Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th August 2006, 18:56   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: noble park
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0 Times
Unhappy no sound from speakers

hi

just recently i bought a pioneer deh 3850 and jbl mono block + subwoofer. so far i wired up the HU to the car exactly as the manual says except i didnt wire up the HU to the monoblock or sub. the HU powers on and i can select tracks on CD's, choose radio stations and change settings...
the only problem is i don't hear sound from all 4 of the speakers. is this because i havnt wired up the monoblock or something more serious???

p.s. i double checked all wires were correct by following each wire to its speaker and made sure it was either +ve and -ve. i had to splice the wires to connect them and secured them with duct tape.

any advice or suggestions wil b greatly appreciated, else il have to pay $150 to shop to wire it up T.T
bunnarith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2006, 19:13   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,453 Times
Default

Hello Bunnarith..

$150 to wire that up? Man Australia is expensive!
OK this is how I understand it
You are wiring up 4 speakers to your HU and then you are gonna add on the monoblock and sub.
If your HU is powered on. AND you have connected the speakers to the correct wires, you should have sound. It's as simple as that. It has nothing to do with the monoblock amp.
If you don't:

well
1) Either you have a faulty HU
2) You have blown up the power chip inside the HU due to a wrong connection or the speaker wires touching each other by mistake.

In either case, you would need to take back your HU.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2006, 19:23   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bunnarith
hi

just recently i bought a pioneer deh 3850 and jbl mono block + subwoofer. so far i wired up the HU to the car exactly as the manual says except i didnt wire up the HU to the monoblock or sub. the HU powers on and i can select tracks on CD's, choose radio stations and change settings...
the only problem is i don't hear sound from all 4 of the speakers. is this because i havnt wired up the monoblock or something more serious???

p.s. i double checked all wires were correct by following each wire to its speaker and made sure it was either +ve and -ve. i had to splice the wires to connect them and secured them with duct tape.

any advice or suggestions wil b greatly appreciated, else il have to pay $150 to shop to wire it up T.T
Just run this small test.

Disconnect the speaker wires from the head unit. Now identify the wires that are going to the speakers, not the ones coming from the head unit's amplifier.

Connect the -ve of the cell to the -ve wire of one of the speakers. Hold this firmly in place with one hand, and momentarily touch the wire going to the +ve of the speaker to the +ve of the battery. You should here a click from the speaker in concern everytime you make contact. Repeat this for all the speakers. This will ensure your speakers are ok, and the wiring is not open somewhere, or shorting. In both cases, you wouldnt hear clicks. If you dont get a click on one of the speakers, check the speaker and the wiring running to the speaker, as the wire leading to it could be shorting somewhere. If it were open, the HU would not have a problem playing the other 3 connected channels.

If this worked fine, make sure that no loose wires behind the HU, any of the pre-outs, turn-on lead are touching some metal part of the HU or car, or each other. They should be well insulated. To test this, power up the HU with all wires intact, and without pushing it into the dash manually run a check. If all is well, proceed to push the HU into the dash.

If your HU is still quiet, check to see if you have 'Mute' on.

Beyond this, you will turn poorer by atleast $150.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2006, 21:41   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble
Just run this small test.......Beyond this, you will turn poorer by atleast $150.
I think u must be poorer by 150 till now....
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 15:54   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: noble park
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

thnx for the replies guys,

ill test it out right now but i am a bit unsure what 'cell' refers to in the sentence " Connect the -ve of the cell to the -ve wire of one of the speakers." so i will assume it is the cars metal body, plz correct me if i'm wrong.
bunnarith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 16:01   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

think a 1.5V battery cant be a 12V to your speaker! (AA battery)

Last edited by jkdas : 8th August 2006 at 16:04.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 16:01   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 9
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi, the "cell" here refers to a dry cell battery
jvedanand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 16:35   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bunnarith
thnx for the replies guys,

ill test it out right now but i am a bit unsure what 'cell' refers to in the sentence " Connect the -ve of the cell to the -ve wire of one of the speakers." so i will assume it is the cars metal body, plz correct me if i'm wrong.
Oops sorry, I forgot to mention that, any AA, AAA pencil cell would be fine. don't use the car battery, that could be too much. Thats why I also said, touch momentarily. You could also use a DMM (LBM has one that is widely advertised), in continuity mode.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 16:53   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: noble park
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

ohhh ok. well i've tested each speaker with a AA battery and each speaker i tested made a thump sound so i guess d speakers r ok. n so i re-wired the HU n made sure each connection was insulated n each exposed wire was insulated.. lol n i checked the mute. still no sound

the only prob is the shop guy warned me i wont b able to return the HU if i spliced the wires... but if i can prove the HU was already broken maybe i can still swap the HU with a working 1. wot do u guys think?
bunnarith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 21:55   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

your power amp chip might be dead.do you have a spare car audio amp lying around? if you do use the preamp out and the spare amp and check.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 22:55   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

or if u dont have a amp u can connect a head phone to the preout and check u can also try this there must be a line in your tv or audio system u can connect it there also but for doing this u will need long wires to power up the HU

If you get any sound then ur hu amp is gone but the hu is working...... and u will have to change ur hu....

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 8th August 2006 at 22:59.
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2006, 23:03   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,453 Times
Default

I am telling you this from experience. The power amp IC on your HU is blown. It happens while installing, if speaker wires accidentally touch each other.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 18:06   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: noble park
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

is d power amp IC easily replaced, can d head unit b repaired at a cheap price?
bunnarith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 21:43   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

I think u to take to the shop from where u had purchases it ....u said in the earlier post that if there is a problem he will change it.....

the power ic is not easly avalable u would be requiring a old karab HU of same model or series for this purpose ....... even if u get a old HU u change the ic still it did not work then what to do....

add amp simple.........
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2006, 21:55   #15
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Adding an amplifier will solve your problem dude. But check by connecting an amp to make sure though before you buy.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hissing sound from speakers when not playing music. Please help. vishnuvijay In-Car Entertainment 62 12th March 2016 15:17
Pioneer with JBL Speakers.. Crackling sound glidealong In-Car Entertainment 13 2nd December 2009 16:24
funny sound in the speakers nikhil1300 In-Car Entertainment 2 3rd August 2009 21:51
Whining sound from speakers at low volumes... frankmehta In-Car Entertainment 36 24th March 2009 09:58
ICE Troubleshooting - No sound from speakers. uttamc In-Car Entertainment 17 19th June 2007 14:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks