Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th June 2007, 00:39   #16
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,473 Times
Default

No sir, let me explain.

Lan cables are hard and brittle. In RCA applications there is a fair amount of twist, near the amplifier and near the HU too. You will find broken contacts more often than you care for. Even once is too many if you ask me.

The shielding provided on Lan cables is not enough to protect against AUDIBLE electromagnetic interference.
I agree somewhhat with navin, over short lengths it MAY not matter so much, given the equipment, but 5metres in a moving vehicle with self-generated Alternate current is NOT a short length at all!!.

Now if you take lan cable and wrap it up in Parontha ka silver foil, it might work, but for how long? IS it worth the experiment and the hassle of wiring and re-wiring your car. I assure you, that even if it works, it will break from the solder point in a few days.

Don't you think it's better to buy a Rs.250/- 5 metre MX audio cable?

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 13th June 2007 at 00:42.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 01:39   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,462
Thanked: 21 Times
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
No sir, let me explain.

Lan cables are hard and brittle. In RCA applications there is a fair amount of twist, near the amplifier and near the HU too. You will find broken contacts more often than you care for. Even once is too many if you ask me.
OK lemme guess whats next...

"But Sam, LAN cables connect the internet, corporate intranets, stock exchanges, govt defense systems and much more. Why would they be used if they were so unreliable."


gunbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 09:35   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 23,116
Thanked: 16,421 Times
Default

Does the 75.4 come with cable to connect HU to amp?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:12   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,791
Thanked: 21,060 Times
Default

Nope I don't think any amp comes with RCA cables to connect to the HU. You have to purchase them separately. There are quite a few budget brands available e.g. pyle, auzzo and a few more I guess. Have tried the above 2 and found no problems so far.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:21   #20
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,909
Thanked: 4,282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
The shielding provided on Lan cables is not enough to protect against AUDIBLE electromagnetic interference.
I agree somewhhat with navin, over short lengths it MAY not matter so much, given the equipment, but 5metres in a moving vehicle with self-generated Alternate current is NOT a short length at all!!.
"5metres in a moving vehicle"

no Cat 5 wont work! The sheilding is not sufficient. I was thinking home audio!
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 11:47   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
No sir, let me explain.

Lan cables are hard and brittle. In RCA applications there is a fair amount of twist, near the amplifier and near the HU too. You will find broken contacts more often than you care for. Even once is too many if you ask me.

The shielding provided on Lan cables is not enough to protect against AUDIBLE electromagnetic interference.
I agree somewhhat with navin, over short lengths it MAY not matter so much, given the equipment, but 5metres in a moving vehicle with self-generated Alternate current is NOT a short length at all!!.

Now if you take lan cable and wrap it up in Parontha ka silver foil, it might work, but for how long? IS it worth the experiment and the hassle of wiring and re-wiring your car. I assure you, that even if it works, it will break from the solder point in a few days.

Don't you think it's better to buy a Rs.250/- 5 metre MX audio cable?
Sam Bhai I knew it well along I was just for the newbies here....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 12:01   #22
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 23,116
Thanked: 16,421 Times
Default

So now I get it
1. Finolex L&T for power
2. Speaker wires and sub wires come with the speaker/sub
3. For HU-Amp I need 250rs MX audio cable
4. What about the connectors?
I am asking all this because many installers try to sell poor quality BOSS etc., wiring and connectors for 3000rs claiming they are JBL or other renowed brand.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 12:32   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,909
Thanked: 4,282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
4. What about the connectors?.
Most MX cables come with moulded connectors.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 12:40   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
2. Speaker wires and sub wires come with the speaker/sub
You'll get wires with the speakers, but I don't think you'll get wires with a sub. You'll need wires thicker than the usual speaker-cables for the sub. 14G to 12G should be fine. I'd prefer 12G though And if the sub-amp is in the boot, you won't need too much wire for the sub.

[But, from my experience, you should leave enough wire to be able to put the sub on the rear seats/rear-foot-well, in case you need the boot for luggage, and don't want to disconnect the sub ]
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 12:49   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

you can use the thinner gauge finolex or l&t for the sub also....it will hardly make any difference...

and which connectors you are looking for.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 13:21   #26
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 23,116
Thanked: 16,421 Times
Default

Don't know what connectors etc., all I am trying to find out is apart from HU/Amp/Sub/Box/Components, what accessories I need to buy beforehand and go to installer.
Sub/box/amp/HU/Components the installer will give me, but everything else I want to buy on my own so that I am not sold a fake JBL kit for 3500rs.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 17:02   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 978
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
(hint: they were probably meant for the US). Do not be disheartened if you hear it is Made in China. China is gaining much deserved respect in audio circles these days.
No, I won't be disheartened by "made in china" stamp, as long as the quality is proven (and approved by people like you). I strongly believe that many Chinese companies must have gained a lot of expertise while serving big brands as OEMs, in recent years. Not only in audio, but virtually everything that they make.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Don't you think it's better to buy a Rs.250/- 5 metre MX audio cable?
Sam, let me confirm- is it Rs. 250/- per 5-meters = Rs. 50/- per meter? It sounds reasonable (dirt cheap by audiophile standards). I presume that it is shielded, as any good RCA cable would be, right? Also, is "MX audio" Chinese too?
santosh.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 18:47   #28
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,473 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by santosh.s View Post
Sam, let me confirm- is it Rs. 250/- per 5-meters = Rs. 50/- per meter? It sounds reasonable (dirt cheap by audiophile standards). I presume that it is shielded, as any good RCA cable would be, right? Also, is "MX audio" Chinese too?
It is Rs.270/- for either of the boxes below

Either stereo EP to 2 RCA or 2RCA to 2RCA.
MX is India's leading connector and cable company, they do a lot of export. The size of their catalogue is overwhelming and they are well distributed in all cities.
A lot of their products (including the ones above) are outsourced from china. I have used both the cables in the picture and considering that it costs Rs.270/- I am extremely pleased with the result.
I'd recommend it to anyone on a budget, anytime. On a mid end system, very few people will be able to tell any audible difference between this and say for example, monster interlink junior. In any case, it is FAR superior to the fake crap RCAs in the dirty fake kits and Boss etc.
To count it per metre is difficult as it is a pre-terminated, moulded cable.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 15th June 2007 at 18:51.
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 19:16   #29
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 978
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Thanks for some useful info!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
To count it per metre is difficult as it is a pre-terminated, moulded cable.
This is even better because I don't have to deal with separate connectors, and more importantly additional soldering, heat-shrinks etc! Also, molded means little or no chance of bare copper exposure to atmosphere (oxidation) in long run. Only flip side I see is that you can not use shorter wires even if feasible. But that too shouldn't be a big deal if they are well shielded, right?

Since you are saying they perform well, I guess they must be having good shielding, but for the sake of confirmation can you please say YES or NO?
santosh.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 19:58   #30
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sam Kapasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mumbai (but wat
Posts: 6,989
Thanked: 1,473 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by santosh.s View Post
Since you are saying they perform well, I guess they must be having good shielding, but for the sake of confirmation can you please say YES or NO?
YES .
Sam Kapasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is It necessary to add new plug wire,ignition coil if adding new NGK Iridium Plug finetuning Modifications & Accessories 20 12th September 2011 10:45
Damn, a good install makes a difference!! My OHC Vtec ICED again GTO In-Car Entertainment 60 17th July 2008 12:39
what speaker wire to get? wannabelean In-Car Entertainment 5 2nd August 2006 10:51
M800, Neon Tube Wire getting melted, plz help nosfreak Modifications & Accessories 5 23rd June 2006 21:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:59.

Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks