Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd January 2007, 20:13   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,300
Thanked: 411 Times
Default The D-I-Y thread;-)

So after 3 months of waiting for an ip bus cable,I logged into the forum yesterday and read about the Pioneer ip bus hack( http://www.stereophonik.com/gutterslide/IP-BUS_Hack/ ).Just by chance,happened to check out the thread on how you remove the swift dashboard thingy,and I got myself interested.

So today pulled out the HU and brought it upstairs to try out the ip bus hack.The look on my dads face was wild!,i nearly got the shelling of my life till i convinced him that i knew what i was doing.

Coming to the point,Did all the wiring according to that site;soldered all the wires and put the system back.Now heres where the problem started,the front speakers played super loud,the rear co-axials played much softer and the sub wasnt firing.What could have happened??.Note,the amp powers the rear and the sub.

Chucked the wire(was some roadside crap anyways)and decided to start afresh with proper guidance and thats what this thread is for.

help me!

Navin uncle,please merge the other two similar threads into this one.

Last edited by binz : 3rd January 2007 at 20:15.
binz is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 21:08   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binz View Post
Coming to the point,Did all the wiring according to that site;soldered all the wires and put the system back.Now heres where the problem started,the front speakers played super loud,the rear co-axials played much softer and the sub wasnt firing..
Did that happen only on the ipbus, aux in???

I mean, at the same time, was the cd playing well on all the speakers and sub?
Sam Kapasi is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 22:08   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,300
Thanked: 411 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Did that happen only on the ipbus, aux in???

I mean, at the same time, was the cd playing well on all the speakers and sub?
Yup,only on the ip-bus aux in.When i switched to cd,everything played fine,switch to aux and...front speakers played super loud when i moved the fader to the front and soft when i moved the fader to the rear.I found this really strange especially since the amp powers the rear.
binz is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 22:32   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,467
Thanked: 19,364 Times
Default

Are you sure you connected everything back properly without inverting any polarities?

post some pics of your IP bus creation. I didnt make one myself but bought one and it works fine i can check with a multimeter how the channels are connected. and get back to you.
Vid6639 is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 22:37   #5
BHPian
 
sixthsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 72
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

I think you took the advice from the thread i opened up awhile ago. I've not tried it myself yet as i was busy , but i'll try this weekend.

I read on some forum that some pioneer units may have different IP-BUS pins for Audio out and ground, so you may need a multi meter to check if you are using the right pins in your IP-BUS interface. It can be something else though , i just happened to read this when i was searching for the IP-BUS hack.
sixthsense is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 23:09   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,300
Thanked: 411 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Are you sure you connected everything back properly without inverting any polarities?

post some pics of your IP bus creation. I didnt make one myself but bought one and it works fine i can check with a multimeter how the channels are connected. and get back to you.
hmm...i did do everything correctly but it was a reall crude job.Cello tape and all!Te other thing i noticed when i spliced the cable was that the ground copper wire in the cable was partly powdery(oxidised i guess).Now i know what you guys mean when you say use good quality wiring!

Anyway,ill redo it tomorrow or day after with proper "stuff" and post the pics too.

In my first post in the thread,ive posted a link,you guys please read through it and tell me if it should work or not...

Last edited by binz : 3rd January 2007 at 23:10.
binz is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 23:18   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,300
Thanked: 411 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixthsense View Post
I think you took the advice from the thread i opened up awhile ago. I've not tried it myself yet as i was busy , but i'll try this weekend.

I read on some forum that some pioneer units may have different IP-BUS pins for Audio out and ground, so you may need a multi meter to check if you are using the right pins in your IP-BUS interface. It can be something else though , i just happened to read this when i was searching for the IP-BUS hack.
I did take advice from your thread,but this pioneer ip bus thing was mixed up on 3 different threads,and it just made the most sense to start 1 thread of the same.Thanks a lot..especially for that link

When pioneer uses 1 proprietary cable(i.e. ip bus),to connect different HUs to the same cd changer/iIpod interface/aux interface,it most ceertainly isnt feasible to have a change in ground pins and the lead(whatever).I could be wrong..
binz is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 23:28   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

1. which thread do I merge. links would help.

2. as others have said please check that you have L+, R+, L- and R- correctly located. Then make sure all connections are tight and secure.
navin is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 23:30   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,467
Thanked: 19,364 Times
Default

Navinji, Is it possible to compile all these pio IP-bus doubts into one thread. this particular doubt seems to be all over the place.

Here are the threads I have seen this been discussed:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...bus-cable.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...cd-player.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/car-en...ntains-hu.html

binz, is this what you did?

pioneer ip-bus connector


edit: both the links look little different. the one i have posted is for the latest cd-rb10. there was an older pioneer IP bus which is not compatible with newer HU's.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 3rd January 2007 at 23:36.
Vid6639 is offline  
Old 3rd January 2007, 23:35   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,300
Thanked: 411 Times
Default

pioneer ip-bus connector
Same thing,but i did it exactly in this manner:
Gutterslide.com - Pioneer IP-BUS Hack

one more thing,where in bangy can i get this MX cable/wire.Please give me an exact shop name and location,close the cmh road.

One more edit,could we please have tips on how to use a soldering iron accurately.All i get now is one big blob of that metal thingy(flux i think)

Last edited by binz : 3rd January 2007 at 23:41.
binz is offline  
Old 4th January 2007, 09:19   #11
BHPian
 
angelfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mangalore/Chicago
Posts: 251
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binz View Post
One more edit,could we please have tips on how to use a soldering iron accurately.All i get now is one big blob of that metal thingy(flux i think)
Hi binz..
Here`s link for solderin wires...hope it helps...Had come across this while DIy my rca cable...How To Solder
Rest is practice...
rgrds,
angelfire
angelfire is offline  
Old 4th January 2007, 15:55   #12
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

hi guys,

just wanting to know if i ccan connetc multiple thing with my pio hu deh-p5650mp ip-bus...for eg 2 cd changers etc.
clipto333 is offline  
Old 4th January 2007, 18:10   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
hi guys,

just wanting to know if i ccan connetc multiple thing with my pio hu deh-p5650mp ip-bus...for eg 2 cd changers etc.
2 CD changers ? I don't think so. Simply because AFAIK all HU's have the menu system to handle just one CD Changer (of whatever no. of CDs). No menu item in the HU software to switch between Changer 1 & Changer 2, for example. Unless of course the HU will see both changers (connected to the single CD-changer connector) as one big changer. But I seriously doubt that.

This is not based on any fact that I know of, just based on how I think the HUs and their software work.

It would be interesting to know whether this wil actually work. At least for academic reasons
hydrashok is offline  
Old 4th January 2007, 20:44   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
2 CD changers? I don't think so. Simply because AFAIK all HU's have the menu system to handle just one CD Changer (of whatever no. of CDs). No menu item in the HU software to switch between Changer 1 & Changer 2, for example. Unless of course the HU will see both changers (connected to the single CD-changer connector) as one big changer. But I seriously doubt that.

It would be interesting to know whether this wil actually work. At least for academic reasons
Actually you CAN use two changers with Pioneer HUs. I remember there used to be an IP-Bus device that would let you do this. Let me see if I can find anything on it in my old folders.
gunbir is offline  
Old 4th January 2007, 21:10   #15
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Binz,unfortunately you took the DIY too far when these efforts should ideally be left to our experts even though it may turn out be a minor mistake.
I am also looking for looking for a cable to connect portable music players to my HU but i would never open my HU myself just to find some alternate way to do it.
rsjaurr is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Team-Bhp thread of shame (Pray you arent mentioned in this thread ) speedsatya Street Experiences 10 24th February 2012 14:27
Best website thread S350L-E240 Shifting gears 0 18th June 2004 15:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks