Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th May 2007, 09:18   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default What is a condenser?

What is a condenser, wrt ICE? Binz's car has this annoying alternator whine, and we went down to this store to see if they could give us a quick-fix, but the guy said "Saab, condenser lagaana padega." I have no clue what that is. I hope you guys do.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 09:24   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,471
Thanked: 19,378 Times
Default

with respect to ICE condenser is nothing but a capacitor.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 09:45   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Like vid said, he must have meant a capacitor.

But IMHO spending money on a Cap is a waste. Most power/noise problems can be traced to the wiring:

1) Bad quality power wiring (BOSS, usually)

2) Power wires run with RCA interconnects, causing noise to creep-in. This usually happens with RCAs with bad shielding. But even with the best quality RCAs and best quality power wires, and best quality speaker wires, I'd personally run the RCAs & speaker wires and the Power wires along different sides of the car. (RCAs and speaker wires can be run together).

3) Some mechanical problem with the alternator.

4) Some problem with the battery (from personal experience, EXIDE seems to cause this problem at times).

Most likely the problem will be fixed with the re-routing of power wires away from RCA & spkr wires. Else, instead for adding a Cap, I'd upgrade to better power & RCA wires. Cost will work to about the same.

Caps are usually needed to tide over sudden & huge power requirements made by amps powering subs, for eg. when an especially wicked bass note needs to be played. I don't think they will help with removing alternator whine.

Last resort, (only) if all else fails, you'll need to get a line-noise filter. Again a bit expensive, if you want the job done well.

Absolute last line of defense: A line-noise "masker" (and all other noise "masker") in the guise of a GF in the front seat. Yak, yak, yak. No more line noise

Last edited by hydrashok : 30th May 2007 at 09:51.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 10:00   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,471
Thanked: 19,378 Times
Default

As hydra said, get the battery checked is it old or new. If the battery is old then that could be the reason of alternator whine.

The battery may not be charging properly.

The most common problem in loose ground connection. The grounding may not be proper causing the alternator whine.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 10:11   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Condenser is a also said as capacitor.....it is correct and here we are not talking of 1 farad which is used to keep the supply voltage of the car supply up....but the one we are discussing is used in conjunction of ground here to filterout the noise...
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 10:33   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
Binz's car has this annoying alternator whine
Pioneer HU ??

Just try grounding the RCA's / slots to the back of the HU with a copper wire.

Usually fixes the problem and its the last thing the shop guys will tell you to do (well until they hit ground in your pockets.)
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 10:40   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
binz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,300
Thanked: 411 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Pioneer HU ??

Just try grounding the RCA's / slots to the back of the HU with a copper wire.

Usually fixes the problem and its the last thing the shop guys will tell you to do (well until they hit ground in your pockets.)
Yep,Pio HU it is.Exactly what has to be grounded??
binz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 10:47   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BLR
Posts: 2,222
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

I have a pic of whats to be done, imageshack aint working though

edit : get on MSN

Last edited by s0uljah : 30th May 2007 at 10:50.
s0uljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 11:03   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

here what souljah posted few days ago...

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/413720-post5726.html

here is the pic who are in a hurry to see it...


Last edited by low_bass_makker : 30th May 2007 at 11:09.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 13:13   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post


Yes, most Pioneer HUs (even the expensive ones costing 50k and above) have this problem. Do ground your RCA grounds to your chassis and the noise will be reduced / eliminated.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 14:50   #11
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Yes, most Pioneer HUs (even the expensive ones costing 50k and above) have this problem. Do ground your RCA grounds to your chassis and the noise will be reduced / eliminated.
hi,

i had the same problem wit my pio HU. i also did the same thing . the noise was totally eliminated. i inserted a 1 rupee coin in between the stereo chassis and the rca input.lol. after some time i got my hu repaired.

cheers
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 15:33   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

I have heard it is with most of the pioneer HU....but I have used nearly 5-6 HU personally and I have faced this problem in a single one.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 16:36   #13
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
I have heard it is with most of the pioneer HU....but I have used nearly 5-6 HU personally and I have faced this problem in a single one.....

HI,

this usually happens when the rca leads connected to the hu come in contact with the ground of the vehicle when the HU is on. when this happens, a tiny fuse on the main board gives way. well this thing happened with me. dont know about others.

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 16:40   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
this usually happens when the rca leads connected to the hu come in contact with the ground of the vehicle when the HU is on. when this happens, a tiny fuse on the main board gives way. well this thing happened with me. dont know about others
Not the fuse I would assume the track on the PCB (printed circuit board) of the HU
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2007, 16:42   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
HI,

this usually happens when the rca leads connected to the hu come in contact with the ground of the vehicle when the HU is on. when this happens, a tiny fuse on the main board gives way. well this thing happened with me. dont know about others.

cheers
clip
I thought so too till recently, and of course all precautions were taken, but when we installed a high end Pioneer unit straight out of the box, it had the same problem.
gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skoda Laura L&K Compressor and Condenser question duke Technical Stuff 60 20th November 2017 23:28
car ac compressor and condenser problem honda3938 Technical Stuff 9 3rd December 2015 21:09
A/C Condenser slightly deformed - Do I need to replace it? Oceanstar Technical Stuff 4 10th December 2014 11:01
Condenser replaced = car starts jerking msetlur Technical Stuff 6 31st May 2012 22:10
Lancer condenser leak? rajivanoj Technical Stuff 11 16th July 2009 16:47


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks