Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th January 2007, 13:40   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default In car DVD - region issues?

Most home DVD players get locked to a region after playing a 5 DVDs. Some come prelocked.
What about in car DVD players? Are these region free or they also get locked? What happens if you accidentally get locked to a particular region and then want to play DVD from different region?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 13:48   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,453 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Most home DVD players get locked to a region after playing a 5 DVDs. Some come prelocked.
Home DVD players are not changeable the way the PC DVD drive operates. When you run a PC DVDROM drive for the forst time, it is region-less. It asks you before pre-setting a region and you can make 4 more changes.

Home DVD players are supposed to be sold pre-coded to the region of purchase. They can be changed to another region at service centre level.

However in this day and age, buying a DVD player that is not multi region is unthinkable. Smaller brands with lesser attention to ethics ship them already multi region and brands with some ethics, include a cheat code, or a remote key sequence to make it multi region.

This does not answer your question. I have no in car DVD experience but i expect one of those will apply and the car DVD player will be multi region.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 13:51   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

well Pioneer for one comes multi-region ready and will play any region DVDs. Though we've also used Sony and JVC, I didnt really note their region compatibility.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 13:52   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Most home DVD players get locked to a region after playing a 5 DVDs. Some come prelocked.
What about in car DVD players? Are these region free or they also get locked? What happens if you accidentally get locked to a particular region and then want to play DVD from different region?
Most car DVD players available throught the grey market are shipped to India hacked for mutli-region. Branded DVD players will be set to the region from where the company originates (not where it is manufactured).
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 13:58   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

If there is a DVD player which locks itself to a particular region, then that company has locked themselves out of the moolah. I have seen Sony, Pioneer & JVC & I can vouch for all of them being region free as are our very own home dvd players like phillips, sony, onida etc etc. the whole region thing is a big mess now. thats not at all the way to stop piracy.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 14:08   #6
rkg
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,041
Thanked: 543 Times
Default

Hi!
DVD technology requires both media and player to be region coded for the region in which they are supposed to sold or marketed. it is not dependent upon the place of manufacture or use(hoem/Pc/Car).however as samkapasi wrote smaller palyer are selling models which are region free. even big guys sell but very costly
but sony is one most difficult to hack.
VideoHelp.com - DVD Player Hack List
as per the procedure listed for different models one has to change the region to '0' for playing multi region dvd's
rkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 14:10   #7
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Does that means the Philips DVD player I am using at home will not be able run DVDs shipped from US or UK.

I may be wrong but I guess there is key combination or something similiar to unlock it.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 14:14   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

My philips home DVD player locked up after playing 5 DVDs. Its the unit which has mpeg4 compatibility(divx videos)
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 14:18   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Search on google you'll find a cheat for it. Is it the one which got sold for 3.5k or 4k some years back? My friend found a cheat for that & unlocked it.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 14:21   #10
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
My philips home DVD player locked up after playing 5 DVDs. Its the unit which has mpeg4 compatibility(divx videos)
I think mine is also same one. Its with slot entry of DVD.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 14:21   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Yep, it is quite simple really. my brother had the same problem with the same phillips. the service chap came over & unlocked it. it is a combination of keys in the remote.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 14:23   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

@EL & others: if you are facing a region lock problem on a Philips DVD player then let me know. I have the 'cheat code'(its a key sequence on remote) to make the player region free

I have the Divx one too.

@Ishaan: Mine costed me 6k around 2 years back

I belive most of the major manufacturers provide codes to unlock the players & like Sam said this should be available at the service stations.

Last edited by Technocrat : 16th January 2007 at 14:32.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 16:16   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,885 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
My philips home DVD player locked up after playing 5 DVDs. Its the unit which has mpeg4 compatibility(divx videos)
The local Philips dealer might be help you. I called up one and he just guided me over the phone it has to do with pressing some series of button with the CD tray open.
navin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 16:32   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
The local Philips dealer might be help you. I called up one and he just guided me over the phone it has to do with pressing some series of button with the CD tray open.
If its fine then I can post the sequence here.

Mods?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2007, 16:33   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,955
Thanked: 15,648 Times
Default

Well its better not to post it here, since its not really completely "legal".
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Region unlocking the JVC KD-avx77 ranjithc In-Car Entertainment 11 31st May 2010 13:52
Urgent Help Needed Any one from Kangra Region amitbjha Route / Travel Queries 2 13th June 2008 13:15
DVD Changer Region Code Maverick5490 In-Car Entertainment 5 11th September 2006 00:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks