Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th April 2007, 09:16   #46
BHPian
 
etchemkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 151
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

So, I'll need 2 RCA cables of 6 metres length each since my head unit (JVC KD-G720) has 3 pairs of pre-outs (established in post #xx previously) and my amplifier (Pioneer GM-6200F) has 4 channels.
How about these interconnects ? Good ?
- Stinger Helix Series SHX20
- Lightning Audio Bolt LBIX-6
- Lightning Audio Storm TPX600
Monster cables of the same type are quite a bit dearer than the ones stated above. Streetwires is also another brand which seems popular in the US.

P.S: I got my Pioneer 6200F this morning - Cost including shipping $112. Can't wait to get back to India now.
etchemkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2007, 10:50   #47
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by etchemkay View Post
How about these interconnects ? Good ?
- Stinger Helix Series SHX20
- Lightning Audio Bolt LBIX-6
- Lightning Audio Storm TPX600
Monster cables of the same type are quite a bit dearer than the ones stated above. Streetwires is also another brand which seems popular in the US.
The Stinger Helix Series is far superior to the other two LA cables. For use with the 6200, you dont need anything better than the Helix Series.
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2007, 12:42   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
The no. of RCA cables depends on the no. of pre-outs in your HU and the amp/s you'll use:

1 pre-out HU + 2-ch amp = 1 RCA cable
1 pre-out HU + 4-ch amp = 1 RCA cable + 2 'Y' splitters
2 pre-out HU + 4-ch amp = 2 RCA cables
2 pre-out HU + 4-ch amp + 2ch/mono amp = 2 RCA cables + 2 'Y' splitters
3 pre-out HU + 4-ch amp = 2 RCA cables (1 pre-out lies unused)
3 pre-out HU + 4-ch amp + 2ch/mono amp = 3 RCA cables
Phew!! Quite exhaustive there Hydra. But I think you missed out one possibility though not likely -

3 pre-out HU + 2-ch amp = ? RCA
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2007, 16:07   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
3 pre-out HU + 2-ch amp = ? RCA
Aah, that is certain to fox hydrashok.

hydrashok: Kitne pre-outs hain?
s0uljah : Teen, sardaar
hydrashok: Teen ? Teen pre-out.. teen pre-out hai iske andar..
teen pre-out aur input do... bahot naa insaafi hai yeh!

Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2007, 18:08   #50
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
3 pre-out HU + 2-ch amp = ? RCA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Aah, that is certain to fox hydrashok.

hydrashok: Kitne pre-outs hain?
s0uljah : Teen, sardaar
hydrashok: Teen ? Teen pre-out.. teen pre-out hai iske andar..
teen pre-out aur input do... bahot naa insaafi hai yeh!

(LMAO actually)

3 pre-out HU + 2-ch amp = *BANG*, *BANG*. Ab ek hi pre-out reh gaya... Ab ek hi RCA cable chalega...
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2007, 02:05   #51
BHPian
 
etchemkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 151
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
The Stinger Helix Series is far superior to the other two LA cables. For use with the 6200, you dont need anything better than the Helix Series.
Gotcha B&T. I think I'll order those in today itself.

I've also seen a plethora stores selling a "Tsunami" series of cabes. All the Best Buys have them, a lot of aftermarket shops have them too. Are these any good? Although, the pricing (of the entire kits at least) seemed to be more or less in the range of kits from Monster etc.
etchemkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2007, 03:06   #52
BHPian
 
etchemkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 151
Thanked: 21 Times
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
The no. of RCA cables depends on the no. of pre-outs in your HU and the amp/s you'll use:

3 pre-out HU + 4-ch amp = 2 RCA cables (1 pre-out lies unused)
Okay I got confused again.

I see RCA interconnect cables which are -
- single channel
- 2 channel
- 4 channel
- even 6 channel

So, I should be getting 2 RCA cables of which type ? single or 2 channel ?
Also, at the risk of sounding ENTIRELY noobish, I will ask you guys -
a 2-channel RCA cable will have 2 "tips" on each side of the cable, right ?
or is it two tips on one end and a single tip on the other ?
etchemkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2007, 08:31   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by etchemkay View Post
Okay I got confused again.

I see RCA interconnect cables which are -
- single channel
- 2 channel
- 4 channel
- even 6 channel

So, I should be getting 2 RCA cables of which type ? single or 2 channel ?
Also, at the risk of sounding ENTIRELY noobish, I will ask you guys -
a 2-channel RCA cable will have 2 "tips" on each side of the cable, right ?
or is it two tips on one end and a single tip on the other ?
All the combis I mentioned are of 2 channel RCA cables. That is, RCA cables with 2 jacks (or tips) on both ends.

A 4-ch RCA cable would be equal to two 2-ch RCA cables.

A 6-ch RCA cable would be equal to three 2-ch RCA cables.

EDIT: Buying a 4-ch RCA cable would be all right if you plan for a 4-ch amp. If you're planning a 4-ch amp and a 2-ch/mono amp, better not get a 6-ch RCA cable, but a 4-ch RCA cable and a separate 2-ch RCA cable. It will be easier to install (the two amps may not be fixed/installed very close together).

Last edited by hydrashok : 7th April 2007 at 08:34.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2007, 09:54   #54
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
hydrashok: Kitne pre-outs hain?
s0uljah : Teen, sardaar
hydrashok: Teen ? Teen pre-out.. teen pre-out hai iske andar..
teen pre-out aur input do... bahot naa insaafi hai yeh!
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
3 pre-out HU + 2-ch amp = *BANG*, *BANG*. Ab ek hi pre-out reh gaya... Ab ek hi RCA cable chalega...


@Ethcemkay : Browse HiFiSound connection they are authorised vendors for many products and offer competitve pricing on installation kits/accessories.

Last edited by s0uljah : 7th April 2007 at 09:57.
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2007, 12:37   #55
BHPian
 
etchemkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 151
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Just ordered for this RCA - Stinger Hyper Series SHR417
.. seem to be good ones for a decent price. Any comments anyone ?
etchemkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2007, 13:45   #56
BHPian
 
etchemkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 151
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Ok .. So, finally, my updated car setup will look like this -

- JVC KD-G720 head unit
- Pioneer GM-6200F 4 channel amplifier
- Alpine 5" 2-way co-axials (rear)
- Infinity 6010cs 6.5" components (front) (yet to be sourced)
- Infinity 1250w 12" sub-woofer (yet to be sourced)

You guys have been awe-freakin-some in helping me out with my decisions and (sometimes naive) questions up until now and I appreciate every word of advice ... now there remain only a few steps where you gurus'll have to hold my hand ..

About the wiring -
I've already got a 4-channel 17ft Stinger Hyper series RCA.
I wanted to understand what power wiring I will be requiring. I looked through the forums and have decided to go with Finolex cables (don't wanna risk it with fake kits - I won't be able to tell them apart from original ones). So, my question is - Does the listing of power cables, etc. in this post apply to my setup ? If not, please do let me know what changes are to be made. Most suggestions I've read on the forums, for a set up closely resembling mine, suggest 4-gauge wire.
What about speaker wires. Do Finloex/Polycab wires of a particular gauge apply here too?


Thanks again for accommodating my queries, y'all.
etchemkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2007, 16:59   #57
BHPian
 
etchemkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 151
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

What .. too many questions ?
etchemkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2007, 17:24   #58
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Your setup looks good.

For one 4ch amp you may not need higher than 8G power wire (or equivalent to 8G power wire). If you plan for another amp later, you can go for 4G power wire (or equivalent to 8G power wire). And right now, with a single amp, you will not need a Distribution Block.

I have no idea about Finolex wires and how to convert the AWG to the unit used for Finolex-type wires (duh!) but you should get some help on that shortly I think in the post you've referred to l_b_m has mentioned 16mmsq (= to 6 AWG) or 25mmsq (= to 4 AWG). I haven't heard of 6AWG cables yet, but I think it is a nice in-between option if you want to be safer than 8AWG.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2007, 17:38   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

here is the conversion chart...of awg to mmsq
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2007, 13:10   #60
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Hey guys we are in India. We use SWG not AWG. Atleast i dont use AWG. The differences are minor though.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICE ICE Baby!!!!!!!!(Swift ICE) scarlet.fever In-Car Entertainment 21 23rd September 2009 20:25
Time to Change/Upgrade ICE? A.R In-Car Entertainment 10 7th March 2009 18:38
Time for ICE upgrade in my Lancer leadf00t In-Car Entertainment 15 14th July 2008 18:29
ICE Upgrade Time for my Esteem prince85 In-Car Entertainment 25 14th September 2007 09:56
Ikon ICE upgrade time for Nitrous! :) nitrous In-Car Entertainment 15 14th August 2007 19:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:01.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks