Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th July 2007, 15:02   #1
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default DIY Interconnect cables. need help.

Hi,

i have quite a big length of cat5 networking cable lying with me. wanted to know, can this cable be used as an interconnect(RCA)? im using some crappy Chinese cables and im not at all happy with them. im asking this because i saw an interconnect made of cat5 cable on some website related to DIY(i dont remember which website)

i have some RCA plugs(terminals?) lying with me(made by MX and these are the best available in my city) so i thought of using the cat5 cable. the cable i have is made by lucent technologies so i think its decent quality.

keep the suggestions coming in guys.

One more thing. im going to chandigarh tonight. can anyone let me know a good electronics store from where i can buy capacitors, Heat shrink tubing? ill be really thankful.

thanks in advance
cheers
clip


P.S. - If this has been discussed before, please let me know as i couldnt find anything on this.

Last edited by clipto333 : 26th July 2007 at 15:12.
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 15:50   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...-speakers.html

it was discusses before.. and I would not recommend a CAT 5 cable for the same.for more info read the above thread.

I would recommend neutrik and supra cable and the whole RCA will be in the price range of 1.5k with 6 meter length
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 17:10   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

Clip,
Cat 5 network cables are used as speaker cable. I have tried it too. But again it needs to be of good quality.

LBM, how much would shorter supra interconnects cost?
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 17:16   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivekphadnis View Post
Clip,
Cat 5 network cables are used as speaker cable. I have tried it too. But again it needs to be of good quality.

LBM, how much would shorter supra interconnects cost?
One mistake in my proevious post it was not Supra. It is Sommer.

The plugs costs 150 each. and one meter wire which is stereo cable costs about 150-175 per meter.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007, 09:55   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Supra and Sommer are cables made in Sweden and Germany respectively.

CAT 5 can be used for very short runs. 1-2 meters. It's resistance and skin effect is too high for use beyond that.

On a budget (cheaper than Sommer) you can use 100/40 or 100/38 intrumention wire. The cable has 100 strand of 40 or 38 gauge and ofnte has a good insulation (not Teflon but good grade PTFE).

Last edited by navin : 27th July 2007 at 09:56.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007, 15:15   #6
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navin View Post
Supra and Sommer are cables made in Sweden and Germany respectively.

CAT 5 can be used for very short runs. 1-2 meters. It's resistance and skin effect is too high for use beyond that.

On a budget (cheaper than Sommer) you can use 100/40 or 100/38 intrumention wire. The cable has 100 strand of 40 or 38 gauge and ofnte has a good insulation (not Teflon but good grade PTFE).
hi,

it was just that i had like 50 meters of cat5 lying unused so i thought if i could use it then why not. one problem with a cat5 is that the conductor breaks easily. even a slight twist sometimes break the wire.

im ready to spend on good quality wires and im not on a really tight budget

im gonna go to delhi next month so i will buy some wires from there if lbm can help. :-) there is no place in jalandhar to buy good wires and stuff.
im looking for separate good quality wires and connector plugs.

is there any place in delhi from where i can buy belden cables?
navinji can you give a rough idea of the price you paid for belden?

and my amplifier conked off last evening and im really sad :-( . right now i dont have enough $$$ to buy a new amp. i think the power transistor blew. even the heat sink above the transistor melted. there was a problem of alt whine and amp tripping earlier so i removed the sub rca cables. i connected it back and there was tonnes of smoke from the amp. i hope its repairable. the rest of the amp board was fine. how can one check what the problem is?

if my amp is irrepairable, what be the best lternative? i was thinking of the 75.4 as it has oodles of power and would be perfect for the comps. whats the bridged power output of this amp? also is it 2 ohm stable(bridged) the 944 is.

Gunbir bhai, ek achha sa amp gift kar do please( please gift me a good amp)
any amp lying spare with you you wanna sell? otherwise please finance me an amp :-)

no cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007, 16:02   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

You are welcome Sir...

And the the JBL 75.4 is the best amp for your application.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007, 17:42   #8
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: Once
Default

What kind of instrumentation are you talking about Navin?
Vivekphadnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 02:53   #9
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

kahaan gaye sab ke sab?

here my amp conked off and no one is worried!! no one asked what happened and if its fine. kidding :-) thanks to my repair guy, he repaired it like it was. the power supply transistor conked and you cant imagine, the heat sink above the transistor melted. above as in the upper part where you screw it. now its back and as good as it was. yey

ive had a bad experience with my earlier pio 414 amp. a similar thing happened and it could never produce the power it used to. i had to sell it(the 414 was powering a pair of 2150 and 2 pio 304 subs lol and it was quite decent)

im sorry but im really happy to have my amp back. cant help the excitement.

bolo tararara
chak de phatte
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 11:06   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,876 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
kahaan gaye sab ke sab?
Yeah, for once there was no post in the ICE section the whole day yesterday!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
the power supply transistor conked and you cant imagine, the heat sink above the transistor melted. above as in the upper part where you screw it. now its back and as good as it was. yey
THAT is a really serious incident, boss. That means that either the transistor was not electrically insulated from the heat sink, or something touched both the heat sink and the transistor. And it must have arced - otherwise the heat sink cannot melt due to overcurrent. You sure it was the heat sink and not a plastic mounting base? You should post some before and after pics, so that everyone can see "aisa bhi hota hai".

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
im sorry but im really happy to have my amp back. cant help the excitement
Good for you, and everyone shares your excitement! Hope you were not sitting in the car till 0230 in the morning, your post is at 0253!!!
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 12:01   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

the 944 does not have any thing between the transistor and the heat sink. just the thermal paste.





(pic taken from amp guts)


now this is a pioneer D510 amp...




It has the insulated one and the direct type both. the No 1 is the direct type and the No 2 needs the insulation.

In the case of Clip I think the amp is over driven which caused the faliure. Clip in the above picture which Mosfet blew. Can you mark it and post it.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 14:58   #12
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default


Shot at 2007-07-29

this was the one. the first near that toroid. the plate thing above the transistor melted.

lbm, you are a genius. ive never been able to find the inside pics of the 944.

cheers
clip
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 15:16   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 294 Times
Default

here is the link to all the major Amps in the car audio

AmpGuts - Car Amplifier Guts

There are currently 1756 amps from 238 different manufacturers and a total of 8237 pictures
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 18:05   #14
BHPian
 
clipto333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: jalandhar
Posts: 912
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
here is the link to all the major Amps in the car audio

AmpGuts - Car Amplifier Guts

There are currently 1756 amps from 238 different manufacturers and a total of 8237 pictures
hey,

thanks for the link.:-)

so what do you have to say about my amp? was it a major fault? i will check out the repair done when i have time and post a pic. i dont have a before pic sorry. what could have gone wrong?

cheers
clip

p.s. - i could have been wrong. maybe they are the diodes.

Last edited by clipto333 : 29th July 2007 at 18:07.
clipto333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 09:35   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,502
Thanked: 3,880 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
here my amp conked off and no one is worried!! thanks to my repair guy, he repaired it like it was....cant help the excitement.
thsi si why we did not worry. amp repairs for the failure you had is not diffcult. probably cost you under 1K.
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RCA cables and Alternator whine :( nitrous In-Car Entertainment 44 24th February 2015 15:02
Malfunctioning cables, help honda_dude Modifications & Accessories 1 12th March 2007 17:09
Start battery dead cars without jumper cables using static electricity revvedup Technical Stuff 23 25th February 2007 00:13
15" alloys & tyres, K&N conical filter, Iridium plugs and Splitfire cables for sale. karthik247 Shifting gears 9 24th January 2007 20:33
How to determine what size Power Cables for ICE? Answers inside... gunbir In-Car Entertainment 96 8th May 2006 11:34


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:26.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks