Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th July 2007, 13:52   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
it is done through the GPS built in the processor.

Pioneer Electronics - Sound. Vision. Soul
Went throught the Owners' and Installation manuals. Interesting gadget, this! Inaccurate, to say the least - it is reverse-calculating the engine RPM from the road speed (can also be deriving it from the ripple on the battery line), so if you are coasting down-hill in idle, it wouldn't know that.

It needs a "speed" signal, which is normally the pulse train that comes from the axle-mounted sensors used by the ABS/VDS and such, so non-ABS vehicles are ruled out. Also, if your vehicle is not in the list of vehicles supported, it is quite an exercise for creating the data table (tyre dia, weight, engine RPM to wheel speed ratio, drivetrain ratios, etc.) which it uses in the calculations.

But - to anyone who can afford to buy it - it provides a nifty set of useful data.

Last edited by DerAlte : 5th July 2007 at 13:53.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2007, 19:16   #17
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Pioneer

Dear Ramie
The said h/u is very good.Regarding AVG-VDP1 I have ordered it from Thailand through Emperor car Accessories,Kochi as it is not available with the authorised Pioneer dealers here.I may be getting it next week.I will be posting pictures of that later.
Cheers
DilipKumar



Quote:
Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
thanx very much guys for your posts,i'd think pioneer will be ok with me as for the price+using,i have never used any other HU than pioneer,only had a sony once in cousins car.
dilipkumar7278 :Could you please post any pic of the HU you are using and any information about the VDP Vehicle Dynamics Processer(I am totally confused about this one)

Thanks a ton Guys:

Ramie
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2007, 19:51   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

@Gunbir Sir:The models you described are highly deep in pockets.Will i have to buy anything extra with the 4950dvd HU for the VDP thing?

@zakaaaaasss:yes bro you can install a VDC mod chip,its been 4years(2003) i have done that in my Pioneer 1280 12cd changer,and till my knowledge mp3 mod chip is not available,the VCD chip costed me somewhere 1200/- in total,works fine,the chip displays Pioneer on screen.
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2007, 12:07   #19
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Pio Avh-p 5750 Dvd

Ramie
Here are the pictures.
[img=http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/5105/05072007197re8.th.jpg]

[img=http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/5277/05072007198ud0.th.jpg]

[img=http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/2461/05072007199tf8.th.jpg]

dilipkumar7278 :Could you please post any pic of the HU you are using and any information about the VDP Vehicle Dynamics Processer(I am totally confused about this one)

Thanks a ton Guys:

Ramie[/quote]
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 07:29   #20
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Red face Avg-vdp1

Hi all
Finally installed the Processor yesterday by Zuheimi at Emperor Accessories.Its a cool stuff.I could make it work only after 6 hours of fiddling with it.The only problem now is that the electronic antenna in my Lancer is up everytime I start the car.Must find a way for that as it touches the top of my garage. I will be posting pictures soon.
Cheers
Dilip Kumar
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 08:30   #21
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Hmmm..... Interesting!
Would like to see the pictures.

And What did Zuhemi had to say about the product? And how was the install? Where you present there the whole time he worked on the car?
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 14:23   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dilipkumar7278 View Post
Hi all
Finally installed the Processor yesterday by Zuheimi at Emperor Accessories.Its a cool stuff.I could make it work only after 6 hours of fiddling with it.The only problem now is that the electronic antenna in my Lancer is up everytime I start the car.Must find a way for that as it touches the top of my garage. I will be posting pictures soon.
Cheers
Dilip Kumar
Interesting problem.

- Does this happen even if the HU is off?
- Was it not happening with the old HU?

It is normal behaviour since antenna must go up if HU was in FM the previous time you switched off. BUT if you were in CD or AUX, the HU is supposed to keep the antenna down.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 14:57   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
It is normal behaviour since antenna must go up if HU was in FM the previous time you switched off. BUT if you were in CD or AUX, the HU is supposed to keep the antenna down.
the pioneer HU does not have a power antenna control wire . but the sony does have

Now alpine has it or not I dont know.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 15:35   #24
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Yes Speedzak
I was there the whole day .It was his first installation of AVG-VDP1 that it took around 5hours.The problem was that the system displayed SENSOR LEARNING message the whole time.Also some menu can only be accessed if handbrake is engaged(mainly settings).So cant override handbrake switch.After sometime he asked me to read the manual and try.Only at night did it work ..Today went to him and he disconnected the antenna wire so that the damn thing wont come up.The system as a whole can be termed good,little niggles notwithstanding//
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 21:13   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
IronWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Benga-loo-ru
Posts: 1,569
Thanked: 36 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dilipkumar7278 View Post
Ramie
Here are the pictures.
[img=http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/5105/05072007197re8.th.jpg]

[img=http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/5277/05072007198ud0.th.jpg]

[img=http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/2461/05072007199tf8.th.jpg]

dilipkumar7278 :Could you please post any pic of the HU you are using and any information about the VDP Vehicle Dynamics Processer(I am totally confused about this one)

Thanks a ton Guys:

Ramie
[/quote]

So how much was the Pio Avh-p 5750 Dvd?

And the LCD slides out and back in right? Plays a DVD with both screen out and in?
IronWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 21:31   #26
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Pio Avh-p 5750 Dvd

Hi
I bought it from dubai with B&W for 2700 Dirhams.I enquired here and found that the price here is around 60,000 /- for B&W.In grey market it was around 36500.
It plays DVD both ways..
Cheers
Dilip Kumar
dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 22:03   #27
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Pio Avh-p 5750 Dvd/avg-vdp1

Here are the pictures







dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 22:06   #28
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Pio Avh-p 5750 Dvd/avg-vdp1

Some more



dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2007, 22:10   #29
BHPian
 
dilipkumar7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: COCHIN
Posts: 382
Thanked: 23 Times
Thumbs up Pio Avh-p 5750 Dvd/avg-vdp1





dilipkumar7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2007, 16:54   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
ramie2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,900
Thanked: 58 Times
Default



Hi all so i Finalised for Pioneer AVH-P4950 and got it.Its the same as AVH-5750 all i can say its awesome stuff,Sooner i get time and install in my car.Cheers

ramie
ramie2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clarion Vs Alpine Vs Pioneer Vs Kenwood EDIT - Its a Clarion DXZ 785 USB Invinsible In-Car Entertainment 797 2nd June 2012 20:49
Clarion CX609 Vs Pioneer FH-P8000BT klassics45 In-Car Entertainment 3 12th March 2010 02:17
Its Clarion's small brother with +bonus! ( Clarion 576 usb ) Dhams In-Car Entertainment 51 28th February 2010 23:25
Clarion DUZ386MP / Pioneer FH-P6050UB - Who is the winner? Sai Narayan In-Car Entertainment 2 21st November 2009 10:50
JVC, Blau or Alipne maverickzCar In-Car Entertainment 13 29th December 2007 01:54


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks