Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th November 2006, 19:10   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Howdy people,

I installed a Pioneer 5850 in my car. I'm wondering how i can get an Ipod working with it without buying anything expensive.

I did go through this site and read that i would need to buy an iTrip, but that again would be costly.

Any inputs please....

Cheers
garcons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2006, 19:36   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Buddy, don't buy an iTrip. The output over FM is baaaaaad! I was foolish enough to buy one when I bought my iPod 2 years back. I used it once or twice, and have never used it since. It used to be 5.2K then. Dunno how much now. If you can spend 3.5k, you should be able to get a proper pioneer iPod interface. It will charge your iPod as you use it, and you will be able to control it from your HU. And the sound will be as good as regular mp3 cd.


For the cheapest option, get a good MX brand stereo-to-rca cable and get the rca end connected to your HU's aux in. The sound will be as good as the interface. Only, you'll need to work directly on the iPod, and you'll need to charge it separately. The best quality MX runs to 250/-. I'm using one now for the same purpose. You'll also get the same type of cable at prices from 25/- onwards from any electronics store.

Last edited by hydrashok : 14th November 2006 at 19:39.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2006, 20:21   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok
If you can spend 3.5k, you should be able to get a proper pioneer iPod interface.
EDIT: Buddy, I think the pio interface runs to 5.5k, not 3.5k. Sorry 'bout that :-)
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2006, 21:08   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Most ipod cables offer limited control over the ipod. For many of us it is enough. For those who want more control and have deeper pockects there are products like Harman Kardon's Drive and Play.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2006, 21:09   #5
BHPian
 
Ad1tya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 49
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

A Simple way, but with a little loss of quality is, you can buy a 3.5mm Jack to Tape converter. I just bought 1 today, for 250 Rs. Theres a lil' tape hiss, but its livable with.

Its a temp. solution until I get my Car Audio fully done..
Ad1tya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2006, 21:48   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gujarat 03
Posts: 1,302
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

You have two options.

1) DIY cheap project Suggested by hydrashok.

2) Get an Ipod CDIB100II adapter for 5.5K. You can browse songs from HU and ipod will be charged via same cable. But Does 5850 Ipod Ready ??
Mugen_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2006, 12:30   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ad1tya
A Simple way, but with a little loss of quality is, you can buy a 3.5mm Jack to Tape converter. I just bought 1 today, for 250 Rs. Theres a lil' tape hiss, but its livable with.

Its a temp. solution until I get my Car Audio fully done..
Isn't that what hydrashok is talking about ? are you saying there is a hissing sound in it ? hydrashok, please clarify .
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2006, 21:22   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Nope, e_l. Ad1tya got a 3.5mm Jack to Tape converter. That is, there is a dummy cassette thingy at one end and a regular 3.5mm jack at the other. The 3.5mm jack goes into the iPod and the cassette-thing goes into the tape deck. This is not what I was talking about.

I was talking about a 3.5mm jack to RCA connector. The 3.5mm jack goes into the iPod, and the RCA jacks go into the HU's AUX-in. No loss of SQ whatever. I'd recommend this anytime.

I'd used Ad1tya's setup with a Discman back in the days of yore :-) (OK, 4 years back). It works ok, except for the hiss when you turn the volume up. And if the cassette thing is of bad quality, the twin hub things that turn (the gear-like things) make a big racket when they turn. Used to drive me mad and made me get my first CD Changer.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2007, 12:03   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

hows to active the aux-in (6850 HU)
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2007, 13:16   #10
BHPian
 
angelfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mangalore/Chicago
Posts: 251
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Go to initial setting menu by pressing audio or function button for more than two sec...with the HU being OFF...there wil be an AUX option..turn it on by pressing down arrow...you are good to go..
once you connect a player to aux-in..select aux..by pressing source...You are done!!
angelfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2007, 13:59   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,469
Thanked: 19,377 Times
Default

turn it off. press function button. navigate to AUX. switch to on mode.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2007, 14:11   #12
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
Nope, e_l. Ad1tya got a 3.5mm Jack to Tape converter. That is, there is a dummy cassette thingy at one end and a regular 3.5mm jack at the other. The 3.5mm jack goes into the iPod and the cassette-thing goes into the tape deck. This is not what I was talking about.
Hydra,will this tape-converter thing help me if i add a cassette player [HU] to my ICE system?
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2007, 14:18   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
Hydra,will this tape-converter thing help me if i add a cassette player [HU] to my ICE system?
Doc, an ipod cable is a lot cheaper than a tape deck. I think you have an alpine HU that plays CDs Right? if you are not using cassette otherwise why add the complexity. Were you thinking of this - ipod via casstte adapter to cassette player, cassette player via Aux in to CD HU.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2007, 15:57   #14
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

navin,i dont have i-pod yet though i plan to get one in near future.
Actually i want to use my casettes in ICE and for that i have 2 options ....

1.Use my sony/phillips walkman but then i need Ai-net cable and something to power walkman from 12v output of car.Can also use AA batteries.
2.Install cassette player HU and connect its power/ground wire to alpine HU but what about remote turn-on wire for cassette HU?AFAIK i may not need it.
If there is cassette HU which has aux out,then i can connect these two HU via this Ai-net cable.Right?

But my main problem is finding ai-net cable.Few months back,LBM told me thats its available for 650/Rs [later 'revised' to 1000/Rs] in New Delhi but its easier for me to get it from states than New Delhi.

Last edited by rsjaurr : 18th January 2007 at 16:02.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2007, 14:01   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsjaurr View Post
navin,i dont have i-pod yet though i plan to get one in near future.
Actually i want to use my casettes in ICE and for that i have 2 options
Your 3rd option is to rip your cassetes to Hard disk and then use an ipod or other hard disk based player. remember you dont have to rip to MP3 there are lots of nicer formats out there.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pioneer 5850 problem deepak_ms In-Car Entertainment 5 16th July 2007 17:41
Tuning FM in Pioneer 5850 deepak_ms In-Car Entertainment 6 26th April 2007 09:17
F/S : Pioneer 5850 HU (Only PANEL, Case) s0uljah Shifting gears 5 22nd February 2007 16:53
difference b/w pioneer 5850 4850 and 3850 premdiv In-Car Entertainment 8 5th June 2006 10:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:23.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks