Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th January 2007, 14:13   #16
BHPian
 
kousik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 201
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
I was looking for a solution wherein I can do channel up down from 1-8 in one go using the up-down key, so that I don't have to take my eyes of the road.
I wonder if it is possible to hack your existing HU to do it, but the stock HU supplied with Toyota Innova switches the FM band when scanning, so it goes FM-I 1-6, then automatically FM-II 1-6 ... I expect modern HUs will follow suite.

regards
Kousik.
kousik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 14:18   #17
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,644 Times
Default

Nothing can be done with my existing HU, but for my next HU I will definitely look for a HU that has this Innova HU like functionality
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 14:23   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
I guess my point was missed.
6x3==18 which is more than enough.
But the problem is how to change channels without shifting eyes off road.
I can do up down from 1-6 in one FM band only, not up down in all 18. So lets say I have 8 good FM channels.
Ooops. Sorry. I threw everyone of.

I am sorry but there is no nice way of doing this. I have been using Alpines since 1984 or there abouts and thankfully they have barely changed their layouts (the tone controls have changed most) so that helps me but not others. Some remote controls allow you to change band and switch between presets. another qucik way to do this is as follows.

say your stations are
91.1, 92.3, 94.7, 95.5, 97.1, 98.3, 100.1 101.5, 102.3, 103.5, and 105.7 (ranodom numbers)

tune 91.1, 94.7, 97.1, 100.1 102.3, and 105.7 now use the seek function to find the stations in between so hit "preset 1" and "seek up" to find 92.3.

hope this helps.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 14:43   #19
BHPian
 
prabuddhadg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 731
Thanked: 45 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Ooops. Sorry. I threw everyone of.

..... another qucik way to do this is as follows.

say your stations are
91.1, 92.3, 94.7, 95.5, 97.1, 98.3, 100.1 101.5, 102.3, 103.5, and 105.7 (ranodom numbers)

tune 91.1, 94.7, 97.1, 100.1 102.3, and 105.7 now use the seek function to find the stations in between so hit "preset 1" and "seek up" to find 92.3.

hope this helps.
That's a pretty clever and I think useful idea, Navin. Ingenious, I must say. I never thought of that. That should make matters pretty easy.
prabuddhadg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 15:01   #20
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

thank you. BTW remember in some case you can "seek down" too! :-)
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 16:04   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

@tsk1979...i have used 2 different sony HUs from 2001 onwards & both had this feature as explained by hrag. You can use the + - switches (the same controls that are used to change CDs in a changer)in the HU or use the up down controls on the remote (the DVD controls)to switch channels in FM. when you reach no.6 in FM1, the + will automatically take you to channel 1 in FM2 & so on. i am pretty sure this is a standard feature on Sony HUs, dont know about pio or jvc though.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 16:29   #22
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,644 Times
Default

Pio does not have this, it toggles in FM1 only. I guess JVC owners can tell about whether that brand has this functionality
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2007, 22:46   #23
NIP
Senior - BHPian
 
NIP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,151
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

in bangalore, the only station i listen to is 91.9 and sometimes 91.1. but shifting thru FMI/FMII/FMIII isnt much of a problem cause i keep the channels i really like on FMI and the crappier ones on the other bands

btw...u guys should check out the noise someone's making on 104.0...some new station i s'pose ?
NIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) thread bejoy Shifting gears 102 11th October 2017 10:43
Maxi / Premium Scooters - An ignored species? .sushilkumar Motorbikes 21 12th March 2013 15:41
Radio Auto Launched! Radio TUK TUK RW9763 Street Experiences 2 24th November 2010 15:17
Completely Ignored Value/Revenue Chain theMAG The Indian Car Scene 26 24th November 2006 11:37


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks