Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st July 2007, 00:17   #1
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Arrow Can it get any better?

Hi,

i am Paras and i am wondering if someone could help me make my "ICE" sound a little better.

I've seen all the threads and i really appreciate your knowledge.
you guys rock!

well, my ICE is pretty much self made, i've installed everything on my own; so it's not very neat.

i have a pioneer 306DVC, JBL speakers at the back and pioneers at front.
the woofer and JBL are driven by a Sony 554 (yeah, i know i should have mercy on the poor thing)

maybe the woofer box is not good enough, but i feel if i get a bigger amp the woofer and speakers would go kaput (i know i am wrong on this, so please tell me i am wrong!)

my first problem is the vibration!

i've solved the number plate problem by using double sided tape and elfy(it doesn't need screws anymore) but i hear some vibration from the rear bumper.

Do i have to remove it and check? or may its the power antenna?

for dampening, can i use the grey or white colored sheet which is mostly used by the AC guys?

i am posting some pictures, i'll post more of the woofer box tomorrow.
i can make my own box, i just need advice if it should be ported (and how) or a sealed box, and the dimensions.

Thanks guys.. would like to see you at the next delhi G2G...

pics -

Speakers -


Amp -


Woofer -
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2007, 04:01   #2
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

By reading your post, I think it is just the vibration which is causing problems. Are you not happy with the way your system sounds?

Vibration problems can be sorted out with a bit of damping job. Yes, you can either opt for local foam materials which are inexpensive (less effective too) or go for high quality damping mats like Fonomat/Dynamat etc..
Play the system loud enough. Touch and feel every part you suspect of vibration. And once you spot out the culprit, do whatever you can to stop it from vibrating. Sometimes, a few pieces of foam will do, or it maybe some loose screws. Once You're done with that certain part, move onto other areas.
Yes! It is a painful job. But worth it.

What Pioneer speakers do you have in your front?
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2007, 13:33   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

thanks for your reply speedzak.

i got started early today andspent about three hours stripping by boot apart - newspapers, empty bottles.. and what not, i guess they were a major cause.

but there was still something i could hear on both sides of the back bumper. so, i took apart the plstic on the inside of the boot. first i thought it was the loose wires from the power antenna.

bit there was more to it. there is a vent on both sides with a rubber flap to it.. i turned on the system and there it was (brrr... brrr.. brrr..)
i've taken it off from both sides, though i really don't know what it is meant for.

i am happy the vibration is gone!

there areill some vibrations in the speaker tray, i'll work on that soon.

i am attaching some pictures of this "vent" that has irritated me for about 11 months!

also, are pictures of my oofer box. LBM bro...hydro... help me out.. i don't think this box is good. from the port you can actually hear the noice that the porting is not good enough.

vents -

this is with the flap removed (on the side), also you can see the loose wires -


other side, with the flap -


and without the flap -


there was one thing more which i didn't expect would make such vibrations! the bumper beading, replaced it with new double tape and elfy - desi jugaad!



now for the woofer box, some random pics. if you would like me to remove the woofer and then get some pics, i am fine with it. -




thanks again and i am sorry if the pictures take time to load
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2007, 15:52   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

oh no...this is the worst enclosure I have seen in my life....

You got to replace it ASAP.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2007, 15:57   #5
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

hahahaha, LBM...i knew you'll say that!
so, can i get one in the market? specifocally for a 306DVC, or should i make one? (i remember makin 3 boxes for my zen, none of them wroked)
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2007, 16:02   #6
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Last night, I had used my phone for browsing and couldn't get to see the pictures well. Man! You will have to change the sub box. That handle (or so) on the box itself will cause extra unwanted noises.

Nice to see you do everything DIY.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2007, 16:09   #7
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

in noida, we either get these boxes or those polygon type bass tubes. i've seen more but ther are no good either and the wood is very brittle too.
i like the box in LBM's swift... would it go well with my woofer?
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2007, 10:13   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

@saintsinner, I'd agree with the folks who have said the same thing. Change the enclosure!

The required enclosure volume for the box would be given in the sub's manual itself (maybe even with suggested dimensions for the box). You can use these details to build a box. Considering the amp, I think a ported box would give you best bang for the buck, but building a ported box will be a little harder (more things to go wrong).

You should use 3/4th inch MDF to build the box. You can build it yourself or get a carpenter to build you one. Make sure you seal the seams of the box from inside with a mix of fevicol and wood-dust.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2007, 10:35   #9
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I think There're some nice ICE installers in Delhi. Get in touch with Low_Bass_Makker, Gunbir, iRaghava etc.. They will be happy to help you out.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2007, 11:17   #10
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

hey hydra and speed, i'll be going over to faridabad either this wednesday or on the weekend for the box... i lost the sub's manual.. but i'll try to get one.. thanks!

AND I THOUGHT MY BOX WAS AWESOME
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2007, 15:21   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
hey hydra and speed, i'll be going over to faridabad either this wednesday or on the weekend for the box... i lost the sub's manual.. but i'll try to get one.. thanks!

AND I THOUGHT MY BOX WAS AWESOME
No need for the manual as we have one here....and drop to faridabad any day of the week I will hook you up with my installer for the same..
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2007, 06:07   #12
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

oh yea man.. gimme your no. i'll drop by on wednesday. PM me the address if you could
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2007, 12:34   #13
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 612
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Can it get any better? - UPDATED

ok guys.. got the box... but more then that.. LBM's swift ROCKS...awesome man...

well here is the orignal box - (dont make fun of the pipe)



and here is a little modification i did - i painted the pipe black




LBM, one thing more.. jagga had bridged both the coils in parallel, as a result of this there was a 2 ohm load which my amp could not handle. it worked fine over there, but later it started tripping.

so what i have done for the time being is the amp is still bridged but it is connected in series now.. so we have an 8 ohm.. is it fine?

this is just for the time being until i get another mono amp..

do you think the sony XMSD51X is good... or any other advice.. budget 10K
saintsinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2007, 10:37   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

8 ohms is fine to the amp but the output will be quite less.

or the 10k budget pioneer D510 is the best amp for the buck it is for 9k and will kick the **** out of the sub and will play good.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2007, 23:56   #15
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 175
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

try the blaupunkt tha1400 amplifier. it is 650@2ohms. I got one for 11500. I am using it with a 306 DVC, and no problems so far
akg7091 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is k&n replacement better or a cold intake better? redsfx Modifications & Accessories 1 31st May 2007 16:58
Can poll promises get any wierder ? supremeBaleno Shifting gears 14 11th October 2006 18:39
Better roads.. better late (than never) Laxminarayan Street Experiences 1 12th April 2006 03:14


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks