Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th November 2015, 21:11   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,865
Thanked: 2,206 Times
Default

2 Din Android 4.4 Car DVD For TOYOTA RAV4 Corolla Vios Hilux Terios Land Cruiser Avanza Fortuner Prado Capacitive touch screen
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/2-Din...370066873.html
(from AliExpress Android)
frankmehta is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2015, 21:21   #47
BHPian
 
Jetta_Volkmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: TN30
Posts: 29
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Thank you frank for the quick reply. Did you paid customs duty? Graaja has paid INR4000 odd.
A friend of mine is in China. Thinking of getting through him.
Jetta_Volkmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2015, 21:32   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,865
Thanked: 2,206 Times
Default

Paid 4k too. The duty thing is unpredictable and may even be lesser or more..
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2015, 07:50   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,232
Thanked: 2,449 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamsukh View Post
That is correct Ganesh. This is the one on the page:

NEW from 18 October, 2015
Only for RK3188 1024X600
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
Yes. For sure reference, we have a Rockwell RK3188 processor. And our screens, if ordered from the same link as I did, are 1024 * 600 resolution.
Thanks Guys. I was able to upgrade to Malysk firmware. But the Car Service app that implemented the "Pause on Mute" function did not work with this firmware. As I need that function, I rolled back to the upgraded firmware provided by vendor. As Google maps works fine with this firmware, i am planning to keep this for now. Also, as the long Diwali holidays are over, no more time to play around!

Jasmukh, as you had pointed out the Car Service app takes quite some time to load on boot up.
graaja is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2015, 15:43   #50
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 289
Thanked: 276 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Congrats, looks great. I have a question, does it have a pre-out for subwoofer, and independent controls for the same.
AtheK is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2015, 17:27   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,232
Thanked: 2,449 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
Congrats, looks great. I have a question, does it have a pre-out for subwoofer, and independent controls for the same.
Thanks, Athek!

Yes. It has a pre-out for Subwoofer. But I don't know if there is an independent control for this.
graaja is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2015, 08:09   #52
BHPian
 
prateekswarup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 229
Thanked: 107 Times
Default

Amazing job Graaja & Frankmehta! This really opens up possibilities for the head unit options for my GT TSI.

Couple of questions though:

1. The newer GT 2015 do not come with OPS? Even if we're to install any aftermarket HU, it will not work?
2. Have you hooked a reverse cam to the HU setup? Any feedback on the same?
3. Reverse cam - number plate or bumper? Suggestions?

Thanks for a lovely DIY.
prateekswarup is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2015, 09:27   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,232
Thanked: 2,449 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekswarup View Post
Amazing job Graaja & Frankmehta! This really opens up possibilities for the head unit options for my GT TSI.

Couple of questions though:

1. The newer GT 2015 do not come with OPS? Even if we're to install any aftermarket HU, it will not work?
2. Have you hooked a reverse cam to the HU setup? Any feedback on the same?
3. Reverse cam - number plate or bumper? Suggestions?

Thanks for a lovely DIY.
Thanks prateekswarup! This indeed is a great find by Frank!

Responses to your questions:

1. Yes. The new GTs do not come with OPS. Any other HU like RCD510 will also not help. You need to either change the reverse parking sensor controller to OPS enabled controller, or install a reverse camera.
2. Frank has already fixed one to his car, and should be able to give you some idea. I have ordered a reverse camera and am expecting delivery. Once I have it, I will do another DIY and document the process.
3. I wanted a camera that does not involve drilling the bumper to install. There were two options. The flip camera that replaces the VW logo, or number plate retrofit. The flip camera was quite expensive above 10K. So, I chose the number plate retrofit. I have ordered model 107 from the below link.

Car reversing camera for VW

I cross checked the dimensions of the existing number plate, the dimension of the cutout etc., and then chose this. Will know if this is the right fit once I receive the unit. I will update the thread of the DIY experience once complete.
graaja is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2015, 11:27   #54
BHPian
 
::CMS::'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 572
Thanked: 450 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Good going guys. I did the same in my Duster, but building from the scratch on an android board with an HD screen (1280x720 native but with support of 1080p) any other features too, project code named Andrio.

A sample image from my ownership page :http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...85-rxl-o-1.jpg

Last edited by ::CMS:: : 19th November 2015 at 11:51.
::CMS:: is offline   (3) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2015, 14:47   #55
kcz
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 31
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Hi graaja,

I followed your instructions and installed the HU on my Vento today. It was a breeze as your instructions are very detailed. Thanks a lot.

CANBUS integration didn't work by default. It got me worried a little. I had to go to Factory Settings menu and select the CANBUS as "VW/Skoda simple".

Couple of observations with stock firmware so far:

1) Radio stations: also I noticed that the radio reception is bad. It keeps forgetting the radio stations even after saving the channels. I somehow have to tune them every time.

2) Bluetooth mic quality: It is manageable. Nothing great to talk about. i also positioned it the same way you did.

3) Time/Date: It always seems to get China timezone even if I set the timezone to India and select the setting to get the time automatically from GPS.



I also bought this reverse camera: http://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/7...70719300313069

It is supposed to fit into the license plate light slot.

Waiting for your DIY instructions on how you are going to wire it up.


Also, can you share the details of the updated firmware (URL, instructions) that you got from the vendor?

Thanks,
Kiran
kcz is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2015, 21:48   #56
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,232
Thanked: 2,449 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcz View Post
I followed your instructions and installed the HU on my Vento today. It was a breeze as your instructions are very detailed. Thanks a lot.
You are most welcome Kiran. Glad to know that the instructions were useful for a smooth installation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcz View Post
1) Radio stations: also I noticed that the radio reception is bad. It keeps forgetting the radio stations even after saving the channels. I somehow have to tune them every time.

2) Bluetooth mic quality: It is manageable. Nothing great to talk about. i also positioned it the same way you did.

3) Time/Date: It always seems to get China timezone even if I set the timezone to India and select the setting to get the time automatically from GPS.
I have the same issues regarding #1 and #2. As I do not listen to radio, #1 is not a deal breaker for me. For #2, I have ordered a new reading light assembly with provision for mic, and a RCD510 compatible mic. User "sunilsoft" had mentioned that the RCD510 mic will need some rework to make it work with the HU, but with the rework and the position overhead, voice pickup should be good. Will share more details when I complete that DIY.

Regarding #3, I too observed this during a couple of factory resets etc. But once I got the firmware updated and set the timezone, it is fine now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcz View Post
I also bought this reverse camera: http://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/7...70719300313069

It is supposed to fit into the license plate light slot.

Waiting for your DIY instructions on how you are going to wire it up.
I am waiting for the camera to arrive. Will do the installation and update the thread. Due to work load, it may be a couple of weeks to finish this.

Regarding the camera you have ordered, did you check what is the type of number plate lamp assembly in your Vento? Does it fix with screws? The camera you have ordered has two holes for screw mounting. Also, the light is LED. Is your number plate light LED as well? If not, you will have one LED and one halogen bulb. Check this as well and order a matching LED based number plate light for the other slot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcz View Post
Also, can you share the details of the updated firmware (URL, instructions) that you got from the vendor?
The vendor gave me the following link and password.
Link: http://yunpan.cn/cHTnt6cwzuNI4
Password: 56c8

If you log in, you will see a download button, and this will download a file with .7z extension. After download, unzip this file and copy the unzipped files directly to a blank SD card and insert this SD card into the maps SD card slot. Then in the "Settings", go to "About machine" option, and select "System Updates" on the right side. There is a picture of this in my installation posts in this thread. The HU will detect the new firmware in the SD card and will prompt you for install. Select yes, and the update will take place.

Note: I do not know how long the link and password will be valid. I would suggest you to also check with the vendor if there is any later update.

Also, users Frank and Jasmukh have upgraded to another firmware from Malaysk. Details are there a few posts before this. This firmware has lots of improvement over the stock firmware. The radio interface is much better as well and the memory bug may be fixed in this version. The only reason I did not go with the firmware was I needed the "pause on mute" function which is only possible with the firmware provided by the vendor and another third party program "Car Service". If you are not particular about this feature, I would recommend you go for the Malaysk firmware.

Hope this helps.
graaja is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2015, 21:55   #57
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 16
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Thank you Frank and Graaja,

I ordered the same HU on 11th Nov and got it on 18th Nov. Successfully installed today after following the guide from Graaja. It's works out of the box including Google Play and Google Maps. My current Kernel version date shows as 6th Oct 2015. Not sure still I need any system update. Please advise on this.

The only problem is FM signal and MIC quality. I also felt some disturbance during calls. I kept the USB cables under the steering (above fuse box) which has some space.

Once again thanks for Frank and Graaja for their excellent guide.

Regards
Siva
msiva75 is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2015, 07:14   #58
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,232
Thanked: 2,449 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by msiva75 View Post
Thank you Frank and Graaja,

I ordered the same HU on 11th Nov and got it on 18th Nov. Successfully installed today after following the guide from Graaja. It's works out of the box including Google Play and Google Maps. My current Kernel version date shows as 6th Oct 2015. Not sure still I need any system update. Please advise on this.

The only problem is FM signal and MIC quality. I also felt some disturbance during calls. I kept the USB cables under the steering (above fuse box) which has some space.

Once again thanks for Frank and Graaja for their excellent guide.

Regards
Siva
You are most welcome! Glad to know that the instructions were of help.

If the firmware lets you configure Google Play account and comes with Google maps, then I don't see any need to upgrade the firmware. In my case, the system came with iGo maps and threw error while configuring Google Play.

Regarding mic quality, like some other users have done, you could change to a better quality mic.

Regarding radio reception, I had written about poor reception. But yesterday, while I was cleaning the interiors, I found the antenna cable of the radio hanging free behind the dashboard. Somehow, while putting everything back, the radio cable must have disconnected. This could be the reason for poor reception. When I install the reverse camera, I will make this connection and will report the results. I am sure, the reception should become fine. Just check if the radio antenna cable is connected properly.
graaja is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2015, 07:58   #59
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 16
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Let me check the Radio cable once again.

Is there any screen protector required? Searched few 7" tablet model, but not matching.
msiva75 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2015, 09:32   #60
Senior - BHPian
 
graaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 1,232
Thanked: 2,449 Times
Default Re: Android Head-Unit in my VW Polo GT TSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by msiva75 View Post
Is there any screen protector required? Searched few 7" tablet model, but not matching.
Have not thought about screen protector. The glass looks to be quite durable. Worth checking with the vendor.
graaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VW Polo GT 1.2L TSi: The baby TSi robimahanta Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 318 22nd October 2016 11:04
DIY: RCD 510 head-unit upgrade for VW Vento and Polo moralfibre In-Car Entertainment 96 23rd April 2016 11:36
Clarion AX1: Android-based Head-Unit launched @ Rs. 56,000 SaurabhSaran In-Car Entertainment 9 27th April 2015 09:20
VW Polo TSI: Stock Head-Unit with Infinity. Thoughts? kbk_75 In-Car Entertainment 45 8th July 2014 17:37
Looking for VW Polo Stereo Head Unit (Highline's) Reeto In-Car Entertainment 2 25th August 2011 23:47


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks