Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th June 2007, 18:46   #1
BHPian
 
invincible7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 643
Thanked: 131 Times
Default Double HU

Is it possible to install a double HU in a car..for eg baleno. where we have 2 slots provisioned to place the units.... and would they work fine one at a time ofcourse with the speakers..
invincible7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:02   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

you cannot connect two HU with a single set of speakers but you can use AUX of one HU to link them together...
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:13   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Or connect one set of speakers to one & the second set to the other HU. Not a very viable option though. Why do you need to do that. Are you just filling up that space ?
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:17   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
manikjeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: chandigarh
Posts: 1,606
Thanked: 109 Times
Default

i have seen several new lancer with two HU
they have the oe unit which is cassette player and one CD player

so how do they manage this setup
manikjeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:24   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Yeah, it is. I've seen it being done. You need a switch to control power to either. Both are wired to the speakers.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:30   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
manikjeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: chandigarh
Posts: 1,606
Thanked: 109 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
Yeah, it is. I've seen it being done. You need a switch to control power to either. Both are wired to the speakers.
what happens if someone stupid turns both of them on
manikjeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:31   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 445 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
i have seen several new lancer with two HU
they have the oe unit which is cassette player and one CD player

so how do they manage this setup
I was planning to do a similar setup in my car & later abandoned the idea. Any of the 2 players should have an aux in & the other player could be connected to this aux. Power can be divided to both the units since you need both of them to work in this kind of setup. The volume control on the aux unit has to be kept at an optimum level to prevent the speakers getting fried.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:32   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

multi channel music....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:33   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Then you have a really bad mixing console.
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 19:41   #10
BHPian
 
invincible7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 643
Thanked: 131 Times
Default

well the only idea is i dont have the cd player.. the other option which was discussed here earlier is get the unit which gets connected to the Cassette player and acts as the cd player.... but then the new MP3 player (basic) doesnt cost more than 4 K.. so thought of if possible why dont go for a added player in the existing setup....
invincible7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2007, 21:46   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
what happens if someone stupid turns both of them on
One probability is he may become a DJ
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2007, 11:19   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,505
Thanked: 3,882 Times
Default

why not just get a double din HU?
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats double clutching & whats the reason to use it _Crazi4Speed_ Technical Stuff 109 25th February 2016 08:49
Comparing Hatches. Double standards sbhalkikar The Indian Car Scene 8 4th July 2005 16:55
Double Celebration For Fiat At Fleet World Honours hasopi The International Automotive Scene 0 25th May 2005 09:53
Double standards of Indian auto magazines need4speed The Indian Car Scene 8 7th May 2004 13:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:40.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks