Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd August 2007, 17:18   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Yaar clip are you going to tune your amp or making one...drop down to Delhi and I will help you tune it.
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2007, 18:27   #17
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

hi deralte,

im getting a 16mhz cro scope used tektronic, the same company you mentioned for 4500rs. i think its good enough and there is a 60mhz one for around 9k. i think the 16mhz one will do for now for audio right?

i need money. :-(

LBM paaji, i woud rather buy that scope instead of coming to del as the scope woud be much cheaper than a del trip lol. and its nt that i dont trust you with tuning but i want to do it my self and learn something in the process. if i wanted to get it tuned by a pro like you i would have asked jb(he didnt even listen to the amp, he tuned it when in between the installation and it was spot on(for me). i mean no offence bro :-)


i wish dropping down to delhi was easy. lol i ll try and only come when i have enough $$$ to buy everything i what i have on my shopping list.
cheers
clip

Last edited by clipto333 : 2nd August 2007 at 18:30.
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2007, 18:29   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Good for you sir...experience makes a man perfect....
low_bass_makker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2007, 19:00   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
im getting a 16mhz cro scope used tektronic, the same company you mentioned for 4500rs. ... i think the 16mhz one will do for now for audio right?
That was fast! Sounds good, IF the small aluminium label at the back says "Made in USA" and not "Made by USA", and it comes with the original probes and wires. Check out the model on the internet, you will be able to compare the pic with the one you are getting.

Yes, 16Mhz is enough, unless you are getting into RF design. Check if all the functions are working and whether the CRT has any problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
i need money. :-(
Who doesn't!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
enough $$$ to buy everything i what i have on my shopping list
... not to mention the better half's list!
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2007, 19:18   #20
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Good for you sir...experience makes a man perfect....
IMO experience make a person more capable. no one can be perfect lol. :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
That was fast! Sounds good, IF the small aluminium label at the back says "Made in USA" and not "Made by USA", and it comes with the original probes and wires. Check out the model on the internet, you will be able to compare the pic with the one you are getting.

Yes, 16Mhz is enough, unless you are getting into RF design. Check if all the functions are working and whether the CRT has any problems.

Who doesn't!?!

... not to mention the better half's list!
where there is a will, there is a way. :-)

ill check with the person and ill post pics before buying.

the guy has garunteed that the scopes are in good working condition, never repaired and they would give me everything that comes along and it will be calibrated and i will get the calib certificate. sound good enough, nahi?

the guy also has given me the option to trade in whenever i want to upgrade. i think this is the cheapest and the best i can get for the money. are these btw accurate enough?

the guy said the used scopes are from people who trade in to upgrade. so i think this solve my woes. can the 16mhz scope used for debugging a diy amp? im sure it would as the trasistor switching is not that fast if im not wrong(correct me here) the high badwidth scopes from what i know are used for lens testing etc in audio.

one more thing i wanted to ask is that i have an old pentium 133 mhz laptop(toshiba sattelite) the lcd was broken so i stripped apart the thing. i have the mother board which has millions of smd components(these guys must be genious to design these electronics) i thought i would throw it away but i wanted to ak if it has any use for any one? if yes i will give it to the person(obviously free of cost) why waste. what do you say guys?

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2007, 10:14   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
IMO experience make a person more capable. no one can be perfect lol. :-)
Quote of the day !

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
the guy has garunteed that the scopes are in good working condition, never repaired and they would give me everything that comes along and it will be calibrated and i will get the calib certificate. sound good enough, nahi?

the guy also has given me the option to trade in whenever i want to upgrade. i think this is the cheapest and the best i can get for the money. are these btw accurate enough?
Fantastic. The guy knows a bit. Otherwise, most people are not conscious of the value of calibration. Accuracy depends on calibration (apart from the basic instrument design), and a genuine Tektroniks is good for what it states.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
Can the 16mhz scope used for debugging a diy amp? im sure it would as the trasistor switching is not that fast if im not wrong(correct me here) the high badwidth scopes from what i know are used for lens testing etc in audio.
DIY amp debugging, of course. Much better than using a DMM even if it is true RMS. The edge/slope measurement also depends on the (probe) cable capacitance, and the originals are good enough for even PWM work. Yes, for CD lens testing one needs a FAST digital osci, but that is an overkill for LF work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
one more thing i wanted to ask is that i have an old pentium 133 mhz laptop(toshiba sattelite) the lcd was broken so i stripped apart the thing. i have the mother board which has millions of smd components(these guys must be genious to design these electronics) i thought i would throw it away but i wanted to ak if it has any use for any one? if yes i will give it to the person(obviously free of cost) why waste. what do you say guys?
Actually, most of the high density design is automated, with very little human intervention.
Reusing SMD components would be pointless, since a. un/mounting them is like a watch-repair job and b. you cant figure out which component is what.
A better use for old working laptops is streaming AV to TV from PCs ("Media Lounge Player"). One only needs a LAN/wireless card appropriate for that laptop/OS, and a TV-Out USB adapter. Display kaput? No problem, use the TV as the display (low-res, but serves the purpose).
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2007, 12:14   #22
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Quote of the day !

Fantastic. The guy knows a bit. Otherwise, most people are not conscious of the value of calibration. Accuracy depends on calibration (apart from the basic instrument design), and a genuine Tektroniks is good for what it states.

DIY amp debugging, of course. Much better than using a DMM even if it is true RMS. The edge/slope measurement also depends on the (probe) cable capacitance, and the originals are good enough for even PWM work. Yes, for CD lens testing one needs a FAST digital osci, but that is an overkill for LF work.

Actually, most of the high density design is automated, with very little human intervention.
Reusing SMD components would be pointless, since a. un/mounting them is like a watch-repair job and b. you cant figure out which component is what.
A better use for old working laptops is streaming AV to TV from PCs ("Media Lounge Player"). One only needs a LAN/wireless card appropriate for that laptop/OS, and a TV-Out USB adapter. Display kaput? No problem, use the TV as the display (low-res, but serves the purpose).
should i add the quote in my signature? lol

ok, so i think ill buy the scope. i cant get a better deal i guess. i was thinking of getting a used scope from ebay US but that will cost me more with a headache of asking your relatives to buy online and sending it to me.

ill see what i can do with it. its designed for win95. i dont think ill use it. it has 16mb ram, around 1 gb hdd.

thanks for the help
cheers
clip

Last edited by clipto333 : 3rd August 2007 at 12:21.
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spider Diesel Tuning Box VS. Pete's Tuning Box - Spider Box feedback on pg 2 Endeavour333 Modifications & Accessories 130 11th September 2017 01:24
Tuning Box versus Remaps (Diesel tuning) Ravveendrra Modifications & Accessories 122 15th June 2017 08:24
The Dawn of Turbo Diesel Tuning in INDIA - Pete's Tuning Box turboindia Modifications & Accessories 108 17th April 2006 12:33
best subwoofer-amplifier combination for Rs.10-15k nitrous In-Car Entertainment 14 1st November 2004 13:21
Pioneer Speakers - Which one with 944 amplifier? GTO In-Car Entertainment 7 12th May 2004 22:40


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks