Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th June 2007, 23:21   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,005
Thanked: 106 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
front: 6" components around Rs.6K e.g. JBL GTO607, hertz 165
rear: 6" coaxials around Rs.4K e.g. JBL GTO 637, hertz, blaupunkt

Connect the front components to 2 channels of the pioneer amp.

The remaining 2 channels of the amp you can connect to the subwoofer. The subwoofer should be in a ported enclosure.
This is a very good option for now later when you plan to upgrade your HU and budget permits get yourself a monobloc for your sub. Also try rockford fosgate for your rear coaxials.

OT: How woll would a JBL 30.2 or a similar amp run a 10" dvc sub ???
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 23:24   #32
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

you really dont need to change the HU now as the HU seems to be pretty ok.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 00:26   #33
BHPian
 
Autophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 930
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Optra takes 6.5" components in the front and 5-1/4" in the rear doors. No need to cut the parcel shelf for 6 X 9's. For bass you are adding the subwoofer.
Autophile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 08:34   #34
BHPian
 
Rodeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 349
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

I can plug out my Sony 222 - 2 ch amp from my Palio to power my Sub. Will that make sense?
Rodeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 09:38   #35
BHPian
 
Rodeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 349
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Another option i was thinking was to go for 4 component speakers and woofer. I will let front component speakers to be powered by HU and 2 rear component speakers and sub by amp.

I want to go for all component because later I can get a Mono amp seperate for sub and use exisiting 4ch amp to power all speakers.

Does this make sense. Please let me know if it sounds ok then I will go and install 6" component speakers today.
Rodeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:13   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodeo View Post
Another option i was thinking was to go for 4 component speakers and woofer. I will let front component speakers to be powered by HU and 2 rear component speakers and sub by amp.
This basic idea of powering a pair of comps from the amp and powering the other set from the HU is fine, esp. as you plan to add a mono later.

But, power the front comps from the amp and not the rear comps from the amp. The rear comps can be powered by the HU. (And of course, with the rear channels of the amp bridged to power the sub).

Last edited by hydrashok : 13th June 2007 at 10:19.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:15   #37
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

Nope you should connect the front components to the amp and not the rear. The sound should appear to be coming from the front that's what is called a front soundstage.

The rear's are just meant to complete the sound and dont really matter that much unless you will be chauffeur driven. They can be connected to the HU.

222 for the sub again wont be that powerful. If you are looking for tight bass you need a sealed enclosure and a powerful amp like a monoblock for that.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:18   #38
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

For a sub think 150W rms or more. For a 4 speakers 30W rms will suffice.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:22   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,005
Thanked: 106 Times
Default

Cant he use the 4 channel to power the speakers and use the sony 2 channel to power the sub for now till he gets a monobloc ???

Last edited by cooldude1988765 : 13th June 2007 at 10:25.
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:27   #40
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

The front components have to be connected to the amp. The rear speakers can be connected to the HU.

That leaves 2 channels on the amp. They can be used for the sub. but the problem is that he will have to put the sub in a ported enclosure i.e. with a port for air. This arrangement results in the sub needing lesser power which the pioneer 6200 can provide.

Now if he wants tight bass, the enclosure needs to be sealed one. But the sealed enclosure results in the sub needing more power. This can be provided by a monoblock amp.

So if he gets the monoblock later he also has to change the box. Unless he doesnt mind the slightly spread out and louder bass.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:34   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,005
Thanked: 106 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
The front components have to be connected to the amp. The rear speakers can be connected to the HU.

That leaves 2 channels on the amp. They can be used for the sub. but the problem is that he will have to put the sub in a ported enclosure i.e. with a port for air. This arrangement results in the sub needing lesser power which the pioneer 6200 can provide.

Now if he wants tight bass, the enclosure needs to be sealed one. But the sealed enclosure results in the sub needing more power. This can be provided by a monoblock amp.

So if he gets the monoblock later he also has to change the box. Unless he doesnt mind the slightly spread out and louder bass.
What i meant was he could use all 4channels of the pio amp to power both the front and rear speakers, get a sealed enclosure for the sub and power it with the sony 2 channel until he upgrades to a monobloc
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:36   #42
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cooldude1988765 View Post
Cant he use the 4 channel to power the speakers and use the sony 2 channel to power the sub for now till he gets a monobloc ???
problem - the sub is DVC (both coils in parallel would be 2 ohms) and hence if one was to drive it using a bridged amp the amp wouldbe stressed. If one wired teh coilsin series the bass levels would be significantly reduced.

Hence the monoblock.

Now, Rodeo if you intend to use the 222 and 6200 till you get a mooblock the options are to
use the 222 to drive the sub (each coil driven by one channel of the 222) and the 6200 to drive the front and rear.

Other option is to use the 222 to drive the rear and bridge the 6200 to drive both coils of teh sub in series.

Last option. Use the 222 for the front and use the Hu for the rear. Bridge the 6200 to a 2 ch amp and use it to drive sub (each bridged channel will drive one coil).
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 10:54   #43
BHPian
 
Rodeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 349
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
problem -

Now, Rodeo if you intend to use the 222 and 6200 till you get a mooblock the options are to
use the 222 to drive the sub (each coil driven by one channel of the 222) and the 6200 to drive the front and rear.
This sounds good to me. I guess i will go with this. Thanks so much for your help. Will 6" Component fit in the speaker bay provided?
Rodeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 12:23   #44
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,468
Thanked: 19,375 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodeo View Post
This sounds good to me. I guess i will go with this. Thanks so much for your help. Will 6" Component fit in the speaker bay provided?

front or back?

as audiophile said 6.5" or 6" in the front and 5.25" in the rear door.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2007, 12:31   #45
BHPian
 
Rodeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 349
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Want to go for biggest possible for both front and back.
Rodeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I upgrade tyres for Optra Magnum dockap Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 28 14th November 2013 15:47
Ford Figo ZXI: Speakers Upgrade carthique In-Car Entertainment 10 23rd October 2010 08:07
Sound Upgrade for Scorpio:Limited to Speakers. n.devdath In-Car Entertainment 4 15th October 2009 16:04
ICE upgrade for Magnum LT channelv In-Car Entertainment 18 30th June 2008 15:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:57.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks