Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th October 2007, 15:04   #46
BHPian
 
kousik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 201
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

I have a spare Sony CDX-MP50 on which I tried some home made hack (it has a BUS IN, so hoped I can push an AUX-IN through it, but the HU didn't know anything coming in through that because the control wire is not connected, so it didn't let me select the `changer' as a source at all); then I took that to a local installer (professional sound: near thippasandra (bangalore)) and asked him if he can bring out an AUX-IN. He tried but at the end of the day called me to say it is not possible. I gave him the idea of cutting AM tuner, even I said I wouldn't mind if we have to do the same for the CD (coz I wouldn't play a CD if it works out), but he is probably not expert enough to execute it. I read in net I can use Sony's XA-300 which will convert a BUS-IN to an AUX-IN. But no idea of availability/price in India. If it is $100, which is 3931/- I may as well buy the cheapest HU with an AUX-IN.

Kousik
kousik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2007, 02:24   #47
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

hi guys,

i dont understand the need to buy ip bus aux in cable if your pio HU has au in. i dont know if any one has done this but i have been doing this since quite long when i bought my first pio HU.

You can use the REAR LINE OUTS as aux in if there is no amp connected to that channel. first switch on the aux in from the setup menu by pressing the function key for 3-4 seconds when the HU is off. then just connect an rca lead to the rear pre outs. job done. im using this in my 770mp and have done on my older 5650 mp3. im sure it works. if it does then you dont need to buy that stupid ip bus cable. send me a draft of 50% of the value of the ip bus cable. kidding lol.

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 11:23   #48
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 151 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
The manual of the HU would mention whether it has an AUX-IN or not, and if so - where! Most manuals also explain how to connect an iPod to that model (mine does - Blau Monte Carlo MP34 - standard fitment in a Safari EX).
@DerAlte - I have a Blau Bahamas MP34. I recently enquired and got to know that I can connect iPod through the AUX-IN at the back. The dealer (Auto Sonics - Mumbai) told me that the connector cable costs INR 600. Do you also have the same thing?

Also, does it charge the iPod while playing?

Last edited by nishantgandhi : 15th February 2008 at 11:29.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 12:03   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

No, the one that the dealer has told you is the AUX-IN (EP to RCA) cable. There is another cable - "iPod interface cable" Part No 7 607 540 500, MRP 5750 - that charges the iPod and also allows track selection at HU.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2008, 19:00   #50
BHPian
 
dhaval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 404
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
The FM modulator is definitely an option, but that would sound terrible. There *must* be a better way of doing it.
Even the car accessory walla near to my house suggested me to go for the fm modulator. And i think that is the only better(if not good) option to play MP3 tracks in the car(same indash 6-cd changer in Fiesta, which only plays audio cds). But as you say it sounds terrible, and i am again in a dilemma should i go ahead and buy it!!?? The shop keeper has quoted me price of 2k for the "intex" fm modulator. Advice/ suggestions please.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
2. ...someone somewhere who can cut the AM tuner track going to the mixer, and bring that input out to stereo jack or RCA sockets. The iPod / MP3 player can be connected to that. You would only need to switch the tuner to AM, and balle balle!
Doubt if there is a good techie to carry out this job in Pune.
Guys what to do? help please
Thanks.
dhaval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2008, 19:04   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
Bass&Trouble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,744
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
2. If the above is impracticable, there is always someone somewhere who can cut the AM tuner track going to the mixer, and bring that input out to stereo jack or RCA sockets. The iPod / MP3 player can be connected to that. You would only need to switch the tuner to AM, and balle balle!
That would be an excellent hack for the older players.

But are you sure the AM signal would have a seperate track to the "mixer"? Could it be possible that all the bands of tuner use the same channel and only the source is switched?
Bass&Trouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2008, 19:18   #52
BHPian
 
theodore_ftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 122
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nishantgandhi View Post
@DerAlte - connector cable costs INR 600.
This should be a regular 3.5mm Male to 3.5mm Male which shouldnt cost anymore than Rs100 and is available at any local audio video / electronics store. But do check if your AUX IN takes a 3.5mm else you would need a convertor from a 2.5mm to a 3.5mm which is another Rs100.
theodore_ftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 00:59   #53
BHPian
 
BAKIYA_2K12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 190
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

If you are using pioneer head unit then you can connect using cd-1200 pioneer cable for ipod if the option is provided in the backof hd

Name:  img.jpg
Views: 2348
Size:  7.3 KB
BAKIYA_2K12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 12:53   #54
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
That would be an excellent hack for the older players.
But are you sure the AM signal would have a seperate track to the "mixer"? Could it be possible that all the bands of tuner use the same channel and only the source is switched?
The AM and FM sections are separate chips usually, which give a 400mV p-p signal, which is switched at the mixer. At least that was the scheme that was used earlier; there could be a single chip solution now. If one searches in the ICE section, there are a couple of instances where this has been done by TBHP members.
Quote:
Originally Posted by theodore_ftw View Post
This should be a regular 3.5mm Male to 3.5mm Male which shouldnt cost anymore than Rs100 and is available at any local audio video / electronics store. But do check if your AUX IN takes a 3.5mm else you would need a convertor from a 2.5mm to a 3.5mm which is another Rs100.
In the Blau HU in question, there is no EP jack in the HU. The AUX-In terminates in pins in the rear connector (not RCA). The Blau cable connects to the HU rear connector AUX-IN pins on one side and a 3.5mm EP jack on the other side.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 13:02   #55
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,265
Thanked: 1,233 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhaval View Post
Even the car accessory walla near to my house suggested me to go for the fm modulator. And i think that is the only better(if not good) option to play MP3 tracks in the car(same indash 6-cd changer in Fiesta, which only plays audio cds). But as you say it sounds terrible, and i am again in a dilemma should i go ahead and buy it!!?? The shop keeper has quoted me price of 2k for the "intex" fm modulator. Advice/ suggestions please.

Doubt if there is a good techie to carry out this job in Pune.
Guys what to do? help please
Thanks.
Dhaval, I am in the same boat too. I have all along resisted the urge to buy an fm modulator, because someone in this forum said it sounds lousy. Someone else said it sounds as bad as fm. But I must say fm sounds pretty ok to me on my stock 6-cd Ford changer, though not on par with CD quality sound.
What are you planning? Do keep me posted.
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 18:25   #56
BHPian
 
dhaval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 404
Thanked: Once
Default

@ vnabhi
After reading some of the posts I am really confused all over again. Yes you are right the fm quality on the stock system is not at all that bad, and instead of doing some jugaad with the stock HU I see this as a harmless option to go for, both for me and for the car's HU. As and when the time permits I am going to the car accessory shop, for the shopkeeper has readily agreed to give me a demo before I go ahead with the purchase. Will keep you posted as to what happens.
For a fact till date I do not have an I-pod, but around two-three flash drives, so instead of buying an I-pod and then this, only buying this is a cheaper option, IMO.
dhaval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2008, 19:15   #57
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,265
Thanked: 1,233 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhaval View Post
@ vnabhi
After reading some of the posts I am really confused all over again. Yes you are right the fm quality on the stock system is not at all that bad, and instead of doing some jugaad with the stock HU I see this as a harmless option to go for, both for me and for the car's HU. As and when the time permits I am going to the car accessory shop, for the shopkeeper has readily agreed to give me a demo before I go ahead with the purchase. Will keep you posted as to what happens.
For a fact till date I do not have an I-pod, but around two-three flash drives, so instead of buying an I-pod and then this, only buying this is a cheaper option, IMO.
Thanks buddy. Do keep me posted. I too don't own an Ipod, but have a Sandisk 2 GB mp3 player.
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2008, 13:00   #58
BHPian
 
dhaval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 404
Thanked: Once
Default

The system shows the option of AUX mode
iPod connection for a HU without AUX input-img_0626.jpg
And the owners manual says this:
Quote:
If you have connected an external device into the AUX line, you can select the AUX line by pressing AM button twice.
So now does it mean that the stock HU in the Fiesta has got a AUX input mode, somewhere at the back of the HU?? Please, can someone explain this?

Last edited by dhaval : 28th April 2008 at 13:07.
dhaval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2008, 13:09   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,265
Thanked: 1,233 Times
Default

dhaval, I too read the manual and the line you have quoted above. But when I asked Mody Ford guys to verify, they said there is no aux input at the rear !
It is quite baffling to me. I heard that an Endeavour does have a aux input at the rear of the HU. So do you think they have copied the lines from the Endy manual?
O ne more item that confused me is the clock setting on the HU, though the manaul mentions about it, I could never get to see it.
Anyways, there is another clock cum temp guage on the sxi, but how could wrong info be given on the manual?
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2008, 13:46   #60
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

It is possible that the HU HAS AUX-IN. Not as RCA sockets, as expected with Pio and other HUs, but as a part of the regular block connector.

1. Could you please check in the manual for any of the following?
- Connection diagram for the AUX-IN
- Connection diagram for the main wiring block connector (which includes wiring for battery, ground, antenna connector, etc.)
- Text which describes where the AUX-IN pins are

2. Could you ask the showroom guys if they will allow you to take a photo of the rear of the HU, with the connector taken out and connector in place?
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - Fiat Linea AUX input Mr.Boss In-Car Entertainment 23 12th March 2016 15:45
DIY: Adding an AUX input to the post-2010 Fiat Grande Punto (Delphi Headunit) mnvvishwa In-Car Entertainment 9 1st October 2015 10:09
Connecting iPod to CD-changer input desmoquattro Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 7th April 2006 23:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks