Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th June 2007, 02:21   #1
BHPian
 
sabret00the's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 686
Thanked: 43 Times
Default Using imported Xplod head unit in ALTO

A friend of mine can buy a Sony Xplod CDX-GT410 UESRP Receiver/MP3/WMA/AAC Player/UniLinkô Control from the US and get it for me.Now my question is will I be able to install the head unit in my Alto xfun Lxi without any compatibilty issues as far as power and wiring/electrical fitting is concerned?Further,will I face any issues with using AM/FM radio with the above mentioned unit in India?Lastly,can he just buy it from the US and bring it to India in his luggage or is there a duty or charge he will need to pay before getting it outside US and into India?
sabret00the is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 11:07   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,452 Times
Default

Hello Sabre,

Since he is capable of bringing down a HU for you - why sony? There are many better HUs than that one.
In any case, he can bring it down and I am pretty sure there will be no duty issues, the customs are pretty leniant of late.

Fitting and electricals are compatible, no issues there. The radio should also work fine, if there is a small step adjustment in the radio, most HUs have that in the menu.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 11:14   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,503
Thanked: 3,881 Times
Default

Some US based HUs do not tune in "even numbered" channels. So you will be able to tune 90.9 and 91.1 but not 91.0. Just check. Many HUs provide for US as well as EU tuning. If your HU does that dont worry.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 17:57   #4
BHPian
 
ghostrider4385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 389
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

You could ask your friend to buy your electronic items from this place called Edisons in New Jersey. It's what they usually call an Indian store. You but it there, and you can be assured that it will work in India.
ghostrider4385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 21:53   #5
BHPian
 
ghostrider4385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 389
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Lol rishism... if you notice, I've said in the 1st sentence "from this place called edisons". The 2nd part ("call an") was a typo. My bad.

Oh... I didn't know Jackson Heights was a mini-India too?
ghostrider4385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2007, 13:55   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
panky12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,652
Thanked: 126 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Some US based HUs do not tune in "even numbered" channels. So you will be able to tune 90.9 and 91.1 but not 91.0. Just check. Many HUs provide for US as well as EU tuning. If your HU does that dont worry.
does all US Pio would have that?
panky12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2007, 14:59   #7
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
does all US Pio would have that?
pio usually can tune in both the frequencies. this can be done in the initial setup where you can select the steps. but do check in the manual or with the store from where you are buying.

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2007, 02:19   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

some pioneer cannot do that.....will have to check about that.....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using an Android Smartphone as a Head-Unit datvichrox2 In-Car Entertainment 40 11th February 2017 23:19
Sony XPLOD remote lost!! shivkumar19 In-Car Entertainment 9 11th May 2010 00:13
Using PC SMPS Unit As a Power Source for Creative Speakers anuragn Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 9th December 2008 18:09
JBL Vs Xplod for my setup boo3dmax In-Car Entertainment 12 12th September 2007 11:17
Wanted: Sony XPLOD XM-SD61X 1400 W Monoblock amps 929RON Shifting gears 0 26th August 2006 17:53


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:54.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks