Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd May 2007, 12:32   #1
BHPian
 
kvish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 598
Thanked: 135 Times
Default Wiring fronts and rears: A rookie's question!

Sirs,

I have a pioneer 6850 Hu which is currently driving JBL (5.25) components in the front. I dont have rear speakers. Earlier I was thinking of driving a small bass tube with the two outputs, but then gave up on that idea. The two rear outputs are not being put into use, so I was thinking of wiring both of them into the fronts. Is that advisable?? I think JBL Gto comps are rated at 50W RMS, and pioneer hu's are 22W, so I am thinking wiring the fronts and rears should still be managable for the JBLs?

Even if it means a slight risk, I dont want to take it, I am enjoying the setup as is....jusshht looking for little more enjoyment

Please advice...
kvish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 12:41   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

how are you going to wire it....I did not got your point.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 12:55   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,589
Thanked: 454 Times
Default

Kvish..are you suggesting that both the front and rears are connected to the same speaker?? kindly clarify..

Even if you do that you may not get double the power!!
headers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 12:56   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

@kvish, if you wanted to know whether you can bridge the output of the HU to 2 channels so you can drive the fronts with double power, I'm afraid that will not be possible.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 13:17   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvish View Post
Sirs,

I have a pioneer 6850 Hu Please advice...

Dont do it. you will most likely damage the amp in your HU.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 13:26   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Why is it that we can bridge 2 channels from an amp but not from the HU ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 13:36   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,589
Thanked: 454 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Why is it that we can bridge 2 channels from an amp but not from the HU ?
Guess its a Short of sorts!
headers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 14:15   #8
BHPian
 
kvish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 598
Thanked: 135 Times
Default

I started the topic with this as an assumption:
"If we can bridge 2 channels from an amp then it should be possible from HU...." "x 2" ....which was rightly pointed out by esteem_lover...

So now its clear, I will stay away...

thanks everyone!!
kvish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 15:09   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

not all amplifer circuits can be bridged.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 15:38   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
not all amplifer circuits can be bridged.
What is the reason behind it, in layman terms ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 17:42   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,475 Times
Default

anyway of bridging to run a sub using the rear channel? or is that also impossible?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 19:26   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

bridging any amplifier is only possible, if the amplifier is constructed to be bridged. If an amplifier not designed to be bridged, is bridged, then you will blow the output section.

You will find that almost all car amplifiers and professional amplifiers are constructed in that way.
Most consumer grade amplifiers (home theatre and stereo) are not constructed that way. Neither are 99% of all car stereo head units.

This means you cannot combine the channels of your 6850 to deliver more power to your speakers. You will blow up the HU. 100%.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 15:48   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,509
Thanked: 3,884 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
What is the reason behind it, in layman terms ?
Layman Sam, just did! :-)
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zen MPFI wiring manual/wiring diagram IndrojitSircar Technical Stuff 1 27th February 2012 00:21
40k for fronts and 2 subs - Car ford fiesta Magma In-Car Entertainment 31 18th March 2009 22:41
Power Rears through HU with no amp. abhinav.gupta88 In-Car Entertainment 6 15th March 2009 10:16
Looking for Tonally Matching Fronts with JBL Voice Center Channel pitchucold Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 30th August 2008 21:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks