RCD 510 and yet you cant see the 56-Radio module in the VCDS scan. That is strange because that is what happens with aftermarket HUs. Those HUs are not accepted as Radio module. But a OE system has to be registered as a Radio module except some base line OE Radio units which are not CAN based units. RCD 510 definitely is detected as a radio module.. unless the unit has a chip/module which is not OE. Lets see... Does your system ask for security code after installation or upon re-installing after you disconnect the HU power for sometime? The reason I ask is, there are a lot of stolen HUs being traded online with the chip being replaced so as to get rid of the security code issue. This is what I heard and happens more so with the RNS 510/Columbus HUs. Don't know if RCD 510 have such problems.

2) OPS not diaplayed:
I have played with this issue too on my friend's Jetta comfortline as you know. We din't get it working as both of us got busy after a few trials and din't get time for it later. But from all the R&D we both did, we understand it could be one of these problems
- The parking module supports it but the wiring harness for comfortline does not have certain wires required to send the OPS signal from the parking module. Sugesh told me this is a possibility when I had seeked his advice while trouble shooting this problem on my friend's Jetta. For this, you will need to get the pin assignments from the workshop manuals and check wiring on both sides of the wiring harness for the parking module and confirm each terminal required is in place. You will need to wire the missing cables. Like when I installed cruise control, after upgrading all the necessary modules, you still need to pull a wire from the steering module to the ECU. Even if you have all compatible modules, sometimes your car's wiring harness could be missing a few wires depending on the features available for that model.
- The parking module does not support OPS in which case, you need to upgrade the module.
- The central module does not support it in which case, you will need to upgrade it.
- Both parking module and central module does not support it, which means even bigger hole in the pocket.

3) No info. shown on MFD:
This will be fixed when you can detect your HU as 56-Radio module in the CAN Gateway. Activate is by selecting the tick mark next to 56-Radio in the installation list of CAN Gateway and this problem will be solved by itself. But you need to get the 56-Radio module detected first for that.

4) HVAC status is displayed on screen:
This is actually possible on all CAN compatible HUs I have used both OE and non OE. This is showing, so no problems there.
Hi Ajay. The system does ask for a code and the code has been supplied by the aliexpress guys. Do we have to manually add radio?

On the ops and telephony, they should automatically come on if radio comes on. So my main issue is radio showing in vcds. Is there anything I need to do on vcds for radio to show before choosing the option in installed list.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2015, 21:35   #32
BHPian
 
ajaypjayaraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: KL
Posts: 920
Thanked: 1,065 Times
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Quote:
Originally Posted by mav2000 View Post
Hi Ajay. The system does ask for a code and the code has been supplied by the aliexpress guys. Do we have to manually add radio?

On the ops and telephony, they should automatically come on if radio comes on. So my main issue is radio showing in vcds. Is there anything I need to do on vcds for radio to show before choosing the option in installed list.
Okay. So it could be that your car does not have a CAN Gateway. Or does it have one? If not, you might require something called a gateway emulator. I am not really familiar with installation or use of this but came across such a thing for use in cars without a can gateway for supporting modules that require a CAN gateway to communicate with the central module.

If you have a CAN Gateway, you have to check in the installation list within the Gateway module using VCDS that 56-Radio is selected. If not, select it. That is all you need to do and nothing more for selecting 56-Radio. The installation list would have all the components that version of CAN Gateway would support. You would see in the list, many items that might not be installed in the car. Radio is something any version of CAN Gateway should show up in the installation list, I guess, as it is one of the basic things. Advanced features might be missing on lower versions of Gateway module, but Radio should be there.

In VCDS, when you go to Select Control module screen, you would see 19-CAN Gateway. Click that and if your car has a gateway module, it will take you to your gateway module. Select the Installation List button within the gateway module menu. Rest as said above.
ajaypjayaraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2015, 21:52   #33
BHPian
 
mav2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 567
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Actually there is a can plus and minus in the harness, which I connected. Without connecting these 2 wires, the steering controls and climatronic won't work.

So obviously some parts are working and some are not. This is what confuses me the most, unless climatronic and mfsw have nothing to do with canbus, which I highly doubt. But let me try what you said and see what happens.
mav2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 17:01   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
danlalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: mumbai,JUHU
Posts: 1,597
Thanked: 133 Times
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Went through this thread. But i did not understand ANYTHING.

My simple question is:-

I have a 2011 Vento highline with the HU minus the sd card slot/bluetooth/aux/usb.

I want to install the RCD320(the olx add mentions this code) which was on a polo. It has the sd card slot/bluetooth/aux/usb.

Will the swap work. All i want is the aux/ usb to work. Dont care if bluetooth etc does not.
danlalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2015, 17:12   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
deehunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,052
Thanked: 769 Times
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Hi danlalan, the swap will work for Aux and SD card.
deehunk is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 11:12   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
danlalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: mumbai,JUHU
Posts: 1,597
Thanked: 133 Times
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

So i did the swap and as usual the same problems propped up.
Which iam completely fine with.
Except the Hu buttons not lighting up. Although i have already memorized where the buttons are in the dark, i wish somehow these button lights could come on.
danlalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2015, 11:29   #37
Team-BHP Support
 
Gannu_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Madras
Posts: 4,883
Thanked: 9,724 Times
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Quote:
Originally Posted by danlalan View Post
i wish somehow these button lights could come on.
I am assuming you installed the RCD 320 unit with the Phone button? The RCD 320 uses CANbus inputs for turning on the backlighting.

Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento-rcd-320.jpg

Do you have the images of the stock black shaded ISO connector from your car? Like this:

Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento-img_20150617_142513.jpg

Run a pair of cables from pins 1 and 5 from the black ISO connector to pin nos. 20 and 21 from connector B of the BCM, respectively. These slots should be empty in your connector now.

Name:  CANpins.png
Views: 1631
Size:  855.0 KB

Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento-58eeb18s960.jpg

This will enable the backlighting when you turn on the lights.
Gannu_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2015, 13:04   #38
BHPian
 
senthils27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chennai
Posts: 35
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Hello Everyone,

I too have the issues.
I had installed RCD 510 in my 2012 polo and kept the can wires unconnected since I could not find someone who can do the connections in BCM.

So I was using the HU without features like backlighting, switch off etc. Recently, I found in Vagtune website that canbus decoder is available for RCD 510 and RCD 320. I got the cables and installed today. Wow, everything is working perfectly. Actually I have a 2012 polo and 2015 vento. Swapped the RCD 510 to vento and RCD 320 to polo.

I suggest contacting Sugesh (Vagtune) with your specific issues and he can guide you.

Finally, we have a solution without complex connection needs.

Picture of the canbus decoder for RCD 320.
Attached Thumbnails
Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento-1441438386138.jpg  

senthils27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2016, 21:37   #39
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 31
Thanked: Once
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
I am assuming you installed the RCD 320 unit with the Phone button? The RCD 320 uses CANbus inputs for turning on the backlighting.

Attachment 1390662

Do you have the images of the stock black shaded ISO connector from your car? Like this:

Attachment 1390663

Run a pair of cables from pins 1 and 5 from the black ISO connector to pin nos. 20 and 21 from connector B of the BCM, respectively. These slots should be empty in your connector now.

Attachment 1390664

Attachment 1390665

This will enable the backlighting when you turn on the lights.
I am myself planning for an upgrade to a 320 on my polo. It's a 2011 comfortline without system. I actually went today and got a pullout 320 from rapid from JMD Skoda. But when plugged the backlight of buttons didn't light up. Is your method tried and tested? He is quoting 6000 for it and I am in no mood to invest this amount without the backlight buttons. Please advise ASAP as I need to close the deal soon.
vorajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2016, 21:39   #40
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 31
Thanked: Once
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Quote:
Originally Posted by danlalan View Post
So i did the swap and as usual the same problems propped up.
Which iam completely fine with.
Except the Hu buttons not lighting up. Although i have already memorized where the buttons are in the dark, i wish somehow these button lights could come on.
Hey did you try what was suggested by gannu? If yes did it work fine? The backlight of button started working? I am going in for a upgrade to a rapid pullout 320 tomorrow. Pls advise ASAP. Thanks.
vorajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2016, 17:47   #41
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 31
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
I am assuming you installed the RCD 320 unit with the Phone button? The RCD 320 uses CANbus inputs for turning on the backlighting.

Attachment 1390662

Do you have the images of the stock black shaded ISO connector from your car? Like this:

Attachment 1390663

Run a pair of cables from pins 1 and 5 from the black ISO connector to pin nos. 20 and 21 from connector B of the BCM, respectively. These slots should be empty in your connector now.

Attachment 1390664

Attachment 1390665

This will enable the backlighting when you turn on the lights.






Quote:
Originally Posted by danlalan View Post
So i did the swap and as usual the same problems propped up.
Which iam completely fine with.
Except the Hu buttons not lighting up. Although i have already memorized where the buttons are in the dark, i wish somehow these button lights could come on.
Hey Guys, any update on the above? Does the wiring from the points to bcm solve the issue of backlight?
vorajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2017, 16:58   #42
BHPian
 
Ferrariwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Mumbai.
Posts: 204
Thanked: 431 Times
Default Re: Problems after DIY install - RCD/RCN 320 on Polo/Vento

Hi I have an RCD320 that I bought off a gt tsi owner. It needs to be fitted into a 2011 polo highline will I need a canbus adapter for the same ? I dont mind if bluetooth or the button lights don't work as long as the sd & usb slots work and it does not drain the battery.Experts or anybody who has done this swap kindly help
Ferrariwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - VW Polo/Vento: Getting rid of Door Rattles d_himan DIY - Do it yourself 92 25th November 2017 15:54
Remapped VW Polo 1.6L GT TDI: 134 BHP, 320 Nm, 0 - 100 in 8.8 seconds brraj Modifications & Accessories 82 20th June 2016 18:02
DIY: RCD 510 head-unit upgrade for VW Vento and Polo moralfibre In-Car Entertainment 96 23rd April 2016 11:36
the new slk 320 byramshroff Super-Cars & Imports in India 4 13th April 2005 02:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:09.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks