Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th April 2008, 21:45   #211
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

great work there especially with the Plexiglass. whats the configuration? whats the height of the box? whats the item fixed on the pillar? i think you can do with one fan for cooling. i am not using any on my amd board as yet and its still not burnt out.would recommend using a filter (very fine sponge installed in such a way it can be replaced or cleaned and put back)in the pusher fan as dust can cause serious problems with fans running.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 11:19   #212
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

well thaks.. the height is around 3"... it is wifi receiver .. well i used 2 fans on opposite sides( one facing to wards the brake pedal etc and other to the back seat.. ) as the front fan will pull cool air inside from the front when a/c selecet on airflow for legs and face. and the other fan pulls out hot air from the box.

well sometimes the temp goes upto 60 degeree for the CPU so i decided to use this.

the configration is same wht i used in my earlier setup. i just changed the setup and everything is the same.
for filters i have used a cloth on the fans to avoid dust goin inside. and more over i can pull it out under my seat anytime and blow air in it.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 11:25   #213
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
monty, ur centre console install seems to be lot better now, Good job !!

Whats the last pic with the suction cap on the windshield? its a bit dark
thanks for the comment ..
well the last pics shows the WIFI receiver .. i use this because i have wifi at my work and home and have networed it together. and easy to use internet to update things on carputer.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 14:38   #214
BHPian
 
vebmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 789
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty9991 View Post
well i used 2 fans on opposite sides( one facing to wards the brake pedal etc and other to the back seat.. ) as the front fan will pull cool air inside from the front when a/c selecet on airflow for legs and face. and the other fan pulls out hot air from the box.
That's a great solution!
vebmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 15:12   #215
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vebmetal View Post
That's a great solution!

thanks.. this way my computer doesnt goes above 40 degree..
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 15:18   #216
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
WOW cool work Monty. Case made with plexiglass is awsome. What are the dimensions? Was it difficult to keep it under seat?

Would be cool if you can post of pics of box it has been fit in car.

And cool idea of fitting WiFi adapter.. "war driving" will be fun
it is 9" square and 3" in height.
turst me guys when you put your 3.5" hdd this way it wont skip .. so no need to buy 2.5" laptop hdd and buy a converter for it .

will post the pictures tonite or tommarow while the box placed under the seat.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2008, 17:24   #217
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty9991 View Post
... it is wifi receiver ..
Neat job, @monty9991, looks really professional.

How did you make the various cuts, slots and openings in the acrylic sheet without the sheet cracking up? Most times when I have tried drilling holes, I get a cracked sheet :-(

Which WiFi receiver card have you used? Looks like a USB type. How much did it cost?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2008, 05:26   #218
BHPian
 
shreyasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bang!
Posts: 652
Thanked: 6 Times
Default Q??

Hi monty,

I see that you are using a DC-DC PSU then what is the purpose of this socket??
Attached Images
 
shreyasma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2008, 15:09   #219
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

i think that connector is to give quick disconnect facility. i was using it in my woofer box but with time had intermittent connection problems.
i would advise buying the automobile type three or four pin one since it has a lock built in, helps prevent loose connection due to vibration.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 17:52   #220
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Neat job, @monty9991, looks really professional.

How did you make the various cuts, slots and openings in the acrylic sheet without the sheet cracking up? Most times when I have tried drilling holes, I get a cracked sheet :-(

Which WiFi receiver card have you used? Looks like a USB type. How much did it cost?
it was difficult to make holes in the sheet.. i used 5mm sheet .. and i do have few cracks on the sheet.. but being transparent its hard to see.
i am using LINKSYS USB WIFI card. dont rem about the cost qas i bought this 1.5yr ago when i was in toronto for studies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shreyasma View Post
Hi monty,

I see that you are using a DC-DC PSU then what is the purpose of this socket??
this socket is for power.. i used this with PSU . one for +ve , 2nd for -ve and 3rd for ingnition. with this it is easy to pull out the box under the seat anytime.. i dont have anything fixed.. i have used another 9pin connector ( SERIAL PORT) both male and female for pulg in and out for the extenions of RESET SWITCH, HDD LED, POWER LED.
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2008, 12:45   #221
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigy View Post
satguide database was used with destinator for pc. it was running ok except for the sound, was not getting audio alerts, so changed over to centerfuse. besides center fuse is more convenient to run navigation and music together.
Hi gigy
you said that you are using the satguide d/b with centerfuse forntend. Correct?

So is it easy to configure for the d/b to run with the Centerfuse Front end?
How detailed are the maps? I mean in comparison to the yahoo road maps? If you have used Mgmaps Mobile GMaps - View maps from various sources on your mobile phone! ?

Is it possible to run the MGMAPS D/b with any of the frontend s/w?

@spadival
I have read on the MGMAPS forum that you have worked a way around to using MGMAPS tiles in one of the front end s/w's.
Are you just able to see the maps tiles And/ or able use the navigation options of the frontend and navigate on the maps of MgMaps?

I have downloaded maps using gMapMaker and am able to use MGMPAS through the Sun JWT on my home PC, But I dont think I would be very comfortable using the same in my car.
Any suggestions??
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2008, 13:29   #222
Senior - BHPian
 
gigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 1,321
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

centerfuse is compatable with destinator. destinator has to be installed first then after installing centerfuse go to settings of navigation and select destinator as source, others may also work but i didnt research on it. satguide has the software and better maps for pc now. its actually destinator. spadival may be able to help on other ways of integration.
gigy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2008, 14:13   #223
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeev View Post
Hi gigy
you said that you are using the satguide d/b with centerfuse forntend. Correct?

So is it easy to configure for the d/b to run with the Centerfuse Front end?
How detailed are the maps? I mean in comparison to the yahoo road maps? If you have used Mgmaps Mobile GMaps - View maps from various sources on your mobile phone! ?
Yeah. Satguide maps work with Centrafuse and Roadrunner. But details are ok if you are within the major cities. As you move out, satguide covers only the national highways..a lot less compared to Google or Yahoo. Yahoo (rather mapmyindia) has the highest coverage, but very poor accuracy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeev View Post

Is it possible to run the MGMAPS D/b with any of the frontend s/w?
@spadival
I have read on the MGMAPS forum that you have worked a way around to using MGMAPS tiles in one of the front end s/w's.
Are you just able to see the maps tiles And/ or able use the navigation options of the frontend and navigate on the maps of MgMaps?

I have downloaded maps using gMapMaker and am able to use MGMPAS through the Sun JWT on my home PC, But I dont think I would be very comfortable using the same in my car.
Any suggestions??
I never managed to get offline maps with Sun JWT. So I am using it with IBM JVM. mgmaps is designed for mobile phones. But I was able to embed it in the front end s/w without any issues using skinbedder software. So now I have bigger buttons on screen for zooming, switching maps, joystick mode etc. So its not a problem to use mgmaps in the car anymore. It has helped on many trips within Pune and outside Pune as well. But do note that there is no driving directions available in mgmaps. It'll just mark your current position on the map unlike satguide/destinator which provides driving directions.

Mobile GMaps :: View topic - Mgmaps on Windows XP?

Last edited by spadival : 25th May 2008 at 14:17.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2008, 15:54   #224
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

hi, i am back with high res pics of my PC setup under the seat.
any questions, comments or how to's are welcome.
Attached Images
        
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2008, 16:02   #225
BANNED
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ludhiana
Posts: 706
Thanked: 41 Times
Default

Redputer..
check this out. my freinds pc install in his red swift.
running AMD Athlon 2400+ with 80 gig 3.5" HDD ATI AGP card with 256Mb, 7" lilliput screen same as mine. ( remember i said i ordered two). PSU as inverter.
this is the best install ive ever seen here in India. ( in my opinion) .

its a red car so we named it REDPUTER..
Attached Images
               
monty9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DYP-DC CENTER for Automotive Research and Studies(DC College) Now OPEN !! Dippy The Indian Car Scene 18 11th September 2012 16:45
Bangalore - Bhubaneshwar (NH5) - Jameshdpur and back -4000km Planning stage ST7677 Route / Travel Queries 32 6th July 2011 09:34
First time in Bangalore - Tumkur Road to BTM Layout Stage 2 manojnair Route / Travel Queries 7 13th October 2008 10:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks